Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It worked for me
The syllabus for the SCJP exam for Java 6 includes a huge amount of material, but this book covers the lot. The authors don't claim that it's a tutorial, and I must say that my own experience with other languages helped me a lot, but even so the authors do a great job of introducing their topics in a basic and simple way, then developing the discussion to a point where...
Published on 28 Jan 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Useful book but shoddy Kindle conversion
The quality of this book's conversion to the Kindle is really disappointing. Even a cursory proof-read would have quickly identified the numerous errors and formatting problems. For example text from previous paragraphs embedded in code samples, an earlier chunk of code repeated in the place of a class diagram, example code that is missing entirely, 'corrected' code that...
Published on 26 Mar 2012 by frogplate


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It worked for me, 28 Jan 2009
This review is from: SCJP Sun Certified Programmer for Java 6 Study Guide (CX-310-065): Exam 310-065 (Hardcover)
The syllabus for the SCJP exam for Java 6 includes a huge amount of material, but this book covers the lot. The authors don't claim that it's a tutorial, and I must say that my own experience with other languages helped me a lot, but even so the authors do a great job of introducing their topics in a basic and simple way, then developing the discussion to a point where you are ready to tackle their sample exam questions (answers and explanations included) which will more than prepare you for the real exam. Apart from using Eclipse for writing code, this book was my only learning resource and I got 86% (pass mark 65%). Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SCJP a great book, 14 Nov 2009
By 
Tomasz Trela (Kraków, Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SCJP Sun Certified Programmer for Java 6 Study Guide (CX-310-065): Exam 310-065 (Hardcover)
The book is an excellent guide about Java. It covers all objectives of the SCJP exam. After reading this book and passing example axams from the book I have scored SCJP exam with 93%. I recommend this position for all trainees wanted to gain good results on the exam.

Best regards
Sun certified programmer
Tomasz Trela
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent study book, 11 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. GB Brown (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SCJP Sun Certified Programmer for Java 6 Study Guide (CX-310-065): Exam 310-065 (Hardcover)
Has everything you need to pass the exam but beware of the only error I found on Pg. 583 (Using Maps) ((Dog)o).name == name is a reference comparison should read ((Dog)o).name.equals(name) to give the quiz answer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Useful book but shoddy Kindle conversion, 26 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The quality of this book's conversion to the Kindle is really disappointing. Even a cursory proof-read would have quickly identified the numerous errors and formatting problems. For example text from previous paragraphs embedded in code samples, an earlier chunk of code repeated in the place of a class diagram, example code that is missing entirely, 'corrected' code that is identical to the faulty code it is supposed to fix, bulletted lists that have lost their formatting and so it goes on.

It's a pity, because the dead tree version of the book is very good, but the publisher of the Kindle edition has done a disservice to the authors and readers.

If you are familiar with the content then the Kindle version is a bargain as a revision aid as long as you keep your wits about you. If you are new to the material, buy the paper version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great study guide but could be improved, 15 July 2009
This review is from: SCJP Sun Certified Programmer for Java 6 Study Guide (CX-310-065): Exam 310-065 (Hardcover)
I found this book thorough and the sample questions good. However, I did the 1.4 certification 5 years ago so am somewhat familiar with the subject matter and I found several mistakes in the information they give. My biggest frustration though has been where the authors have used concepts before they introduce them. Take Chapter 7, for example. It begins with Collections and then goes onto Generics. However, they constantly use Generics in the Collections examples, even though these have not yet been explained. They also use boxing before introducing it. There are 10 chapters, some of which are desperately long. It would be far more manageable in smaller chunks. That said though, it's still a very good book and I would definately recommend it, providing you keep your wits about you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I prepared for SCJP exam just with this book, 11 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. E. A. DARAMOLA (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SCJP Sun Certified Programmer for Java 6 Study Guide (CX-310-065): Exam 310-065 (Hardcover)
This book was highly instrumental to my success at the SCJP exam. I would not just recommend this book for only those preparing to take the SCJP exam but for those who are willing to grasp the fundamental knowledge of JAVA.
I must warn that the book is quite voluminous but it's quite helpful if you have got time to prepare for the exam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars kindle version has many flaws, 4 Mar 2012
I'm only a quarter of the way through this book on kindle and already I have noticed in several places the code examples are incorrect. Seems to repeat code from another section instead of the actual code. This is appalling for a book that is preparing you for an exam

The only thing that's helping me with this is that my employer gave me a hardback paper copy and I can use that to find out what the actual code should be. This works for me but only if I remember to look it up when I get home should I be studying on the train or when away from home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Does Exactly What It Says On The Tin, 19 July 2009
By 
Mmethod "Matt" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: SCJP Sun Certified Programmer for Java 6 Study Guide (CX-310-065): Exam 310-065 (Hardcover)
This book is clear in its contents; a study guide for the Java 6 programmer exam, written by the developers of the exam itself. It makes no promises about teaching you to become a Java guru after reading but I can assure you that you will learn things about Java that you didn't know before and subsequently improve your programming skills. Each section of the book covers the certification objectives entirely, there are lots of examples, lots of questions and the little anecdotes actually make the book fun to read. This book, without question helped my pass my exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read. Absorb. Pass exam., 26 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SCJP Sun Certified Programmer for Java 6 Study Guide (CX-310-065): Exam 310-065 (Hardcover)
Read this through a couple of times before attempting the SCJP. Worked though all the questions and the practice exams (and downloaded the extra exam). Passed exam with 80%. Job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much information, 17 April 2009
By 
R. Finlay "SCJP90" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SCJP Sun Certified Programmer for Java 6 Study Guide (CX-310-065): Exam 310-065 (Hardcover)
To pass the SCJP 6 exam there is a lot of information to assimilate. Sadly this book fails to deliver the information in a succinct and easily digestable format. There are pages and pages of text where a simple summary would suffice. The writers like to crack jokes too often and in certain instances this gets very annoying when you are trying to study. The layout is poor: Each chapter has a 2 minute drill but, since the book is 800 pages hardback, getting to the drills is not straight forward. The sample questions are not reflective of the real exam and the software testing engine on the CD is not true to the exam format either. Overall I was dissapointed with the book. If you are very familliar with Java and want to pass this exam then do not waste your time with this book.
One positive to take from the book: the tests at the end of each chapter have loads of questions that are designed to fool you so in a way it does sharpen up your code-reading skills but these are not reflective of the real exam questions! For that reason alone I have given it a 2 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SCJP Sun Certified Programmer for Java 6 Study Guide (CX-310-065): Exam 310-065
£28.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews