Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars74
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£18.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 28 January 2009
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is the first vine book I couldn't finish. I suspect that this is intended as as a reference for 'baby boomers' who are marketers for a living.

I normally love this kind of book, the sociological effects of technology is normally my kind of thing.

But this breathless praise of the 'Net generation' (11-30 year olds), just struck me as special pleading. The attributes he insisted that were particular to this generation just struck me as universal preferences, for example, flexible working - I don't imagine that an employee is in favour of inflexible working! At one point he describes his son's technical brilliance, while all the boy seems to be doing is operating an Apple Mac!

The technical nous he ascribes to the net gen seems vastly overstated, there are generational differences, but I suspect the division between rich and poor is much more significant.

The The Future Just Happened and Here Comes Everybody are far superior to this.

Avoid! (Unless you're a clueless marketer over the age of 60).
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 August 2009
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As a borderline "net-gener" myself (I'm nearly 30) I found this book interesting in its descriptions of how technology is changing the way in which people communicate and interact with their peers.

However I found the author occasionally sounded paranoid or condescending... especially when he kept reiterating the point that the younger generations are going to live to regret what personal information they have put online which may or may not impact upon their lives at a later date. I think this is a generational thing and that if you want to interact with others online (via Facebook for example) then you just need to give in to the fact that your data is going to be shared.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
To produce `Grown Up Digital' author Don Tapscott gathered contributions from numerous researchers, consultants, coordinators, administrators etc. with inputs from academia, business, politics etc. He even relied on his own children and their friends, and he created his own version of `Facebook' to collect information and to test assumptions. All this results in a very interesting, informative and thought provoking assessment of `Net Geners' (11 to 30 year olds) and their influence in changing the world. Tapscott identifies and repeatedly relates his narrative to eight characteristics of the `Net Generation' - freedom, customization, scrutiny, integrity, collaboration, entertainment, speed and innovation. In doing so insights are provided to how these are changing the nature of family, consumerism, education, work, government etc. with a culture of control replaced by a culture of enablement. Supporting his solid scientific text-book approach Tapscott's easily readable style and readily understandable parables exemplify and explain his fact finding studies, his examination and analysis, and his results and conclusions. Tapscott states "if you understand the `Net Generation' you will understand the future". `Grown Up Digital' will certainly help - but it is not a panacea.

Most of today's parents and grandparents are amazed and pleased at how, immersed in digital technology and without any inhibitions, their offspring intuitively deal with videos, computers, games consoles, cell-phones etc. Don Tapscott's adoration and exaltation is at a much higher level. Everyone recognises that internet capabilities and complementary technological advances are proceeding at an exponential rate, yet many of the characteristics identified for `Net Geners' may be accounted for via generational evolution. Tapscott appears to invest too deeply into his own studies, and though he warns of cyber bullying, on-line predators, internet plagiarism etc. he avoids confrontation with a possible opinion on the young as a self-destruction generation embracing drugs, violence etc. Other examples with alternative perspectives include viewing political participation as a citizenship issue; or job decision-making as an attitude of mind - instead of linking everything to the internet. There needs to be a better balance. Tapscott's view is not of a truly representative cross-section of society but seems too narrowly focused on a privileged level of the population in an affluent part of the world where all `Net Geners' appear professional and largely restricted to the service sector of the economy. Without doubt Don Tapscott is sincere but he has become too emotionally involved, and he is determined to see only virtue in `Net Geners' and he gives credit for too much power. He claims to show readers how the `Net Generation' is changing the entire world - but more accurately it shows how `Net Geners' are changing their own part of it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 October 2010
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As someone in their mid 30s, who has grown up with the development of computers, and has worked in the IT industry for ten years, I wasn't entirely convinced by this book.

I do think there is a new generation growing up with the internet and using it in a way that transforms their style of interacting with the rest of the world. But I also think it's still to early to get any real perspective or detail on what that actually means, and the long term impacts. It's fairly obvious that the internet is an increasingly large part of people's lives, particularly amongst the younger generation - but the long term effects of that on society, and on its processes and social groups, are only just beginning to be felt. As someone who is fairly aware of how technology can be used, I didn't find much factually in this book that was news to me, but I also felt there were a lot of untested or poorly researched assumptions.

One of the main issues (as others have said) is that Tapscott focuses mostly on people that use the internet intensively, conducting his research on facebook etc. which inevitably gives a biased impression that all people in certain categories use the internet far more widely than is perhaps the case.

The problem is I think that ways of using the internet and digital technology generally are still undergoing a period of rapid change. So this book is already starting to feel dated, only a few months after publication.

Overall, it just didn't feel particularly insightful, or that I learned anything new.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2009
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The central message of GROWN UP DIGITAL is to contradict popular negative opinion among the Western bourgeoisie of the 'net generation' (short attention span, poor social skills, 'bad citizens'), by pointing to examples, anecdotes and statistics indicating that, while this generation may not see and do things in the same way, this does not equate to being a 'worse' way. Further, that the techniques assimilated by growing up immersed in digital technology, to the contrary, will have positive effects for the future.

The general approach of this (non-academic) book is light and optimistic, making frequent use of charts and figures to break up the social commentary. The assumed readership of the work is clearly the critical bourgeoisie themselves, an attempt to persuade a perplexed older generation that this 'new-fangled' technology is not the social-apocalypse that they might fear it to be ("the Net is becoming a medium for good citizenship and social awakening"). Consequently, the text itself is non-threatening, and generally supportive of Western culture. (It's worth noting that GROWN UP DIGITAL was inspired by a $4 million 'research project' paid for by large corporations.)

Inevitably this leads the author to neglect matters that may disturb the assumed readership, or that undermine the arguments he aims to make - hence his silence on factors such as heavy and increasing censorship of the popular online encyclopaedias, video-sharing and social networking sites, which he otherwise takes pains to valorize; and the particular emphasis on collaboration and innovation, while ignoring the pervasive high degree of conformity that is thereby engendered.

Nevertheless, for the limited purpose of countering popular middle-aged, bourgeois misconceptions of the 'net generation', this work is useful. Written and presented in a non-academic, jovial 'I'm just a parent too' manner, GROWN UP DIGITAL will no doubt appeal to its intended audience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Don Tapscott is a respected consultant, author and speaker on corporate strategy and the role of technology in business and society. This 2008 book still has some value, and is worth putting on the list of maybe 4 or 5 books you should read if you are trying to get your head around the way business is changing, and the fact that we have a whole generation of kids about to enter the workplace who have have been connected on Facebook, Skype, Xbox, Tumblr, Twitter, DeviantART and host of other social networking technology and tools for as long as they can remember. When they hit the workplace, they expect business systems to work the way their technology works in their bedroom at home. They don't expect to have to read manuals, they just intuitively press the next button. Tapscott provides many positive examples to counter those that think the Internet is dumbing us down. The opposite is true, but this book doesn't present as coherent an argument as it should have. It looks like it was rushed out and could have done with some better editing and structuring. As well as dipping in to this, I would take a look at Net Smart by Howard Rheingold, and Net, Blogs and Rock 'n' Roll by David Jennings. If you are coming at this from a business direction, you might also check out Monkeys with typewriters by Jemima Gibbons, The Connected Customer by David Gray or Organizations Don't Tweet, People Do by Euan Semple.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2009
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I really didn't like this book at all, to the extent it was hard to finish. It was just so patronising. Yes, the internet is pretty useful, to the extent of not being able to remember what we did before it. Even so, it goes on and on (and on) about how amazing it is that young people can use facebook and the like. Lets face it, the young always take advantage of any new technolgy. 3 years olds can use iPhones and computers. Old people can't program VHS players. Do we need a book to tell us? We know it already.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 April 2009
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
In Grown Up Digital, Don Tapscott gives us a collection of studies to show understanding of how the next generation will change the way we operate in the future whether that's in work, government or culture. In particular it focuses on the changes to methods of communication by the net generation and how this impacts on all areas of life.

Despite being only 384 pages long, I found this to be quite a substantial and at times not an easy read. The text was filled with facts and figures which made it more of a textbook than a piece of business non-fiction. Having said that, it is full of well thought out analysis and discussion and many of the points were interesting, thought provoking and useful.

For me, particular chapters of the book were more appealing than others but this really is a book that you can dip in and out of making it more useful and something you will continue to use after the first read.

All in all, I did enjoy this book and would recommend it to anyone with an interest in, or that is trying to understand the changes in generational attitudes. 4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 March 2009
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
When I started reading this book, being a self confessed nerd I thought most of it would be the same old blub about anything.
What I actually discovered was an enjoyable trek through the ins and outs of the IT industry and the future in holds for us.
I passed this onto a friend who has a small business, and she found it highly informative. She is even currently in the process of re-imagining her ICT department to be more user friendly and future proof.
It's laid out pretty well, although when diagrams appear its usually half way through a sentence which throws me off. This can become annoying, and I found myself having to go back to pick up the jist of what I was reading again.
And another small niggle, he continually refers to his earlier book. Now I wouldn't normally have a problem with this, but the book almost strays from selling the subject matter to selling another book.
If you are interested in where the business world is heading this is a great book. If you are a business owner then this could help you finally plan out that IT makeover you've always wanted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is the succesor to "Growing Up Digital" which unfortunately I haven't read. In this book Don Tapscott reflects on the Net Generation and how it relates to the previous generation of Baby Boomers. First of all it is interesting to note that Don took a rather scientific approach. He bases his conclusion on a multi-million dollar survey. The result is a book with insightful chapters, some great statistics and an interpretation of the numbers which you ofcourse don't have to agree with all the time.

The book's weaknesses are twofold: on one hand the book is a bit repetitive and lond winded: in other words, I skipped some sections once in a while. Another more serious weakness is that I feel like a generation is more than just the influence of technology on a group of people however central technology is to that generation. There is little discussion about other aspects of the Net Generation if it doesn't relate to technology.

To conculde: I enjoyed Dan's Wikinomics much better and as that book set my expectations I was a bit dissapointed ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)