Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but...
I am enjoying this book and finding it very helpful, but think it would be pretty scary for a complete beginner to start with. Often the reader is required to give opposites of words which are not in the text being studied, and often there are words which need to be understood in order to answer the questions, but there is no translation given. I think this is frustrating...
Published on 3 Oct 2007 by C. Caffoor

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull and poorly conceived.
Overall the texts are powerfully dull. They will take you back to your school days of being required to summon up interest in fictional teenagers and their sports and hobbies. You will have to look up the meanings of several words if you are a beginner (correct me if I am wrong but this is supposed to be an 'easy reader') and yet words whose meaning is obvious are glossed...
Published on 28 April 2012 by Iki Thomozi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but..., 3 Oct 2007
By 
C. Caffoor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Italian Reader: A Three-Part Text for Beginning Students (Easy Reader Series) (Paperback)
I am enjoying this book and finding it very helpful, but think it would be pretty scary for a complete beginner to start with. Often the reader is required to give opposites of words which are not in the text being studied, and often there are words which need to be understood in order to answer the questions, but there is no translation given. I think this is frustrating for the reader. Surely the point of a graded reader is that the student doesn't have to keep reaching for a dictionary, thus breaking the flow of the reading and learning? I am managing by ignoring the words I don't know in order to keep the flow going, as I imagine I'll pick them up at some other stage along the way. Good for very confident post-beginners or pre-intermediates onwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars italiano comprehension, 31 Aug 2007
By 
C. Adler "Study Buddy" (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Easy Italian Reader: A Three-Part Text for Beginning Students (Easy Reader Series) (Paperback)
This book is brilliant! I have just completed entry level business italian and my italian is so basic it is almost non-existent. I actually understood most of the first three exercises immediately. I would recommend keeping a dictionary by your side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginners Italian, 9 Nov 2010
This review is from: Easy Italian Reader: A Three-Part Text for Beginning Students (Easy Reader Series) (Paperback)
This is just the sort of book needed by absolute beginners. It introduces elementary Italian stage by stage and revises the crucial matter without being tedious. Crossword puzzles are included and the leverage to more advanced Italian is within gradual reach. Definitely recommended.

Easy Italian Reader:Riccarda Saggese
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull and poorly conceived., 28 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Italian Reader: A Three-Part Text for Beginning Students (Easy Reader Series) (Paperback)
Overall the texts are powerfully dull. They will take you back to your school days of being required to summon up interest in fictional teenagers and their sports and hobbies. You will have to look up the meanings of several words if you are a beginner (correct me if I am wrong but this is supposed to be an 'easy reader') and yet words whose meaning is obvious are glossed for your convenience on the facing page. In exercise six for example, the word for 'it' is glossed but the words for 'gymnasium' and 'smiling' are not. Also, it is of debatable worth to introduce such phrases as 'slightly distorted chin' this early on in a basic reading book!

It is the only book of its sort I can find (at this level) and therefore I can't recommend an alternative. This is all the book has going for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, but not exciting, 17 Sep 2009
This review is from: Easy Italian Reader: A Three-Part Text for Beginning Students (Easy Reader Series) (Paperback)
An excellent book in that it guides the post-beginner (not for total beginners) reasonably well from easy to more difficult reading text. The content, however, is (to my mind) extremely boring! It find it hard work to make myself pick the book up to read it. Have just started on "Marley & Me" in Italian - much more fun and very easy reading for someone totally uninterested in history!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great confidence reader, 27 Feb 2011
This review is from: Easy Italian Reader: A Three-Part Text for Beginning Students (Easy Reader Series) (Paperback)
The book is fantastic for everyone who has learned the elementary rules in Italian and finds it important to start gaining confidence and independence in using Italian. Greatly designed to include both every day conversations, historical facts about Rome and some initial book readings. Incredibly useful and great fun to work with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really pleased, 13 Oct 2010
By 
Mrs. P. Green (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Italian Reader: A Three-Part Text for Beginning Students (Easy Reader Series) (Paperback)
Really pleased with this book. Starts with short paragraphs so it's not too daunting, then there are a couple of little 'tests' so you can gage how you're doing but again, not so difficult that they make you want to throw the book away!! Can certainly recommend for anyone learning Italian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Italian Reader, 16 May 2010
This review is from: Easy Italian Reader: A Three-Part Text for Beginning Students (Easy Reader Series) (Paperback)
Having taken up Italain again after many years, I thought I waould like to read something. This book was ideal, simply written, but not condescending, and also inoformative. Comprehension of the section about Italian history is aided by the fact that many of the subjects are very well-known, so we are reading something familiar, but in another language. The glossary is excellent as it gives the definite article of each noun, rather than the gender, so we are reminded that sport is lo rather than il.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early Learning italian, 27 July 2009
By 
Mr. Ian Cook - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Easy Italian Reader: A Three-Part Text for Beginning Students (Easy Reader Series) (Paperback)
Good manual - I have been searching for one for a while. Promptly delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second hand but not second quality, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Italian Reader: A Three-Part Text for Beginning Students (Easy Reader Series) (Paperback)
Although I was aware that this was a used product before I purchased it I was pleased to find that this did not have any real effect on the product which looked in very good condition with only a fe pencil notes inside to indicate that it was not new. Saved a lot on buying this way so very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Easy Italian Reader: A Three-Part Text for Beginning Students (Easy Reader Series)
6.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews