Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for the novice or the experienced.
I have been a bricklayer for 18 years and thought that there was little that I did not know how to do. This book is very clear and easy to follow and even with my experience I found that I learned a thing or two. It is well illustrated and the text is clear and straightforward, I now recommended it to my apprentices.
Published on 25 Mar. 2005

versus
51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bricklaying
This book was written by an Australian and it shows! The text is concise and potentially hard to follow as a result of its brevity although there are many clear diagrams. Many of the techniques covered are not really relevent to UK building practices eg pipework in cavity walls, and dimensions are imperial and may not correspond to UK material sizes.
The easy going...
Published on 25 Jan. 2003 by S. Rummens


Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bricklaying, 25 Jan. 2003
By 
S. Rummens (birmingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bricklaying (Paperback)
This book was written by an Australian and it shows! The text is concise and potentially hard to follow as a result of its brevity although there are many clear diagrams. Many of the techniques covered are not really relevent to UK building practices eg pipework in cavity walls, and dimensions are imperial and may not correspond to UK material sizes.
The easy going style of the author is refreshing and the long section of BBQ designs was all too predictable, cobbers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok with Fosters Lager, 23 Oct. 2007
By 
Z. L. Richards "Daza" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bricklaying (Paperback)
There's a lot in this book and the author obviously knows his trade but he's Australian. I purchased this book for the concrete block section in readiness for my garage build. In this respect the book is useless and discusses non UK block sizes. I agree with the first review here, if in the UK look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It is stretching a point to suggest that this book is suitable for novices, 1 Mar. 2009
By 
ReviewMan "Large" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bricklaying (Paperback)
Current building regulations here in the UK would almost certainly make the contents of this book redundant here. In addition, the book is poorly written and hence, confusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for the novice or the experienced., 25 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bricklaying (Paperback)
I have been a bricklayer for 18 years and thought that there was little that I did not know how to do. This book is very clear and easy to follow and even with my experience I found that I learned a thing or two. It is well illustrated and the text is clear and straightforward, I now recommended it to my apprentices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to brickwork, 20 Feb. 2011
By 
Meirion Williams (Neath:South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bricklaying (Paperback)
This is an excellent introduction to brickwork.A no nonsense style of of writting helps to get you straight to the various techniques.Although the author is Austrailian brickwork is brickwork the various building regulations change all the time.All measurements are in metric & imperial(us) standards.Some of the methods are for the bigger project but overall you can glean an awful lot of information for your garden wall type of job.A nice little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's American, 7 Dec. 2007
By 
R. Rodway - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bricklaying (Paperback)
I am a builder and bought this book to help imporve my brickwork and blockwork skills. It did not. It is American and does not 'translate well'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bricklayer 5yrs, 30 Dec. 2005
This review is from: Bricklaying (Paperback)
Reading this book taught me loads, while learning bricklaying it seemed like nobody wants to show you anything.Reading this book cover to cover gave me the edge in this highly competitive trade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bricklaying, 22 Mar. 2010
By 
Mr. R. Swift "swifty" (east yorkshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bricklaying (Paperback)
still reading this but i'll use it as i'm working and finding it very usefull
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bricklaying (Paperback)
Very informitve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bricklaying
Bricklaying by Peter Cartwright (Paperback - 1 April 2002)
£20.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews