Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Coverage
If you know the Object terminology, and have programming experience (ideally have had a little play with Java itself), then this book is great. The first chapter covers the basics - for me it was a backup, a really good reinforcement of a Java course for beginners course I'd been on. The second part covers off briefly, details of all major classes that come as part of...
Published on 8 Oct. 2012 by Arty

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much spiel, a painfully slow read
Unfortunately, the good content is lost amongst the inordinate amount of sales spiel. The first three chapters contain nothing remotely useful and the content in the first third of the book could have easily been covered in a fraction of the pages used.

There are better and easier to read books for beginners, and there is not much for the...
Published on 18 July 2012 by superaking


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Coverage, 8 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java The Complete Reference, 8th Edition (Paperback)
If you know the Object terminology, and have programming experience (ideally have had a little play with Java itself), then this book is great. The first chapter covers the basics - for me it was a backup, a really good reinforcement of a Java course for beginners course I'd been on. The second part covers off briefly, details of all major classes that come as part of java. Very few example, which is a shame, but is understandable given the amount of stuff to get through. I imagine a scan through the internet would give you a working example for any object or element that the book is describing - so I wouldn't mark it down for that. There are a couple more sections to the book which I'm looking forward to getting stuck into. It's big, so time your time reading it.
All in all, glad I bought it - I expect I'll be refering back to it for a long time (expect part 2) where I'll stop looking once I get used to Javadocs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have not looked written any code since i left Uni in 2009 but this book got me up to speed in a fortnight i could write basic code and actually understand some of the things i never did at university.

If you are a complete beginner this is not the right book for you but if you have some Java experience or a programmer that needs to start up on Java then this book will defintely help.

Enjoy the read. I wont be selling my copy till Java 8 comes out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a HND student planning to study for a degree I was recommended this by one of my lecurers. It's very handy and has some good peices of helpful information and code.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very useful, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java The Complete Reference, 8th Edition (Paperback)
this is the second complete refrence book I have purchased by Herbert Schildt(my other being the c++ complete refrence 4th ed) and I have to say that as a complete refrence it is suprisingly easy to read and understand. especially compared to the oracle docs which I find are either impenetrable or ancient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java The Complete Reference, 8th Edition (Paperback)
This book is excellent! It has everything in it that you could possibly imagine. But I would advise you dont spend your money here if you have a fair amount of java knowledge as your money could be better spent elsewhere! For beginners and excellent choice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java The Complete Reference, 8th Edition (Paperback)
Very detailed, informative with lots of examples. Anyone from any level can start on Java using this book..completely worth it ... highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much spiel, a painfully slow read, 18 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately, the good content is lost amongst the inordinate amount of sales spiel. The first three chapters contain nothing remotely useful and the content in the first third of the book could have easily been covered in a fraction of the pages used.

There are better and easier to read books for beginners, and there is not much for the intermediate/professional programmer either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java The Complete Reference, 8th Edition (Paperback)
Very well written and easy to follow book as all Herb Schildt's books are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Java Reference book, 13 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book isn't for beginners to programming but it is well written and covers most of the essentials of Java in sufficient depth.

By nature it is more of a reference book that you dip into as required rather than one that you read from cover to cover. I've given it 5 stars as it does what it sets out to do but I think that alot of the information in there can be found on the Web in Oracles Java documentation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, but not for pure beginners, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Java The Complete Reference, 8th Edition (Paperback)
I haven't gone through all the content yet, but I love the book. I m writing this review as a programmer - beginner and this is the second book about Java I have used. The first one was from the same author (Java, A beginner's guide, fifth edition). While the Beginner's guide will take you through the basics of Java complemented with little information about more advanced topics, the Complete Reference Guide is a comprehensive overview of the language. It takes you through the basics in part I which is more or less the same text as in the Beginner's guide. The parts II and III describe the richness of Java libraries, various advanced topics and deep overview of graphical user interface and applets. In part IV there are also several examples of practical applications.
Since i have read the Beginner's guide first, reading the Complete reference guide is much easier that it would have been the other way around. That's why I recommend others interested in learning Java also to start with the beginner's guide and then for deepening the knowledge read the Complete reference guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Java The Complete Reference, 8th Edition
Java The Complete Reference, 8th Edition by Herbert Schildt (Paperback - 1 Aug. 2011)
Used & New from: £15.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews