Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars7
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 January 2010
This is the best book i have read about hacking and the internet. It gives you plenty of information, examples, images and advice. It teaches you the different tools, softwares and techniques that hackers use and it displays numbers from 1 to 10 about how dangerous they are, how easy for the hacker to do is and more! Certainly a great read and its perfect for a quick look up, its abit like a dictionary for hacking but better!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2009
OK, it is (at least) weird that this book has not been reviewed yet...

This book tries to cover every aspect of IS and exploits and it manages to do quite a good job. Of course it is not oriented to a particular technology as it touches many different topics such as Windows, Unix, Web Application hacking as well as hacking tools.

What most people like in this book is the way every possible attack is approached and the structure it is presented through (Threat Evaluation, Attack Explanation, Mitigation/Countermeasures). This is an excellent entry point for somebody needing to gain an overall picture of possible threats, well known attack vectors and corresponding countermeasures.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
Hacking Exposed provides comprehensive coverage of the topic of network security. It is less of a 'hands-on' guide, preferring to discuss a wide range of tools and techniques rather than providing a tutorial in the use of particular tools. However, it does provide a starting point and reference to enable you to investigate these yourself.

One issue with the book, that I kept being reminded of, is that it is an updated version of something first written over 10 years ago. This problem seemed to appear most obviously in the guidance on countermeasures, e.g. warning that disabling TCP/T may be undesirable, despite the fact that this unusual TCP extension has never seen any significant adoption, and advising contacting InterNIC about information shown in whois, reflecting the domain name industry as it was a decade ago rather than how it operates today.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2011
I'm disappointed that this book, which has such high regard, didn't meet my expectations. I feel they have tried to cover so many topics that they don't give the important ones the time they deserve.

The 6th edition seems to have been "updated" attempting to keep the original information and update the examples. The problem with this approach is that this information is also now out of date. The overview provided by the book is acceptable if you have limited knowledge of IT Security but will not provide any tips or techniques you couldn't get from a tools man page. It is not updated for windows 7 (but does cover vista in places). It is a lot more theoretical than expected and doesn't contain any real usable examples.

I skipped the whole section on war dialling and modems. This seemed like a total waste of paper to me. Insult was added to injury when i found that malware has a small sub section towards the end of the book within hacking the internet user. In my opinion from a modern security point of view this is one of the most important factors. While it may not be perceived by some as "Hacking" i really don't think it was given the coverage it deserves.

I started to get pretty annoyed with every single countermeasure starting with the line if you don't use it turn it off and being followed up with apply a patch. There are also lots of sales pitches and reference to other hacking exposed books.

The book can be summed up in my opinion by this quote from it:" we simultaneously wanted to breathe a sigh of relief and to embark on years of further research into Internet user hacking. Indeed, we left some highly publicised attacks on the cutting room floor, due primarily to an inability to keep up with the onslaught of new attacks against Internet end users."
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2009
Full of detailed information for all kinds of security vulnerabilities. Not great for those with little technical knowledge.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
Absolutely brilliant book for students of network security looking for a view from behind the malicious hackers mind so we can prevent systems from being hacked

-5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
I actually came across this book while in University. It was very interesting alot of excellent examples to go through and try out. Bought to keep in my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)