Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ain't She Sweet?, 16 Oct 2005
By 
DevJohn01 (Somerset, NJ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ain't She Sweet? (Paperback)
This is the first book by SEP, as she is called by her many long time fans, that I have had the pleasure of reading. "AIN'T SHE SWEET" is an interesting tale about what happens when a small southern towns bad girl returns home.
Sugar Beth Carey was the most hated girl in Parish, Mississippi. She was beautiful, rich and came from one of the town's most prominent families and now 15 years later she is forced to return home to Parish after a string of bad luck. But don't think that this is the story of a woman who has been humbled by the hardships befallen her and has returned home to make amends. Sugar Beth has lost none of her edge and is simply in need of some fast cash so she can hightail it right back out of her small Mississippi town. Unfortunately this is not as easy as she may have hope and she is force to come face to face with old enemies who still hold old grudges.
"AIN'T SHE SWEET" is not the funny romp that I expected when I purchased it, it does have it's more serious moments. I, however, enjoyed it nonetheless. I will definitely be purchasing more of SEP's works in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for a laugh, and a cry., 18 July 2004
By 
This review is from: Ain't She Sweet (Paperback)
This book shows that SEP can do more. Sugar Beth is not a thirty year old homely virgin waiting for her true love. Sugar Beth is over thirty and, although she still has her looks, it shows through her worn-out outlet T-shirt. She is anything but homely; serving on other people is not her nature, but simply a way to make money to survive. And a virgin? After three husbands, not likely.
Sugar Beth Carey was the queen of Parrish, Mississippi. She was the most beautiful, the most popular, the most powerful, and, of course, the richest girl in school. She was wild and raised to think she was the best; even her teachers had nothing to say over her. She could make you or break you, she made the rules, and when she left Parrish, it was left in a state of bewilderment over this whirlwind of a girl.
Now Sugar Beth Carey Tharp Zagurski Hooper is back in Parrish. And this Sugar Beth is dirt-poor, has no friends except for her latest husband's 51 year old retarded daughter, and is generally the least wanted person in all of Parrish. And all of her former friends, and her former teacher, Collin Byrne, try their hardest to make her feel it.
This book is a daring example of how to keep your head up high when you've done things wrong, really, really wrong. Sugar Beth doesn't grovel or ask for forgiveness. Instead, she takes what is coming to her with her head held high, and admits that she has been wrong without losing any of her pride. She accepts, even creates situations in which other people can get back at her. So what if she puts her faults on display to prevent anyone else taking a turn at her? Still, the book is light-hearted enough to enjoy on a summer holiday.
This is not a Chicago Stars story, but still, SEP manages to lace some of her earlier work through this book: Molly Summers and her children's books (This Heart of Mine) briefly appear.
Good for a laugh, and a cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic heroine, 14 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Ain't She Sweet? (Paperback)
My first book by this author and therefore a great introduction to SEP. A fantastic heroine who is easy to hate based on her past but even easier to cheer on as the story of her redemption flows on. Don't expect a virginal do-gooder who finds her enchanted prince, rather expect a sarcastic, funny, steelboned woman who did everything wrong, eventually grew up, took responsibility for her actions and tried to atone for all her wrongdoing. That being said she is a more likable character than some of those she wronged because she understands and is true to herself.

The book managed to make me cry, laugh and at one point got me so angry I could've strangled Merylinn (secondary character) but I never get tired of reading it. Definately a keeper and a very heartfelt recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very gripping and hillarious, 18 May 2004
This review is from: Ain't She Sweet (Paperback)
After reading "It had to be you" a few years ago, I got hooked on this author and devoured most of the books she has written. Several of Phillips' books are very entertaining, but sadly some of them were awful (such as "First Lady"), and this caused me to turn my attention to other writes instead. But when this book came out I decided to give it a try....... And I'm so glad I did. It is extremely good! Phillips has an extrordinary knack for writing hillarious and intelligent dialogs. And the plot is really very engrossing, and makes your heart ache for the characters while you at the same time laugh at their humour. I loved this one by Phillips... I'm now convinced you're a truly great author in a genre with alot of bad ones, and I'm definetely having a go at the few remaining books I haven't read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for a laugh, and a cry., 18 July 2004
By 
This review is from: Ain't She Sweet (Paperback)
This book shows that SEP can do more. Sugar Beth is not a thirty year old homely virgin waiting for her true love. Sugar Beth is over thirty and, although she still has her looks, it shows through her worn-out outlet T-shirt. She is anything but homely; serving on other people is not her nature, but simply a way to make money to survive. And a virgin? After three husbands, not likely.
Sugar Beth Carey was the queen of Parrish, Mississippi. She was the most beautiful, the most popular, the most powerful, and, of course, the richest girl in school. She was wild and raised to think she was the best; even her teachers had nothing to see over her. She could make you or break you, she made the rules, and when she left Parrish, it was left in a state of bewilderment over this whirlwind of a girl.
Now Sugar Beth Carey Tharp Zagurski Hooper is back in Parrish. And this Sugar Beth is dirt-poor, has no friends except for her latest husband's 51 year old retarded daughter, and is generally the least wanted person in all of Parrish. And all of her former friends, and her former teacher, Collin Byrne, try their hardest to make her feel it.
This book is a daring example of how to keep your head up high when you've done things wrong, really, really wrong. Sugar Beth doesn't grovel or ask for forgiveness. Instead, she takes what is coming to her with her head held high, and admits that she has been wrong without losing any of her pride. She accepts, even creates situations in which other people can get back at her. So what if she puts her faults on display to prevent anyone else taking a turn at her? Still, the book is light-hearted enough to enjoy on a summer holiday.
This is not a Chicago Stars story, but still, SEP manages to lace some of her earlier work through this book: Molly Summers and her children's books (This Heart of Mine) briefly appear.
Good for a laugh, and a cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable easy read, 15 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Ain't She Sweet (Paperback)
I've enjoyed all of SEP's previous books and this one is one of her better stories. Sugar Beth is not a one dimensional character and it is both easy to like her, yet deplore her past behaviour. It took a little longer to warm to the 'hero' of the piece, but the rest of the characters all came alive quickly. The story moves along at a good pace and I finished this book within two days. This is the book to read if you are in the mood for some Southern American hospitality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb !!, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ain't She Sweet? (Paperback)
I was put off by the reviews here which suggested to me that this might be grotesque saga type weepie. However, on actually reading the book it is the opposite of one of those ghastly miserey wallows. Suger is fab and the story of Suger working through her issues with the people of her home town and finding love is great. The only bummer is a stinky sub plot about a bore called Wendie. Wendie has a very rough deal from Suger at school. Suger bullied her and Wendie did not fight back. By the time of the novel Wendie has got hold of all Suger's family money and all Suger's mother's possesions (she is a relative - I am not going to spoil the story by telling you what sort). Wendie has become a prim stinker with no humour although in the story she is well liked by all I found her impossible to like and I skimmed a lot of the sub polt about her and her husband - that for me was the only blight on the horizon.

If you are a SEP fan ignore the reviews suggesting this is a weepie wallow. You may cry but they will be good tears - happy ones. Suger is a good un and this book is well worth a bash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed, 19 July 2013
This review is from: Ain't She Sweet? (Kindle Edition)
I have never read a book by this author and was very surprised at this book. Enjoyed it enormously. Plot revolves around a return to town of a once hated beautiful troublemaker who most people don't want back. As the plot evolves, the characters and their faults/redeeming features are unfurled one by one, making the reader reverse positions held at the beginning of the book. Clever writing which I like means I will look for other from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ain't She Sweet?, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ain't She Sweet? (Kindle Edition)
Having read quite a few Susan Elizabeth Phillips books, I know I'm going to enjoy the read.
This is a brilliant book and kept me captivated from the start- I read it in two days lol xxx really good read x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 8 Jan 2012
By 
Mel (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ain't She Sweet? (Paperback)
Enjoyed this book very much! Great characters and really funny. I had an extremely hard time putting it down and have decided to read everything else from this author I can get my hands on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ain't She Sweet? (Phillips, Susan Elizabeth)
Ain't She Sweet? (Phillips, Susan Elizabeth) by Susan Elizabeth Phillips (Hardcover - Feb 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews