Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to econometrics. Highly recommended
I used this book as a starting point for my econometrics courses for my MSc. I've never done econometrics and not much statistics before. It contains a surprising amount of detail and though can sometimes be a bit lacking in places (the more advanced topics which you probably wouldnt look for in an intro book like this anyway. so kudos for NOT covering them in detail!)...
Published on 2 May 2002

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not particularly concise
This book is quite good for beginners in econometrics. It contains all the necessary beginner material, and more besides. However, it falls down on the fact that it fails to give precise explanations. It will explain something, then restate it, then restate it a different way and then another completely different way for good measure - this can be extremely confusing...
Published on 1 Oct 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to econometrics. Highly recommended, 2 May 2002
By A Customer
I used this book as a starting point for my econometrics courses for my MSc. I've never done econometrics and not much statistics before. It contains a surprising amount of detail and though can sometimes be a bit lacking in places (the more advanced topics which you probably wouldnt look for in an intro book like this anyway. so kudos for NOT covering them in detail!) its an excellent text. Highly recommended as a text book for beginners or as a reference to all and sundry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introductory econometrics textbook, 25 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Basic Econometrics 4/e (Paperback)
This textbook comes with many "real" examples which allow readers to learn and realize the applications of econometric techniques. It also gives an introduction to panel data and time series methods which are very common in empirical works, but not covered by many introductory textbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners, 5 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Basic Econometrics (Hardcover)
I used this book while I was a student of the Delhi School of Economics. This is the ideal book to start your studies of Econometrics. Infact, I would recommend reading this book before moving on to any area related to Econometrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice inroduction to econometrics!, 20 Nov 2002
This book could be very useful for students who don't have strong econometric knowledges but are interested in a complete (but superficial) overview of the main topics in econometrics. The simple and clear language used by the author and the number of example suggested represent the most important advanteges of this book. I wouldn't suggest this book to postgraduate students who are already familiar with classical linear model and estimatin's problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A top class, comprehensible book for a difficult subject, 3 July 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Basic Econometrics (Hardcover)
Gujarati succeeds in making this subject interesting, given the difficult nature of the subject. For the less mathematically minded among us (including myself), the algebra and proofs are simple to follow in the brilliant appendices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not particularly concise, 1 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Basic Econometrics 4/e (Paperback)
This book is quite good for beginners in econometrics. It contains all the necessary beginner material, and more besides. However, it falls down on the fact that it fails to give precise explanations. It will explain something, then restate it, then restate it a different way and then another completely different way for good measure - this can be extremely confusing for novices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good book to learn econometrics, 4 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Basic Econometrics (Hardcover)
Usually econometric terms and its implications should be not clear for people who haven't studied economics. This book saves to beginers students and people interested in economics, a lot of work on reading. We used this book, 3 years and have been a great helpful for my job, and teaching. All our universities uses Prof. Gujarati's book in courses of Econometrics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is currently my senior econometrics class textbook, 29 Mar 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Basic Econometrics (Hardcover)
This book makes econometrics easy, and explains the theories that are actually behind the applications. Very good reading, even if you choose not to involve yourself in much math.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a excellent book for learning basic econometrics., 8 Dec 1996
By A Customer
This review is from: Basic Econometrics (Hardcover)
This book give us a clear concept for econometrics. It fits economical and non-economical students. It also fits undergraduate and graduate students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST BOOK EVER!!!!, 7 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Econometrics (Hardcover)
I JUST WANNA SAY THAT THIS BOOK IS THE BEST. GUJARATI HAS EVERYTHING INSIDE AND IT IS SO EASY TO READ. I HAVE READ A LOT OF BOOKS FOR ECONOMETRICS AND THIS IS THE ONE THAT MAKE ME TO UNDERSTAND EVERYTHING. I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE. ENJOY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Basic Econometrics
Basic Econometrics by Damodar Gujarati (Paperback - 1 May 2002)
Used & New from: 6.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews