Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Throughout, 19 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Reporting Services (Paperback)
Being new to Reporting Services I found this an excellent introduction covering the use of wizards, building reports from scratch, deployment and the reporting manager. This book is far better written than what you normally get from say Microsoft Press and the Author clearly made a huge effort in putting this book together and building up the examples from a bespoke database for a Galactic Delivery company. The book is built around working through practical examples. To be able to do this you have to download the GDS database and install it on SQL Server, which is a straight forward task. I am not surprised that this book is a best seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to reporting services, 19 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Reporting Services (Paperback)
I bought this book because it had already received positive reviews. Having read it, I can see why. It sets out in a very clear way how to install and configure reporting services, and how to build dynamic, reponsive reports using (almost) real world examples. It's easy to follow but still covers the advanced features.
The reports designer in Visual Studio takes care of a lot of the coding, formatting and grouping headaches for you. I would spend hours on coding xml/xslt to produce reports from our SQL Server, then scratch my head again looking for ways of distributing these reports to users in the way they wanted. Reporting Services with SQL Server 2008 solves all that. My boss probably thinks I'm a genius for designing this brilliant document managing system. I'd better hide this book from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good on SSRS, not so great on source control, 17 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Reporting Services (Paperback)
This is a very good book in a very good series (McGraw-Hill MS BI) . If you want to learn about the capabilities of SSRS and how to leverage them its recommended.
I appreciate it was written a while ago and the good intentions of the author in promoting good practice (at time of writing). However the recommendation of SourceSafe as a platform to implement source code management should be ignored!
Its far better than the MSPress tech book (recommended for 70-448 MCTS exam) on the BI stack and worth buying, that said it might be worth waiting for the 2012 version though (review written Jan/2012)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended for Beginners, 9 Aug 2010
This review is from: Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Reporting Services (Paperback)
I like the book. I have already worked on SSRS but never read its theory in much detail. I would say this book is good for beginners but not for advance readers. The other thing I didnt like is its length it is too descriptive. But I would appreciate the fact that an IT professional can write in this way. But I thoroughly enjoyed this descriptive approach in his other book on business intelligence.

Razia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft SQL server 2008 Reporting Services, 19 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Reporting Services (Paperback)
Really pleased with this book. Really great for the first time user. Had a little problem locating the link to download for the sample database, which is vital for the book as without it you are unable to create the sample reports to find the affects of certain actions, but once you have this you are able to recreate the examples and have a real feel of how it works. The author gives you great examples to create the effects, then explains how it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book to get you off the starting line and more, 1 Feb 2010
This review is from: Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Reporting Services (Paperback)
Ive been meaning to update my CV with some Reporting services knowledge but didnt know the 1st thing about reporting services.

Got this book on the based on a review and Im not disapointed.

The book is laid out in a clear, step by step manner, that brings you up in your knowledge level via small-medium sized steps.

As im very familiar with sql server, I skipped the first 100 or so pages as it just goes through relational database theory. The rest though is great.

I particularly like the project approach, where you learn by doing,and the author explains whats going on via the examples you are doing. Really allows you to learn much quicker and cement the knowledge into your head. Theory, along with hands on examples is the only way to learn this kind of material.

If your at an intermediate level with reporting services, this book is prob a bit basic ( im ony 5-6 chapters in so far so could be wrong), and you would benifit more from a higer level book that delves deeper into the bowels of reporting services.

I for one am happy with my purchase and am purchasing the Business Intelligence Companion book ,also by Brian Larson.

Giving it 4 stars as 5 stars is reserved for perhaps a handfull of books worldwide ( if it was a 10 star rating system though this would get 9 out of 10)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but nothing special, 21 Jun 2009
By 
M. Sear (Milton Keynes UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Reporting Services (Paperback)
Quite an enjoyable reference come tutorial book. Nothing too in-depth in the book, but as I was new to reporting services I found it useful an worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Reporting Services
Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Reporting Services by Brian Larson (Paperback - 1 Oct 2008)
£21.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews