Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first choice for an undergraduate thermodynamics course.
While writing this book professors Cengel and Boles had a firm philosophy: talk directly to the minds of tomorrow's engineers in a simple, yet precise manner in order to encourage creative thinking, and the development of a deeper understanding of the subject matter. The popularity of the first two editions stand as a proof that they not only achieved this objective, but...
Published on 3 Mar. 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars DVD is awful
The textbook itself is fair but the DVD of which it makes so much is a clunky and limited resource which should be much improved or removed.
Published 23 months ago by John Goodfellow


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first choice for an undergraduate thermodynamics course., 3 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
While writing this book professors Cengel and Boles had a firm philosophy: talk directly to the minds of tomorrow's engineers in a simple, yet precise manner in order to encourage creative thinking, and the development of a deeper understanding of the subject matter. The popularity of the first two editions stand as a proof that they not only achieved this objective, but also wrote a book that many colleges all over the world are now using as the main textbook for their Thermodynamics courses.
This book covers all topics of Classical Thermodynamics in a very deep and friendly way, being the perfect choice for a undergraduate college thermodynamics course, and also for a reference book to be used throughout a entire mechanical engineer's professional life.
The students, who usually dread the experience of studying Thermodynamics, will be surprised, as well as many teachers, to discover how simple this amazing - and essential - subject is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wish i read it more during the year, 11 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book because the reading list said so and had it on my self all year and when it came round to the weeks before exams i was looking in it to see if explained some stuff. i wish i had done it at the start of the year makes stuff easy to understand and it is easy to read as well. unlike some notes you get given at uni it doesn't cram information into each sentence so it is easy to read if you are just a bit bored and geek like me. If you end up not liking it you can always use it as door stop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommendable, 18 Feb. 2008
By 
J. Munro - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Compared to my other textbooks related to mechanics, this is by far the most comprehensive and easiest to understand, if only i could find something as good for my other subjects. If studying Thermodynamics, this certainly makes studying less stressful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Jan. 2010
This book has everything you need to know about thermodynamics and explains it in very clear terms. It also goes it to detail for the more difficult aspects making it suitable for final year students as well. All in all it is a very good book and a must buy for any mechanical engineering student. Also there are questions in the book allowing you to practice different types of questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very helpful, 12 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
i had to use this book for a course i did. it was very well written and extremely helpful. will suggest this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good textbook, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thermodynamics (Asia Adaptation): An Engineering Approach with Student Resource DVD (Paperback)
Great thermodynamics book. Lots of cross over between what's taught at uni, and i found a fair few of examples used appear in here as well. Will give you a good understanding of the subject, much more than any course can give you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just amazing, 16 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is amazingly well-written making it very easy follow and giving you a great understanding on it's subject. Please somebody put this book on a prerequisite list for drivers license around the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saved 20 quid on here,was still in the cellophane when it arrived.Really worth its considering students have to pay an extortionate amount of money for text books these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect! Really easy to understand book, full of examples and figures., 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thermodynamics (Asia Adaptation): An Engineering Approach with Student Resource DVD (Paperback)
Perfect! Really easy to understand book, full of examples and figures. I definitely recommend this book to every engineering who is enrolled in a thermodynamics course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars DVD is awful, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thermodynamics (Asia Adaptation): An Engineering Approach with Student Resource DVD (Paperback)
The textbook itself is fair but the DVD of which it makes so much is a clunky and limited resource which should be much improved or removed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thermodynamics (Asia Adaptation): An Engineering Approach with Student Resource DVD
Used & New from: £17.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews