Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
A great book for discrete mathematics. Very explanatory and very useful. It is very easy to read. Also very good examples and homework for the reader.
Published on 25 Mar. 2012 by Elias Obeid

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stay clear
Decent book with generally good explanations and examples. Unfortunately. some sections are a let down, in particular the sections on functions and sequences where the descriptions were really awful.

The poor sections on their own might make me think of recommending the book "Discrete Mathematics with Applications" instead of this one. Unfortunately there is...
Published on 13 Jan. 2013 by C. Jack


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stay clear, 13 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Discrete Mathematics and its Applications (Paperback)
Decent book with generally good explanations and examples. Unfortunately. some sections are a let down, in particular the sections on functions and sequences where the descriptions were really awful.

The poor sections on their own might make me think of recommending the book "Discrete Mathematics with Applications" instead of this one. Unfortunately there is another larger issue which is that to get the even numbered solutions you need to buy the instructors guide. That's annoying but its even worse that you also have to buy a student solutions guide if you wanted extended solutions and extra info related to odd numbered questions.

I can see they want to have some questions that students don't have the answers too but they should also accept not everyone reading this will be doing it as part of a university course and the exercises and the solutions and their descriptions are a key part of the material. I thus think they should give all the solutions and if they want to give instructors further questions/answers then they should do that separately.

Combine sometimes poor explanations with a lack of properly worked through exercises and you have a book that its impossible to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 25 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Discrete Mathematics and its Applications (Paperback)
A great book for discrete mathematics. Very explanatory and very useful. It is very easy to read. Also very good examples and homework for the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not much I can say..., 15 Dec. 2011
By 
D. J. Rodgers "Dansgalaxy" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Discrete Mathematics and its Applications (Paperback)
Not much I can say about this, it's what part of my Computer Science course is based around and provides a really nice clear way of laying out mathematical formula and can explain it in a way you can understand.

Good structure and a great tool when studying Discrete Mathematics and it's applications (as you might expect from a book titled such).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great textbook, 11 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Discrete Mathematics and its Applications (Paperback)
I have used this book as my primary Foundations of Computing text during the first year of Computer Science studies. It is very well structured, all the concepts are explained thoroughly with plenty of examples. The first chapters on logic and proof techniques are particularly good. To put it in a single word - excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Discrete Mathematics and its Applications (Paperback)
Met the description perfectly (I purchased a second hand copy) good book to accompany my fundamentals of computing module at university
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars missing pages, 8 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Discrete Mathematics and its Applications (Paperback)
The book i received had several pages missing and then repeats some pages. All in all a very poor quality product, would not recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Discrete Mathematics and its Applications
Discrete Mathematics and its Applications by Kenneth H Rosen (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2006)
Used & New from: £8.27
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews