Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and comprehensive with exercises which help to embed learning - ideal to revise as well as learn new grammar
As someone who has been learning Italian informally over a number of years, I found this book very helpful - it covers some of the more tricky grammar areas which it is difficult to get right without repeated exposure to the language, so it is helpful to be able to re-visit grammar and revise the basics as well as learn new areas. It does it in a way which is clear and...
Published 14 months ago by Liz Adams

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Pages missing!
I was using this book to complement my italian classes but there are pages missing. I can't follow all of the rules etc before completing the exercises because of this and it's really disappointing. I've used Practice Makes Perfect for Spanish and French before and found them really good, and this book is good for the parts that are complete! For a brand new purchase...
Published 6 months ago by Ms. M. Gorman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and comprehensive with exercises which help to embed learning - ideal to revise as well as learn new grammar, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practice Makes Perfect: Complete Italian Grammar (Practice Makes Perfect Series) (Paperback)
As someone who has been learning Italian informally over a number of years, I found this book very helpful - it covers some of the more tricky grammar areas which it is difficult to get right without repeated exposure to the language, so it is helpful to be able to re-visit grammar and revise the basics as well as learn new areas. It does it in a way which is clear and comprehensive, with exercises which help to embed the learning. A more traditional approach than that used by many of the topic based learning guides currently available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A competent grammar reference, 13 Dec 2010
This review is from: Practice Makes Perfect: Complete Italian Grammar (Practice Makes Perfect Series) (Paperback)
This book seems fine, containing all the usual aspects of grammar with full verb tables at the back as well as all the answers to the exercises within the book.

My only grumbles are that this publisher used to perforate the answer pages so that you could easily remove them and keep them separate and refer to them easily rather than flicking backwards and forwards in the book. The second grumble is that it has been printed on quite rough recycled paper, which I find difficult to write on and it behaves like blotting paper when fountain pen ink is used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD AND SIMPLE!, 28 Mar 2011
This review is from: Practice Makes Perfect: Complete Italian Grammar (Practice Makes Perfect Series) (Paperback)
I've been learning Italian the last 5 months and I have found this book to be really helpful. It's great for revision and checking up on things-full of exercises!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars grammar guide, 11 Sep 2011
By 
C. Morrish "Chrissy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practice Makes Perfect: Complete Italian Grammar (Practice Makes Perfect Series) (Paperback)
I needed a clear, no nonsense grammar book where I could check rules and learn new structures. This fits the bill. Easy to find what you want. No gimmicks. Arrived quickly, well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent language text book!, 24 May 2012
By 
Guess Who (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practice Makes Perfect: Complete Italian Grammar (Practice Makes Perfect Series) (Paperback)
This series of books is excellent. I have already purchased the German and French version and find them clear, concise and very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yes, practice does make perfect, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practice Makes Perfect: Complete Italian Grammar (Practice Makes Perfect Series) (Paperback)
Italian grammar is not easy to learn, but as the books says, 'practice makes perfect' and with all the things students of the language need to remember, especially with regards to genders and plurals, students will need to practice a lot!

I'm a language teacher, so understand how important it is to study the grammar of a language and at a level that is complimentary to the stage the learner is at. This would do very well for Pre-Intermediates (possibly) to Upper Intermediates. It is too difficult for Beginners as, in places, it asks you to draw on language knowledge you may not possess, and it's too easy for advanced learners. This series does actually have an advanced learners' addition though.

This book covers all the parts of speech and their sub-categories, though it could benefit from being more explanatory in places. It also states that you learn the grammar in context - this is not actually so, but it will enable the student recognise certain grammar structures when they are looking at it in context.

Overall, not a bad grammar book at all and one of the better ones on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't even know if if it's a good grammar book because the examples are in such a small font and I haven't been able to increase them. I can't read it properly! I would like my money back please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Useful Reference Book, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practice Makes Perfect: Complete Italian Grammar (Practice Makes Perfect Series) (Paperback)
While not a complete "Textbook" for teaching, it does include a good breadth of vocabulary and idiom and the exercises are useful reinforcement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practice Makes Perfect: Complete Italian Grammar (Practice Makes Perfect Series) (Paperback)
I'm very happy with this book. It's well written and easy to follow. Good excercises for the beginners in itallian. Arrived very fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adoro questo libro!, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practice Makes Perfect: Complete Italian Grammar (Practice Makes Perfect Series) (Paperback)
This is a cracker of a grammar book. I thought that I knew a fair bit of Italian and was happily scribbling answers in on the first chapter, having arrogantly skimmed over the grammar information. Big mistake! This book is really thorough and you have to read everything, concentrate and then do the exercises. If you want real back-up for an Italian class which perhaps concentrates on speaking and listening (or does that modern thing of modules about restaurants, booking hotel rooms, transport etc) then this book will give you the grammar and syntax which will help you to adapt to all sorts of situations.
I recommend it to you if you are serious about extending and deepening your knowledge of the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Practice Makes Perfect: Complete Italian Grammar (Practice Makes Perfect Series)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews