Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive process for selling at the top
At first glance, this looks like a cumbersome, process-driven set of rules for selling high-value products and services. It is actually very effective.

Whilst I think it would be perfect if you sell just a few multi-million pound solutions with a sales cycle of a year or more, it is also relevant to salespeople involved in five and six figure transactions...
Published on 27 May 2006 by C. M. Perkins

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but not as good as the original
The principles are ok, but there are too many fictional anecdotal examples. However, the fictional sales timeline i.e. bibliography of a sale was pretty interesting and realistic.

Personally, I found Michael Bosworth's book to be more informative and interesting to read. Overall, if you're new to selling and in the mid-market i.e. 50k to 1m, then it's pretty...
Published 24 months ago by Dave MDM


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive process for selling at the top, 27 May 2006
By 
C. M. Perkins (Stirling, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Solution Selling: The Revolutionary Sales Process That is Changing the Way People Sell (Hardcover)
At first glance, this looks like a cumbersome, process-driven set of rules for selling high-value products and services. It is actually very effective.

Whilst I think it would be perfect if you sell just a few multi-million pound solutions with a sales cycle of a year or more, it is also relevant to salespeople involved in five and six figure transactions.

It is a very well-defined process with a number of `job aids' (forms) to help you analyse and keep track of everything. If you work on the basis that you don't need to complete every piece of paper for every opportunity, the basic premise is extremely valuable: keep control of the sale all the way through; rather than pass it to the buyer.

It also forced me to raise my game, discard some unproductive behaviours (like working on proposals for poorly qualified prospects) and focus on `selling the way buyers buy'.

For a complex sale in a political environment where decisions may be made by panels and competitive evaluations are the norm, this book is invaluable. Working out if you're `Column A' in the evaluation or `Column Fodder' is, in itself, a hugely valuable part of this process.

Two other nuggets I took from this were: focus on how success will be measured and present a `value justification' alongside your proposal pricing to demonstrate ROI (and combat cheaper competitors); and produce an Evaluation Plan for a prospect, saying `here's how you can judge if we'll provide the right solution for you and here are all the go/no go gateways we'll pass through together before you finally commit to implement'. Whilst this is a little out of my comfort zone it certainly does keep you in control and I've had many examples from colleagues that it's highly effective.

To pull everything together the book ends with a `Getting Started' section that helps to implement these ideas. To complement Solution Selling, I'd also recommend Paul DiModica's `Value Forward Selling: How to Sell to Management' as a very practical guide to operating at top level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed With Knowledge!, 1 Dec 2004
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Solution Selling: The Revolutionary Sales Process That is Changing the Way People Sell (Hardcover)
This is a useful guide to one of the hottest subjects in sales: selling solutions, not products. Author Keith M. Eades offers a methodical, step-by-step approach to implementing a conversational approach to selling. The principles underlying "solution selling" are simple and straightforward, and the process is hard to fault, although it demands a great deal of record keeping and charting. The author's explanation of the procedures gets a bit mechanical and jargon-riddled at times. But on the whole, we believe every salesperson is apt to find something of value in this book, even if it's a reminder of what once was known but has been forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Sales Process ?, 22 Feb 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Solution Selling: The Revolutionary Sales Process That is Changing the Way People Sell (Hardcover)
I generally avoid sales books - they can be patronising and promise the earth without delivering content. This book is different - it is a straightforward step by step sales process. It is full of content and provides lots of ideas and sales tools to plan and monitor your sales process. It is well written and full of great thinking. Be aware though it is a sales process, aimed at big ticket sales. It is clearly written in a no nonsense style. It is not a sales motivation piece; and it is not full of psychological tricks; or double-back-loop closing techniques. I like it for that reason. It aims to make selling a well planned and managed logical profession, not some black art for over-slick wide boys (and girls). Many of the tools and ideas can be adapted to suit smaller businesses too. Recommended if you want a well structured sales process for your business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent Book, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is well structured, easy to read and follow and a good reference book. It reminded me that I knew a lot more about solution selling then I thought. I would recommend it for any professional sales person looking to improve their skills or for someone new to selling looking to put structure on their chosen profession
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb., 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Solution Selling: The Revolutionary Sales Process That is Changing the Way People Sell (Hardcover)
After reading a number of popular sales books, the fact I devoured 200+ pages of this on first read within 24 hours says it all. Excellent structure and process for beginners and seasoned sales professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very workable approach for selling consultancy, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Solution Selling: The Revolutionary Sales Process That is Changing the Way People Sell (Hardcover)
Selling consultancy is really about providing solutions of high value to the customer, making a profit then follows from successful projects. The book breaks the selling process into doable and logical chunks of work, where key to success is to listen to the customer's need and wants, and understand the customers' pain point. From there the consultant can start proposing suitable solutions and adapt to the customer. No super-sales pitching, just keeping the customer i focus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for solution sales person, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Solution Selling: The Revolutionary Sales Process That is Changing the Way People Sell (Hardcover)
I just read few chapters of this book and find very interesting. Good sales methodology if you are in solution selling business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful insights, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a easy book to read, lots matrices etc to understand, but the principles are priceless.... Truly insightful. Recommend completely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars packed with useful information, great food-for-thought, a classic, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Solution Selling: The Revolutionary Sales Process That is Changing the Way People Sell (Hardcover)
I've been in IT Sales for about 20 years. "The New Solution Sellling" gives thorough insights and great suggestions for effective ways of working.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but not as good as the original, 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Solution Selling: The Revolutionary Sales Process That is Changing the Way People Sell (Hardcover)
The principles are ok, but there are too many fictional anecdotal examples. However, the fictional sales timeline i.e. bibliography of a sale was pretty interesting and realistic.

Personally, I found Michael Bosworth's book to be more informative and interesting to read. Overall, if you're new to selling and in the mid-market i.e. 50k to 1m, then it's pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews