Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Academic, illustrative and informative
Never before have I come across a body of text that has provided not only the tools for academic success within the subject, but inspiration for taking my own work to new levels through the intensive research Bordwell & Thompson have gone through. In my own studies 'Film Art' has been an inspiration and the summarisation of other works within it has meant less time...
Published on 5 Jan. 2001

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete
Be careful about purchasing this book. It is, when bought new, supposed to come with a tutorial CD. When purchased, supposedly new, from Amazon it does not come with this CD. Support services cannot provide one if you ask.
It's a good book - but if you're spending the money, you want to receive the whole product. Buy it elsewhere.
Published on 25 Nov. 2010 by R. M. Francis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Academic, illustrative and informative, 5 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Film Art 6/e (Paperback)
Never before have I come across a body of text that has provided not only the tools for academic success within the subject, but inspiration for taking my own work to new levels through the intensive research Bordwell & Thompson have gone through. In my own studies 'Film Art' has been an inspiration and the summarisation of other works within it has meant less time needed on reading and more can be concentrated on putting pen to paper. A rare theoretical must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Condition, 18 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this second hand. Arrived promptly and in excellent condition. This text book is an absolute must have for all film students. Informative chapters on editing, lighting and mis en scene. Detailed examples are provided to assist your understanding. Great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable for film and moving image students (9th Edn, 2010), 12 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are studying film or moving image at university you really need to buy this book- it will be helpful throughout your degree. It is a classic in introducing the study of film form. It's comprehensive, written in clear English (very little confusing jargon),has superb illustrations, and this ninth edition brings it bang up to date. So it is worth the relatively high cost. Check out David Bordwell's blog for more film discussion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good resource!, 8 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has been extremely helpful to me. It covers the basics and is easy to follow. The references to films made it even more helpful. A great buy. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book in the World, 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Film Art: An Introduction (Paperback)
As the title says, its the best. You wouldn't necessarily need the most recent edition unless your after more up to date examples and different information, but fundamentally this is great. Authored by the most well known authors this book will most definitely see you to a first class degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Book, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first encountered Film Art on my degree course and found it to be an invaluable source of information. Decades later I wanted to read it again and found the updated version just as useful and engaging. For anyone who loves film, this is a fascinating read, expertly written and full of examples from cinema around the world. The fact that I could pick up a copy second hand so cheaply was excellent - a new copy will set you back over £70.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you study film, buy it, 8 April 2011
By 
T. Edwards "TED29" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Over the years Film Art has been re-written and updated to keep it relevant. It still offers an excellent overview of the main elements of Film Studies with classic and contemporary examples. It's easy to understand, but by no means simplistic. Use of photos is very good and a really helpful glossary is included.

UEA used to have as their set undergraduate text book; I hope they still do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, 27 Aug. 2011
Definitly a great book. Another's not expected from David Bordwell. Anyway, I wont rate this item with 5 stars, just because the book's not hard covered. At least I expected that, for this price, the book had a better graphic detail. About the seller, nothing to say. I ordered the book one day, 4 days later, it was arrived! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very useful as i needed this for film studies at uni and this was one of the core books i needed. Anyone interested in film will find this book very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it., 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Received book has completely met my expectations. Simply love it. The content is very useful and interesting in the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Film Art: An Introduction
Film Art: An Introduction by Kristin Thompson (Paperback - 1 Feb. 1993)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews