Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very comprehensive read
As a relatively new trader, I have a library of trading books all focusing on specific aspects of trading. MTT is as comprehensive a trading book as I have read, covering not only specific trading strategies that I have begun using in my trading, but also an excellent section on developing a business plan - an area that I've not seen covered in any trading book. Reminding...
Published on 8 Sep 2006 by Future Futures Trader

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but a chore to get through.
I'm afraid I found this book hard work, and not the guide to mastering the trade I had hoped it would be. Firstly, it is written in what I am starting to call 'Americanese' - it's English, but not as the English know it! Like many books from the US it is written in such a way that words are used in a different way from the common understanding of their meaning. Reading...
Published on 14 Dec 2009 by radiostar35


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very comprehensive read, 8 Sep 2006
This review is from: Mastering the Trade: Proven Techniques for Profiting from Intraday and Swing Trading Setups (McGraw-Hill Trader's Edge Series) (Hardcover)
As a relatively new trader, I have a library of trading books all focusing on specific aspects of trading. MTT is as comprehensive a trading book as I have read, covering not only specific trading strategies that I have begun using in my trading, but also an excellent section on developing a business plan - an area that I've not seen covered in any trading book. Reminding ones self when you enter the trading game that it's a business that needs as much planning as any other business seems so obvious and yet is probably overlooked by the majority of aspiring traders. I refer to the book daily and would highly recommend this to both beginners and advanced traders alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful guide to day trading, 10 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Trade: Proven Techniques for Profiting from Intraday and Swing Trading Setups (McGraw-Hill Trader's Edge Series) (Hardcover)
This book is not for beginners. Readers are expected to be familiar with basic technical indicators, chart reading, common tradeable assets, etc. This book caters to those who have already attempted day trading or swing trading in the past but have been unable to put in the time and effort to take it to the next level.

The main part of the book deals with the author's various trading setups, where he provides the rational for why they work, step by step guides (including limit and stop tactics, entry points, preferable conditions etc) and caveats. He gives detailed examples based on real trades with charts for each setup.

He also provides guidance on how to manage risk, formalise trading rules to ensure discipline, in effect a business plan for traders.

The author writes with confidence. He sounds very experienced and his writing shows. He has a high opinion of his own talents, which may grate a little. He has no sympathy for fools and undisciplined traders. However, his unforgiving style is in line with one in his profession. After all, trading is an unforgiving profession.

I have definitely benefited from this book. I have implemented individual setups outlined in the book, with positive results in the first 3 days of trading. More time will be needed before one can be certain that the setups work. Also, I have not combined different setups, which should improve performance even further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a highly recommended trading bible, 19 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Mastering the Trade: Proven Techniques for Profiting from Intraday and Swing Trading Setups (McGraw-Hill Trader's Edge Series) (Hardcover)
John Carter is a good teacher. His book 's not only covering some of his strategies but also giving you an idea of the reason why they work [ why the markets move the way they do]. In addition to this, he gives you a business plan and a money management plan, without over optimistic forecast.

Carter is obviously not the funniest guy on earth and his book is not the easiest if you are an absolute beginner in trading. But if you take the time to study his strategies and you follow his advice, you are probably on your way to become a very good trader. His views are realistic & honnest, something rare among trading mentors & other gurus in this profession.

A recommended buy if you are committed to trading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but a chore to get through., 14 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Trade: Proven Techniques for Profiting from Intraday and Swing Trading Setups (McGraw-Hill Trader's Edge Series) (Hardcover)
I'm afraid I found this book hard work, and not the guide to mastering the trade I had hoped it would be. Firstly, it is written in what I am starting to call 'Americanese' - it's English, but not as the English know it! Like many books from the US it is written in such a way that words are used in a different way from the common understanding of their meaning. Reading some parts of this book is like listening to the ramblings of US TV sports commentators: non-stop talking, too fast, overuse and inappropriate use of acronyms, and quite often making no sense! There are some very interesting examples and strategies, but some of them are unfathomable and suitable only to US equity markets. So, UK readers be warned.

There are plenty of good tips and advice for traders, but nothing I haven't come across in other tomes on the subject. I have tried a couple of Carter's strategies but not found them to be profitable (yet). I am not saying the strategies are no good. It is more likely that I have not been applying them correctly. It takes time to get a strategy working for the trader. For me, the very worst thing about this book is the reproduction of trade charts. More often than not, the dates referred to by the author in the text are not shown on the charts or are just not clear and the reader has to guess whereabouts on the chart the precise dates the author refers to are. Same goes for price details on the other axis. Where tick charts are shown it is often impossible to see where the opening or closing price the author refers to are. Trying to follow exactly where the author says he entered and exited trades and where crucial signal points were in the charts is really hard work, and it shouldn't be. Charts should be clear, with the dates and price points referred to in the text clearly shown on the charts.

All in all, a disappointing and unsatisfactory experience for me. The sections advising would-be traders how to go about trading are interesting, and it is good to read the advice of someone who has made a career out of trading in financial markets, but as mentioned previously the same advise can be found in many other books on trading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful guide but sometimes contradictory., 25 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Trade: Proven Techniques for Profiting from Intraday and Swing Trading Setups (McGraw-Hill Trader's Edge Series) (Hardcover)
Like any guide, the author is convinced that he/she is always right. The text does detail some high probability tactics but due to the very nature of the markets, the probability is a dynamic measure. There is a good point about emotional involvement but the author contradicts himself several times as he explains emotional reactions to certain set ups. overall, a very useful guide to formulate your own strategies. Proven techniques are historical an bear no relation to the present day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop whatever you are doing and just get this book, 24 Feb 2009
By 
Renato Dall'armi (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mastering the Trade: Proven Techniques for Profiting from Intraday and Swing Trading Setups (McGraw-Hill Trader's Edge Series) (Hardcover)
This is a book focusing basically on day-trading. I found this book while looking for a review of another one and I have been convinced to investigate it by reading other reviews. As I have been disappointed too many times already with treading books, I went on first and downloaded a pdf copy of it from the net. I read a few chapters and verified the validity of Mr. Carter teaching by observing the patterns he was describing on my trading station. After two days I bought the book because the author really deserved to be remunerated for his work. The book provides you with a detailed description on how to set up a trading workstation (if you need it) and about 10 to 15 practical and concrete day trading strategies, complete with strategy description, step by step description of entry and exit points and general risk management in relation to the use of the strategy being described and a description of who gets burned and why (to take advantage of their psychology).
I found the insight of this book invaluable, it made me a trader where I mostly used to be ( now I know) a smart (but still a) pray. It also thought be what market trade (YM, ES , NQ or DIA and SPY instead of stocks) and why. The one thing I would have preferred is to have a cd with the book in pdf version as I put lots of notes on the book when I study so I prefer to study on a chapter I reprint and later going back to an immaculate original book when I just search for a reference.

I am a happy customer, trust me you will be too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best trading books out there, 11 April 2008
This review is from: Mastering the Trade: Proven Techniques for Profiting from Intraday and Swing Trading Setups (McGraw-Hill Trader's Edge Series) (Hardcover)
This book really changed my approach to trading as it gives an invaluable traders view into the world of trading. John Carter is a full-time trader and fully understands just as much about the psychological aspect of trading as the technical. He gives a fascinating 'insiders' perspective on trading, he explains why some technical tools work really well, then at other times the same tools don't work at all, what causes the markets to act in the way they do, and how to devise a trading strategy that works for you.

John Carter gives a very honest appraisal of the world of trading, with some excellent insights into trader pyschology, as well as some superb and proven technical analysis techniques that he himself uses very successfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I highly recommend it, 20 Oct 2006
This review is from: Mastering the Trade: Proven Techniques for Profiting from Intraday and Swing Trading Setups (McGraw-Hill Trader's Edge Series) (Hardcover)
This is a great book for day trading and swing trading. I have made a decent some of money just by using a few of the strategies in Carter's book. What is also brilliant about this book is the abundant number of examples that Carter uses to justify his strategies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Disciplined Read, 11 April 2012
By 
Traveller (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mastering the Trade: Proven Techniques for Profiting from Intraday and Swing Trading Setups (McGraw-Hill Trader's Edge Series) (Hardcover)
Most of the people who will read this book will simply pay it lip service before moving onto their next book, all the while looking for the 'secret' to successful trading. You only need a few books to be successful in trading, I can't say what they are because each will be as personal to the next. The real secret to trading is 'mastering yourself,' if you can't do this then you will never make a success of trading.

As long as you move from book to book you will remain in a perpetual state of motion, it is only when you stop do you begin to learn. Think of a person travelling through the City trying to get to work, it is only when they arrive at their destination do they start to become industrial, that is what their employer is paying them for. Now relate that idea to yourself and your life. You should now begin to see your 'times of industry' and the times that brought you least gain.

We can relate this further. Imagine taking the wrong train or bus to work, how will this affect your ability to be on time? Now separate each book that you have read on trading, which of those have helped your learning and those that have not. The books that have helped are the those that help you to arrive on time and those which made you late are the ones that provided least help. These are some of the exercises you can do to understand yourself, it is just the beginning of your journey.

Trading requires you to 'master yourself' due to the very nature of the work involved, this aspect should never be ignored. Good luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read....Is the second edition more of the same ?, 23 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Trade: Proven Techniques for Profiting from Intraday and Swing Trading Setups (McGraw-Hill Trader's Edge Series) (Hardcover)
One of my favourite books along side Elders books. Clear and concise and such an enjoyable and easy read. I am about to start it again but do wish that Mc Graw Hill would make more effort with the graph details as this is an unnecessary hurdle. Chapters on cash management and trading plans are invaluable. I disagree that this book is not for beginners...it would have helped me if i had read it early on in my trading career as it puts the usual tech. indicators into perspective for what they are ...indicators and not short term trading tools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews