Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ebike book review
It took many hours painstaking internet research to make the right decisions to set up my electric bike. I wish I'd bought this book before I'd started the research process as it would have made it much easier. I've found the book very accurate compared to my increasing experience of electric bikes. Some good tips and mostly enjoyable and easy reading. Only downside is...
Published on 7 Sep 2011 by Phil

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To complicated
You need to have some mechanical know how to get your head around the technical jargon. I didnt get on with it. Lots of pictures and instructions seem easy, with some effort.
Published 10 months ago by teri hodkinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ebike book review, 7 Sep 2011
This review is from: Build Your Own Electric Bicycle (TAB Green Guru Guides) (Paperback)
It took many hours painstaking internet research to make the right decisions to set up my electric bike. I wish I'd bought this book before I'd started the research process as it would have made it much easier. I've found the book very accurate compared to my increasing experience of electric bikes. Some good tips and mostly enjoyable and easy reading. Only downside is the black and white photos aren't the best but do the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Build Your Own Electric Bike, Review, 24 Jun 2013
By 
Peter Hudson (N.Yorks. England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build Your Own Electric Bicycle (TAB Green Guru Guides) (Paperback)
I found this book first class. The author has a very good grasp of the theory but also lots of practical experience and he expresses it in a clear and easy to understand manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars electric bikes, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build Your Own Electric Bicycle (TAB Green Guru Guides) (Paperback)
its a good basic understanding on how all the parts fit together and work as a complete bike. good information on battery's and motors and how to connect it all together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly researched book, interesting reading, but quite technical, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build Your Own Electric Bicycle (TAB Green Guru Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this book after a bad experience with a cheap off-the-shelf Chinese e-bike (which was so bad I ultimately had to return it to the seller) and it could have saved me a lot of hassle. It thoroughly examines the current technology of electric bicycles, also covering the energy and ecology aspects. The author is clearly writing from extensive experience, but the book may be too technical for some. Ideally, a reader should approach it with some prior knowledge of the concepts of electricity and electronics. There is a glossary and index but they are not comprehensive (e.g. varistor is missing from both) . The book is let down by rather blurred photos, all in black & white. Drawings or colour photos would be better, but would obviously increase the cost. However, it is certainly interesting reading and a useful source of tips (e.g. how to use a multimeter). Those with the necessary technical aptitude could indeed use it as a guide to build an electric bicycle superior to those commercially available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To complicated, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build Your Own Electric Bicycle (TAB Green Guru Guides) (Paperback)
You need to have some mechanical know how to get your head around the technical jargon. I didnt get on with it. Lots of pictures and instructions seem easy, with some effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Complicated and Uninspiring, 28 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Build Your Own Electric Bicycle (TAB Green Guru Guides) (Paperback)
Way, way, way too complicated (for me at least) and many of the pictured examples of finished bike installations look outdated (bulky) and amateurish. This book did nothing to inspire me to follow the described path to electric cycling. In fact, it managed to put me off the whole idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars knighthood for Slinn!, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build Your Own Electric Bicycle (TAB Green Guru Guides) (Paperback)
Matthew Slinn is a genius he should be given a Nobel prize for science, or a knighthood ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Build Your Own Electric Bicycle (TAB Green Guru Guides)
Build Your Own Electric Bicycle (TAB Green Guru Guides) by Matthew Slinn (Paperback - 1 July 2010)
£14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews