Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humorous and educational
My first exposure to game theory was dry and somewhat boring to say the least. So congratulations to James Miller for making it a laugh a minute (almost) without losing the value of the discipline.
I especially enjoyed the game theory proofs of why the Mafia enjoys a competitive advantage in crime, and why smokers are, ceteris paribus, less trustworthy than...
Published on 3 May 2004 by Mr. Christopher Fox

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting diagrams - some items are just common sense
Interesting introduction to game theory. The examples used fit basic business common sense to the maths rather than showing anything particularly new. Perhaps if I was younger and had not already come across the situations then they might have been more exciting. Still an interesting read.
Published on 17 Nov. 2012 by Mr. AJ Welch


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humorous and educational, 3 May 2004
This review is from: Game Theory at Work: How to Use Game Theory to Outthink and Outmaneuver Your Competition (Hardcover)
My first exposure to game theory was dry and somewhat boring to say the least. So congratulations to James Miller for making it a laugh a minute (almost) without losing the value of the discipline.
I especially enjoyed the game theory proofs of why the Mafia enjoys a competitive advantage in crime, and why smokers are, ceteris paribus, less trustworthy than non-smokers.
This is not a book aimed at those doing there PhD in economics, but rather one aimed at ordinary- and business-people looking for a new slant on everyday problems related in an easy to understand and enjoyable fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction - slightly uneven style, 5 Jun. 2007
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Theory at Work: How to Use Game Theory to Outthink and Outmaneuver Your Competition (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this as a not too serious introduction to the subject that would inform me without my needing to think too hard. Having said that there are a few test questions to check if you are paying attention, and a few passages needed some re-reading before they sank in.

As to constructive criticisms; the book seemed clearly derived from lecture notes at times; not all topics were treated with the same depth. More fundamentally the concept seems to provide a good descriptive language that can be used retrospectively, it seems less able to give a compelling predictive model.

Best for me were the prisoner's dilemma, explanations of differential pricing and how to select your next employer (no hints - read it and find out!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice try, 25 July 2010
This review is from: Game Theory at Work: How to Use Game Theory to Outthink and Outmaneuver Your Competition (Hardcover)
This is a witty and lightweight approach on game theory. What would have improved the book significantly would have been a bit more structure rather than one chapter following another without any obvious structure that might have helped us getting an overview of the topic. Nevertheless, the book is definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buying this book is a dominant strategy., 18 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Game Theory at Work: How to Use Game Theory to Outthink and Outmaneuver Your Competition (Hardcover)
I haven't enjoyed a non-fiction book so much for a long time. The subject matter is fascinating, surprising and laid out with clarity. Best of all, the author has a very engaging, dark and deadpan sense of humour that makes it all eminently readable. It really is a pleasure to read! The internal strucutre of the chapters is piecemeal at times, but this hardly detracts from what is a great book for newcomers to the topic like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting diagrams - some items are just common sense, 17 Nov. 2012
By 
Mr. AJ Welch (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Theory at Work: How to Use Game Theory to Outthink and Outmaneuver Your Competition (Hardcover)
Interesting introduction to game theory. The examples used fit basic business common sense to the maths rather than showing anything particularly new. Perhaps if I was younger and had not already come across the situations then they might have been more exciting. Still an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Game Theory, 8 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Game Theory at Work: How to Use Game Theory to Outthink and Outmaneuver Your Competition (Hardcover)
As a novice to game theory i thought this book was exceptional!

It gave clear practical examples of the application game theory in everyday life, in addition to giving the reasoning and clear logical arguments in support.

A very good book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really?..., 5 Jun. 2013
An author who can't even spell the title of his own book?

Welcome to the world of kindle, ladies and gentlemen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Game Theory at Work: How to Use Game Theory to Outthink and Outmaneuver Your Competition
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews