Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.9 out of 5 stars
9
2.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2005
I received this book yesterday, I have read/studied most of the drills and they look very good. I'm currently a coach of a soon-to-be under 13's team and the drills will come in very handy for their training sessions. Of course the usual suspects of drills are in there but there's also a lot of good new drills, which I will be going over with them. The book concentrates on all aspects of developing youngsters abilities and rather than boring drills the kids will enjoy the drills in this book. There are also a few pages on goalkeeper training, which I will defiantly being using. Whether your using the book for new ideas or to recap on the basics I highly recommended this book.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2012
Uses a very traditional and out dated form of coaching that is based on results as well as development (he talks a lot about formations, positioning and clearing the ball from certain areas of the pitch as quick as possible). At the younger ages it should be only about development. Also many of the exercises are very linear and repetitive which is has no representation to the variety and richness of the real game. However on a positive note there are a few good dribbling games for ages below 8. I would not recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2011
This will not last too long on your shelf. It is very basic which is fine if you know absolutely nothing about training drills. However, if you want a book that covers the basics and then moves on this isn't the book for you. Diagrams are easy to understand and instructions are clear. Very basic info and drills!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2009
What a great guide this is. I am a parent new to football coaching and mini soccer. I found this book an invaluable insight into drills and exercises that will help develop kids footballing skills. One of the problems is that boys and girls get bored quickly doing the same routines over and over again but this book has lots of new ideas to keep the kids interested and involved. I bought the Grassroots Football - Mini Soccer 6-10 years [DVD] [2009] first, which was a great introduction to mini soccer for parents wanting to get involved, but this book covers drills and exercises and advice on general fitness in more detail.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2009
This is a decent coaching book for the price. A lot of the drills will already be familiar to you but its good to see them written down and clearly illustrated. A great buy for anyone just starting out in coaching a young football team. Probably suited to FA Level 1 coaches.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2012
The drills are really confusing, even to more experienced coaches than myself that I've shown them to. One to avoid in my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2009
this is a great book we have had loads of fun with all the children of different ages
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2010
Probably the worst football coaching book I have read. Diagrams are confusing and the descriptions are very basic and not particularly easy to follow even as an FA qualified coach. All in all a very disappointing purchase regardless of the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2009
I coach all the age groups noted in this book and i think these drills are very poorly thought out and i was very disapointed with the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse