Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars21
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 January 2001
Never before have I come across a body of text that has provided not only the tools for academic success within the subject, but inspiration for taking my own work to new levels through the intensive research Bordwell & Thompson have gone through. In my own studies 'Film Art' has been an inspiration and the summarisation of other works within it has meant less time needed on reading and more can be concentrated on putting pen to paper. A rare theoretical must-have.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2011
Bought this second hand. Arrived promptly and in excellent condition. This text book is an absolute must have for all film students. Informative chapters on editing, lighting and mis en scene. Detailed examples are provided to assist your understanding. Great value for money
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2010
If you are studying film or moving image at university you really need to buy this book- it will be helpful throughout your degree. It is a classic in introducing the study of film form. It's comprehensive, written in clear English (very little confusing jargon),has superb illustrations, and this ninth edition brings it bang up to date. So it is worth the relatively high cost. Check out David Bordwell's blog for more film discussion.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2010
This book has been extremely helpful to me. It covers the basics and is easy to follow. The references to films made it even more helpful. A great buy. Would recommend.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
As the title says, its the best. You wouldn't necessarily need the most recent edition unless your after more up to date examples and different information, but fundamentally this is great. Authored by the most well known authors this book will most definitely see you to a first class degree.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
I first encountered Film Art on my degree course and found it to be an invaluable source of information. Decades later I wanted to read it again and found the updated version just as useful and engaging. For anyone who loves film, this is a fascinating read, expertly written and full of examples from cinema around the world. The fact that I could pick up a copy second hand so cheaply was excellent - a new copy will set you back over £70.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2011
Over the years Film Art has been re-written and updated to keep it relevant. It still offers an excellent overview of the main elements of Film Studies with classic and contemporary examples. It's easy to understand, but by no means simplistic. Use of photos is very good and a really helpful glossary is included.

UEA used to have as their set undergraduate text book; I hope they still do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2011
Definitly a great book. Another's not expected from David Bordwell. Anyway, I wont rate this item with 5 stars, just because the book's not hard covered. At least I expected that, for this price, the book had a better graphic detail. About the seller, nothing to say. I ordered the book one day, 4 days later, it was arrived! ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
Very useful as i needed this for film studies at uni and this was one of the core books i needed. Anyone interested in film will find this book very interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
Received book has completely met my expectations. Simply love it. The content is very useful and interesting in the same time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)