Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for Practice
This is definitely not a textbook. Some knowledge of the basics of the subject is necessary before starting; otherwise one must rely on the list of definitions and theorums given at the start of each chapter.
The many solved problems illustrate the subject well and the solutions are comprehensive, rigorous and clear.
There are enormous numbers of problems to be...
Published on 10 Nov. 2011 by George Charles

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There are better ones out there.
The book would be quite good if someone was just after a lot of exircises, but I wouldn't want to have to learn the subject from the book. All the results in the field of Complex Analysis are presented as exercies, making it harder to see the fundamental ones. It doesn't, I believe, give a great overview of the subject. Also, finer points in the proofs are glossed over,...
Published on 4 Nov. 2003 by D. Siska


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for Practice, 10 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Schaum's Outline of Complex Variables, 2ed (Schaum's Outline Series) (Paperback)
This is definitely not a textbook. Some knowledge of the basics of the subject is necessary before starting; otherwise one must rely on the list of definitions and theorums given at the start of each chapter.
The many solved problems illustrate the subject well and the solutions are comprehensive, rigorous and clear.
There are enormous numbers of problems to be solved, over 150 in the first chapter, which makes the book invaluable for practice. As I work by myself I would have liked more detailed solutions to some of them.
An attractive book which is good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is the best, 28 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. C. E. Tsui (BA History student University of London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Schaum's Outline of Complex Variables, 2ed (Schaum's Outline Series) (Paperback)
I studied complex analysis before and I found it this book better than Ian stewart's complex analysis book: THE HITCHIKER'S GUIDE TO THE PLANE. Maths is the subject to learn by doing. Ian stewart's book doesn't give you any hints and solutions for the exercise in his book. So, How do you know you are in the right trend? Honestly, I would never reach the complex plane without Spiegel's Complex variables.

Please prove me if and only if I am wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There are better ones out there., 4 Nov. 2003
By 
D. Siska "dsiska" (London,) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book would be quite good if someone was just after a lot of exircises, but I wouldn't want to have to learn the subject from the book. All the results in the field of Complex Analysis are presented as exercies, making it harder to see the fundamental ones. It doesn't, I believe, give a great overview of the subject. Also, finer points in the proofs are glossed over, making the exposition less then rigorous. As I said, there are better books out there, like "Complex Analysis" by Ian Stewart and David Tall. That said, if all one wanted would be exercies and solutions, then this is cheap way of getting your hands on a lot of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great book!, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schaum's Outline of Complex Variables, 2ed (Schaum's Outline Series) (Paperback)
...lots of solved examples to make you feel confidant to handle the complex numbers, functions and its calculus.
the matter is explained with suitable examples and relevant exercises to imbibe what you have learned. This is a quick way to learn and to be used along the standard more intractable texts and a support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great as a reference, but as well to learn the topic, 5 May 1999
By A Customer
It contains little theory, and a lot of solved problems. Therefore it is an excellent reference to the field of complex variables. Further, since the book is rather complete, from the 'real number system' to 'conformal mapping', it may also serve as a study book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schaum's Outline of Complex Variables, 2ed (Schaum's Outline Series) (Paperback)
An ecellent reference book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Varying the complexity of complex variables, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schaum's Outline of Complex Variables, 2ed (Schaum's Outline Series) (Paperback)
Good book. Don't understand it though. But I do feel cleverer for having read little bits of it. Did you know the sum of the natural numbers is negative 1/12. mind = blown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compleax Variables, 2 Mar. 2012
By 
N. E. Smith "Nick" (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schaum's Outline of Complex Variables, 2ed (Schaum's Outline Series) (Paperback)
I haven't finished reading the book by any means. Hope it will further my understanding of the subject gained while a student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Schaum's Outline of Complex Variables, 2ed (Schaum's Outline Series)
£10.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews