Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended!
If you are a new manager, aspire to a managerial position or recently promoted an employee to a managerial or supervisory position, we suggest this manual as required reading. In fact, every new manager should be given a copy of the book along with the promotion. Too often great employees are promoted without any concept of the new skill set required to succeed as a...
Published on 1 Dec 2004 by Rolf Dobelli

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This is ok
If I'd read some of the book I may not have bought it. I kept the book to refer to when I need to.
Published 7 months ago by NVQ Assessor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended!, 1 Dec 2004
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Manager's Handbook: 24 Lessons for Mastering Your New Role (McGraw-Hill Professional Education Series) (Paperback)
If you are a new manager, aspire to a managerial position or recently promoted an employee to a managerial or supervisory position, we suggest this manual as required reading. In fact, every new manager should be given a copy of the book along with the promotion. Too often great employees are promoted without any concept of the new skill set required to succeed as a manager or supervisor. This handbook clearly identifies the new competencies needed and explains how to develop or acquire them. Author Morey Stettner also pinpoints many of the common mistakes new managers make - and tells you how to avoid them. Anyone studying business management in college also should read this book, since it provides good, practical "in the trenches" advice that's hard to find in textbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 10 Mar 2010
This review is from: The New Manager's Handbook: 24 Lessons for Mastering Your New Role (McGraw-Hill Professional Education Series) (Paperback)
Why couldn't all advice books be like this one? At only around 50 pages in length, this could be considered more of a pamphlet than a book, but the advice is solid and very helpful. The author has clearly boiled down the essentials of being a good manager without padding it out endlessly (as so many authors do). One of the better advice guides I've come across aimed at new managers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good guide for managers, 16 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: The New Manager's Handbook: 24 Lessons for Mastering Your New Role (McGraw-Hill Professional Education Series) (Paperback)
I liked this book. It's succinct, to the point and can be read in just a couple of hours (max). What's more, the messages are spot on!

Each chapter has only three pages (that's unique) and concludes with three tips for implementing the idea or topic. It's well written and covers the majority of things a new manager should consider.

I very much like the starting point of the book "Give Feedback". And Stettner is talking about giving praise, not criticism (giving criticism only comes toward the end of the book). This is a great way for a new manager to set a positive example to the people he or she is going to manage. The second chapter is about "How to make the best of bad news), something that the new manager is most likely to encounter very early in the new role. The book topics flow nicely from there, including some great tips on how to impress your boss.

If you are looking for a short, introductory book on the topic of management, or perhaps as a gift for someone who has just been promoted, this book would be ideal. For the serious student of management, it would go well as a primer to be followed by a more detailed book later.

Bob Selden, author What To Do When You Become The Boss: How New Managers Become Successful Managers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concise and pertinent advice, 5 Mar 2010
By 
G. Fraser (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Manager's Handbook: 24 Lessons for Mastering Your New Role (McGraw-Hill Professional Education Series) (Paperback)
Having been dismayed by the 'Making Teams Work' book in the same series, I was apprehensive about this book but was pleasantly surprised by it.

The handbook provides concise and pertinent guidance that most managers, not just new ones, will find useful. It keeps a firm focus on helping employees to better themselves which is, after all, what a good manager should strive for.

As a manager myself I gained new knowledge from this book and would recommend it to other managers who want to improve their skills for the benefit of their staff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Manager's Handbook: 24 Lessons for Mastering Your New Role (McGraw-Hill Professional Education Series) (Paperback)
Great book very helpful for someone who has just been given a promotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This is ok, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Manager's Handbook: 24 Lessons for Mastering Your New Role (McGraw-Hill Professional Education Series) (Paperback)
If I'd read some of the book I may not have bought it. I kept the book to refer to when I need to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's an ok book for new managers as a start. I would suggest reading this book alongside others that go into more detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful book. quick posting, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Manager's Handbook: 24 Lessons for Mastering Your New Role (McGraw-Hill Professional Education Series) (Paperback)
Very Good book to read, very helpful. Quick to flick through at a glance. good value for money. thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worth every penny, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was really worth reading before starting a new job. Now I think I'm ready for it. Get it get on top of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect introductory book for all new managers!, 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Manager's Handbook: 24 Lessons for Mastering Your New Role (McGraw-Hill Professional Education Series) (Paperback)
Bought this to help to guide me before a promotion.

Handy tips delivered in bite sized segments: it's basic but very useful.

Practical information and guidance for any new manager. A must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews