Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 60 years on, it's still the definitive guide
I thought I had aeroplane control sussed as a student. A bit rough at the edges and things occasionally happened that I wasn't quite expecting, but good enough and nothing dangerous... Until I read this book.
Langewiesche has writtten a masterpeice on the "art" of flying and is still compulsive reading after 60 years in print. His references are occasionally quaint,...
Published on 30 Dec 2003 by stevieb4809

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars For aviation bods
Dated now, but still good reading or those with an interest in flying.
The writing style is , well, seventy years old, but an excellent insight to flight training in the 40s.
Readable, but may require a little more effort than modern texts.
Published 15 months ago by Robert J. Brown


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive, 14 July 2003
By 
Christopher Chinnery (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stick and Rudder: An Explanation of the Art of Flying: (Hardcover)
The best explanation ever written on how to fly an aeroplane, and one of the few in which the essence of the subject is not buried under a mountain of irrelevant technical detail. If you read only one book on how to fly, this should be it. Even the illustrations are not only very clear, but evocative of the age in which it was written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A life saving classic, 14 July 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Stick and Rudder: An Explanation of the Art of Flying: (Hardcover)
Years ago, the military taught that the stick makes an airplane go up and down and the throttle makes an airplane go faster and slower. Langewiesche taught that the stick makes an airplane go faster and slower while the throttle makes an airplane go up and down. Knowing the difference can save your life in a potential stall-spin situation. This book is simply the Bible of flying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I hoped it would be...., 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stick and Rudder: An Explanation of the Art of Flying: (Hardcover)
I had been promising myself this book for a long time. One of those aviation classics you feel you should read but perhaps never get around to. Well this time I did get around to it when I saw it on Amazon for a sensible price, so many times it has come up at silly money I just couldn't entertain the idea of buying it but finally a sensibly priced copy appeared from a seller in the States and even with postage it was the chance to get the book I had promised myself. It is packed full of excellent information for the pilot, whether starting out or experienced. It is written in a style which explains the concepts being discussed in a very informative way without using jargon and thus paints the images in the minds eye with clarity. A book I would thoroughly recommend.

Furthermore my copy arrived very quickly from America and so purchasing internationally was as easy as buying fro a UK supplier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars clear and very helpful, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Adrian (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stick and Rudder: An Explanation of the Art of Flying: (Hardcover)
the section on approach and landing helped me overcome some issues i was having, wish I had read the book before!

an old book but still relevant to student pilots today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every pilot should read this!, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stick and Rudder: An Explanation of the Art of Flying: (Hardcover)
The trainng that every pilot goes through when they start to learn to fly teaches them how to fly... but this book teaches you the art of flying.. it teaches you to aviate!

The language is quite antiquated as the book was written many years ago, so that can take some getting used to, but once you get past that, this book really does make things make sense!

Thoroughly recommended for every pilot, budding or bloomed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential knowledge for budding pilots, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stick and Rudder: An Explanation of the Art of Flying: (Hardcover)
Covers the theory in a refreshingly simply manner. Dispels of the myths and points you exactly to what you need to know. Great stuff. This book was purchased on my flying instructors recommendation. Added to my understanding of flying from page 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For aviation bods, 25 May 2013
By 
Robert J. Brown (Bransgore, Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stick and Rudder: An Explanation of the Art of Flying: (Hardcover)
Dated now, but still good reading or those with an interest in flying.
The writing style is , well, seventy years old, but an excellent insight to flight training in the 40s.
Readable, but may require a little more effort than modern texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Classic., 18 April 2013
This review is from: Stick and Rudder: An Explanation of the Art of Flying: (Hardcover)
"Stick and Rudder" is one of those books that should be on the shelf or e-reader of every pilot. It speaks in real language to aviators of ALL levels. A 'must have'.
Owen Zupp
Author: "50 Tales of Flight"
50 Tales of Flight: From Biplanes to Boeings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have on the basics, 23 Jan 2013
By 
V. J. Wigley "mister viv" (Derby,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stick and Rudder: An Explanation of the Art of Flying: (Hardcover)
A worthy addition to an aviator's library, purely on it's longevity. The air hasn't changed, nor the physics, so the book doesn't need to.
Read and learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know about how an Airplane flies and more besides.., 27 Nov 2011
This review is from: Stick and Rudder: An Explanation of the Art of Flying: (Hardcover)
Having previous glider flying experience of several hours and being around airplanes, on and off, nearly all my life I thought I knew a little more than the basics as to how an airplane flies. How wrong I was!!! Stick & Rudder covers all you need to know about how an airplane flies and much more besides. I have found this book very helpful to me as, after 40 years, I am finally actually taking my PPL. It is laid out in a very constructive manner by some-one who obviously loves flying and knows how to put his point across so it can be understood by everyone, be they novice or experienced pilot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stick and Rudder: An Explanation of the Art of Flying:
Stick and Rudder: An Explanation of the Art of Flying: by Wolfgang Langewiesche (Hardcover - 1 Jan 1944)
14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews