Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT STUDY GUIDE FOR THE CISSP EXAM
I used this book and the Official ISC2 CISSP CBK book exclusively to study for my CISSP exam and passed first time. The All in One Study guide goes into more detail to explore around each of the topics than the CBK. As a result you understand the topic rather than just memorising the information. This is crucial when you come to sit the exam as it is often based on...
Published on 31 Oct 2012 by Charles Roberts

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very large volume with lots of superfluous information
If you are already knowledgeable about infosec and already work in the fields then this might be too much book for you. It's not until chapter 4, page 150 that you actually start to look at the domains that CISSP covers. Everything is described in minute detail, and I found it incredibly dry and hard to read.

If you're after a guide that also gives you every...
Published on 13 July 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very large volume with lots of superfluous information, 13 July 2011
This review is from: CISSP All-in-One Exam Guide, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
If you are already knowledgeable about infosec and already work in the fields then this might be too much book for you. It's not until chapter 4, page 150 that you actually start to look at the domains that CISSP covers. Everything is described in minute detail, and I found it incredibly dry and hard to read.

If you're after a guide that also gives you every best practice for every aspect of infosec then by all means go and get this book. If you are new to infosec and you have management or design responsibilities then order 2 copies! but if you are already in the role and you just need to pass the CISSP then I would go elsewhere. I shall be buying the CISSP 11th hour book from Syngress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT STUDY GUIDE FOR THE CISSP EXAM, 31 Oct 2012
This review is from: CISSP All-in-One Exam Guide, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
I used this book and the Official ISC2 CISSP CBK book exclusively to study for my CISSP exam and passed first time. The All in One Study guide goes into more detail to explore around each of the topics than the CBK. As a result you understand the topic rather than just memorising the information. This is crucial when you come to sit the exam as it is often based on your interpretation of the best answer rather than just a straight forward recall from memory.

This would make a good companion book for anyone who is going to attend a course in preparation for the exam and would complement instructor notes or slides. However do not underestimate the amount of information that you have to learn for the exam. In my opinion unless you have a very high level of base knowledge to start with you need to allow yourself at least a day per topic (there are 10) and to be on the safe side I would double that to allow yourself time to go over the material at least once more.

The tests at the end of each chapter are good and will prepare you; however do not expect them to be identical to those you will find in the exam. I used the boxed set version of this book which includes a DVD of additional material and a computer based test exam. I would strongly recommend that as a minimum you ensure you complete each of the tests at the end of the chapters.

There is also plenty of additional study material available from the Shon Harrris website which adds further detail to some of the topics and subjects.

In summary - If you buy this book and the Official ISC2 CISSP CBK you can pass the exam with no further courses. Allow yourself time to read the book (cover to cover) and go over the material at least once or twice. Once you have passed this will then be a good reference for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars some parts are easy and other parts hard to understand, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CISSP All-in-One Exam Guide, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
Need to read it in conjunction with other CISSP books, some parts are easy and other parts hard to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Stick to Cisco Press Books, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of errors and typo's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CISSP All-in-One Exam Guide, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
You will need to hard a real in-depth knowledge of Networking prior to picking up this book. I recommend this book for the professionals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the book to buy!, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As part of my University course we were told Implementing Cisco Switched Networks by Cisco press was the recommended text. I bought it, but wish I never. Reading that book is enough to put you off cisco for life. I bought the kindle version of this book and found myself constantly referring to it to help explain the concepts covered in the cisco book. If you want a book that explains things in plain English then buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive guide to pass your CISSP exam on the first attempt, 22 Aug 2013
By 
Luis Acuna "Luis" (Caracas, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CISSP All-in-One Exam Guide, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
I can't believe I went through almost all of this book preparing my CISSP test, but it was worthwhile. The concepts are very well explained, concise and with the appropriate depth in order to understand it well and quick. It has review questions that explore typical confusing aspects of the chapter and very well crafted examples to explain the interaction between new concepts explained.

This is IMHO the best book out there to prepare the exam. I've had 6-7 years of experience in security when I took the exam and and have participated in projects of several domains, and had the GCFA cert all of these helped a lot... remember that the exam tries to prove that you are an experienced information security professional and the book works only if you have to reinforce or remember some concepts that you're not so familiar with.

Good luck with your exams!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent material, 6 Nov 2012
By 
Nuno Loureiro (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CISSP All-in-One Exam Guide, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
I used this book to study for the exam. The book is very complete and explains things in an easy way. I just feel that some chapters could be smaller because Shon repeats herself quite often. I loved her humor though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent study material, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CISSP All-in-One Exam Guide, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
The CISSP All-in-One Exam Guide, Fifth Edition is an excellent guide to study and prepare for the CISSP exam.
I used this book and the Dummies one and I passed it! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 9 Sep 2011
This review is from: CISSP All-in-One Exam Guide, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
A Great book to learn CISSP. Very easy to read.
The topics are very clear explained.
A must if you want to learn CISSP.
I order this book from the netherlands, Within 3 days I receive it. Very fast delivery from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CISSP All-in-One Exam Guide, Fifth Edition
CISSP All-in-One Exam Guide, Fifth Edition by Shon Harris (Hardcover - 1 Feb 2010)
£41.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews