Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with Knowledge !
Six Sigma books often couch their wisdom in acronyms or jargon, or they offer vague, unfulfilling anecdotal narratives. This book is different. As trim, focused and efficient as if a Six Sigma team had designed it, it gets the job done. Its mission is simple: explain the basic structure of Lean Six Sigma initiatives to readers who are likely to become involved in one...
Published on 18 Mar 2005 by Rolf Dobelli

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Now what? What can I do with it?
This book in nothing more than a set of articles about Lean Six Sigma implementation cases. It does not tell you much on how to implement it, how to approach real life problems, what tools to use in different situations. This is only a soft read to get acquainted with "Lean Six Sigma". If you are looking for something that can really help you applying these principles on...
Published on 9 Dec 2007 by J. Carvalho


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with Knowledge !, 18 Mar 2005
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What is Lean Six Sigma (Paperback)
Six Sigma books often couch their wisdom in acronyms or jargon, or they offer vague, unfulfilling anecdotal narratives. This book is different. As trim, focused and efficient as if a Six Sigma team had designed it, it gets the job done. Its mission is simple: explain the basic structure of Lean Six Sigma initiatives to readers who are likely to become involved in one. While select case studies are judiciously sprinkled throughout, this is a meat-and-potatoes book that tells you what you need to know in clear, straightforward prose. Although the authors - Mike George, Dave Rowlands and Bill Kastle - humbly issue the caveat that this is not intended to be a comprehensive reference, its terse yet relevant style will probably make it one of those dog-eared volumes that barely gets back to the HR bookshelf before it's checked out again. Because of its plainspoken functionality, we recommend this manual strongly to anyone whose future may involve Lean Six Sigma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An accelerated explanation of how to produce more and better results, in less time, and at a lower cost, 15 May 2007
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What is Lean Six Sigma (Paperback)
It seems eminently appropriate that a book which explains what Lean Six Sigma is (and isn't) should exemplify the same principles it addresses: It delights its reader with the speed by which its material is covered and with the quality of that material, it offers immediate help with mastering whatever the given process (or processes) may be, its authors work effectively with their reader to achieve the desired objectives within that reader's organization, and they prepare their reader to make better decisions, based on verifiable data.

Many people who consider purchasing it may be deterred by terms such Six Sigma and Lean which tend to be associated only with immensely large and complicated organizations such as GE and Motorola. In fact, authors Michael L. George, David Rowlands, and Bill Kastle include a number of mini-case studies throughout their narrative that suggest how decision-makers in almost any organization (regardless of size or nature) can apply Lean Six Sigma to produce more and better results, in less time, and at a lower cost if (huge "if") there are leadership at the top of the given organization, buy-in and sustained commitment at all levels and in all areas, sufficient resources, and accurate and consistent performance measurement.

For me, some of the most valuable material is provided in Chapter 8, "Making Improvements That Last." After explaining the Define-Measure-Analyze-Improve-Control (DMAIC) process, the authors make skillful use of various "Figures" that serve two separate but related purposes: they highlight key points, and, they facilitate, indeed expedite frequent review of those points later. For example, Figure 8.1: Sample Project Charter that demonstrates how to capture the essence of a Lean Six Sigma project. It describes what the team should accomplish, who will work on the project (and in what roles), timelines and other key information. Then with Figure 8.3: Value Stream Map, the authors indicate with the example provided how the value stream map, based on an actual process, captures the main sequence of activities in the boxes across the top line. If executed with rigor and discipline, the DMAIC process offers a framework for effective collaboration that will reveal real solutions to root problems.

Those who share my high regard for this book are urged to check out James P. Womack and Daniel T. Jones's Lean Thinking: Banish Waste and Create Wealth in Your Corporation and their more recent book, Lean Solutions: How Companies and Customers Can Create Value and Wealth Together. Also, Michael George's Lean Six Sigma for Service: How to Use Lean Speed and Six Sigma Quality to Improve Services and Transactions, The Lean Six Sigma Pocket Toolbook: A Quick Reference Guide to 100 Tools for Improving Quality and Speed (with John Maxey and David T. Rowlands) and Fast Innovation: Achieving Superior Differentiation, Speed to Market, and Increased Profitability (with James Works, and Kimberly Watson-Hemphill).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy read and a good introduction to LSS, 31 July 2008
This review is from: What is Lean Six Sigma (Paperback)
My qualifications for buying this book were:

I knew nothing about Lean
I knew nothing about Six Sigma
I was head of CMMI implementation for my dept and another neighbouring dept was taking Lean Six Sigma

So I bought the book and read it.

I now know enough about Lean Six Sigma to (a) tell the difference between Lean and Six Sigma (b) incorporate its requirements into my implementation plans (c) give a presentation to my dept on what the other department is doing and (d) enough to discuss LSS over lunch (pass an interview?) with LSS experts.

For me, the 17 Eur I paid at the airport and the few hours it took to read and make some notes were time and money well spent. The book is not enough to implement six sigma yourself, for that you need to spend a lot more but it is perfect for familiarising the novice. It is also, thank god, readable. Examples abound in the book, they're all a `bit American' but don't worry about that, the substance was spot on for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read and very helpful, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good overview for any executive considering to support them in understanding the fundamentals of Lean Six Sigma and that a solid method and approach with statistical analysis to back the approach must be a good thing. Now onto finding the relevant books for the exams and look for an appropriate project/ or invent one and get buy in from a potential client. Thanks it was really insightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Basic Introduction, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What is Lean Six Sigma (Paperback)
This is an excellent basic, uncomplicated introduction to Lean Six Sigma. Topics are explained using examples from both manufacturing and service industries. I would recommend it as a starting point for anyone who wants to get into the subject area or wants to clarify their understanding of what it is. I would also recommend following it up with some of Georges more in depth books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, 27 Oct 2013
By 
JHvW "JHvW" (Pays Bas, Europe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What is Lean Six Sigma (Paperback)
If you want to familiarize yourself with lean six sigma this is a nice little book. It is written as a pamphlet expounding the virtues of LSS in a way which Americans will find familiar. It made me decide that I want nothing to do with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written and explained, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book, not too much detail (this is not the purpose of the book), however sufficient to give the reader an understanding of LSS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview, 24 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What is Lean Six Sigma (Paperback)
I really liked this short and well written book and would recommend people use it to help educate teams starting out on Lean 6 Sigma programmes. It's the sort of book that you can read in 4 hrs and it is pretty good value via Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent intro to Lean Six Sigma, 20 Feb 2012
This review is from: What is Lean Six Sigma (Paperback)
I bought this book as I wanted to get a grasp on the lean six sigma approach.
This book certainly delivers as a basis to understand the processes and tools to use lean six sigma and to even hold your own in a discussion on the topic.
After reading this book, I feel I have a good foundation to build on to learn more in depth on this subject as well as answer interview questions should they arise.
A definite must read for those like myself who are new to Lean Six Sigma, for those more experienced with LSS they may find this book useful as a refresher to the basic fundamentals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must read book for anyone involved with LSS, 21 Mar 2011
This review is from: What is Lean Six Sigma (Paperback)
very short and objective book. a must read for anyone involved or planning to be involved with Lean Six Sigma. a perfect starter for rookies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What is Lean Six Sigma
What is Lean Six Sigma by Bill Kastle (Paperback - 1 Nov 2003)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews