Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars9
3.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£24.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2011
This book doesn't act as a clear step-by-step explanation of the industry and what it does. The writer flicks between irrelevant historical information, detailed examples of specific areas & transactions, and odd lists of statistics, all without a clear overall structure, and without a gradual build up, or "learning curve", as you might expect from the title. For example, the writer will introduce something like "trading" and tell you that it involves "executing security trades for clients, market making, and proprietary trading", and then the sentence will just end, without any further elaboration. This recurs again and again, throughout the book.

So I don't really know what purpose this book serves. I had to turn to other books to understand the concepts in this book, and when I came back to this book, I wasn't learning anything new.
If the writer bothered to edit and structure the information properly, build up the info steadily, and update it (most of the info is up-to-date for 2005-7, with some clumsy "bolt-ons" for 2008), then it could make a decent overview of the basics and recent history. As it is, it's a clumsy mess with pockets useful info hidden throughout. Not recommended for beginners: maybe best as a refresh for someone interested in the recent history of IB?
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
I wanted a book that could introduce me to the world of Investment Banking as I had picked up an assignment back in March 2010. Having read the book and now having spent almost a year in the area, here are my thoughts.

This book is not that well structured and talks more about what happened in the banking world however fails to relate that to specifics of the instruments/counterparties/how it relates to the details involved. Felt like reading case studies with little understanding given of the conclusions drawn from it. If the chapter talks about a topic, it assumes that you already know the basics of it and aware of how the asset class operates (which was not the case in my situation). If you are new to investment banking then this might not be the book for you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
This is not a good book. It is a combination of poorly curated historical facts, and totally banal anecdotes - lacking much needed clarity and analysis into key themes. It is full of "cut and paste" from corporate websites and is either blatant propaganda or just seriously lazy. It is totally devoid of structure, cohesion, analysis or insight - it just doesn't bother to try.There is simply no element of "insider" here - it is clearly an outsider looking in an providing very cursory view based on the most readily available and worthless sources.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2011
Not engaging. Very badly written. Very basic. Some goes into deep detail, other sections are barely anything. Would definitely not recommend.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2010
The book was ok with an overview of the Investment banking area. it does not contain any detailed explanation on the terms and concepts in this domain.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2008
This book made me eventually understand why Merrill Lynch was forced to take 40 billion $ of write-down over the last 12 months while Goldmam Sachs was thriving. A brilliant and clear insider view of this so complex world !
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2010
This book is written in a professional and easy-to-understand way. I found the numerous examples very helpful.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
one of the must have's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
boring
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)