Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THERE ARE OLD NARNIANS, AND BOLD NARNIANS, BUT NO OLD BOLD NARNIANS
It is a bleak time for the Narnians of old. The talking animals are all in hiding and men who call themselves Telmarines are ruling the land. The men of Telmar are afraid of and hostile to talking animals, the dryads and hamadryads, the naiads, centaurs, dwarves, and satyrs. They fear them and have tried to destroy them. The woods are silent and the dryads sleep, dreaming...
Published on 30 May 2007 by Michael JR Jose

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Most Disappointing Adventure in the Series
Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy are awaiting the train that will take them to separate boarding schools when they are suddenly, and magically, pulled out of the station. They find themselves on an island that has been overgrown. Exploring further, they discover the remains of their old castle. They're back in Narnia years ahead of when they last left. When a dwarf appears,...
Published on 2 Aug 2003 by Mark Baker


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THERE ARE OLD NARNIANS, AND BOLD NARNIANS, BUT NO OLD BOLD NARNIANS, 30 May 2007
By 
Michael JR Jose (the UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
It is a bleak time for the Narnians of old. The talking animals are all in hiding and men who call themselves Telmarines are ruling the land. The men of Telmar are afraid of and hostile to talking animals, the dryads and hamadryads, the naiads, centaurs, dwarves, and satyrs. They fear them and have tried to destroy them. The woods are silent and the dryads sleep, dreaming of a free Narnia and better times. But the memories of old, free Narnia are alive and are passed on in secret. The nurse of Prince Caspian is just one who knows the exciting secrets of old, and there are many others. And so it happens that the young prince comes to love the old that is hidden more than the new that he will rule. But although the stories of old may feed the soul, they are dangerous to know. And that is the start of the prince's dangers and adventures. He may call on those free creatures who are in hiding, they may rally to his call, but will they be strong enough to overthrow their oppressors? He has one more magical link with the past, and he will use it at the moment of greatest need - the magical horn of Queen Susan bringing unknown help to those who use it, which has been preserved as a relic by the faithful.

The Chronicles of Narnia begin, as everyone knows, with `The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe'. This story, `Prince Caspian', is probably best read second in the sequence as it is a continuation of the original four's adventures. The High King Peter, King Edmund, Queen Susan, and Queen Lucy are summoned by magic back to Narnia to aid Prince Caspian in time of crisis. The story of `The Magician's Nephew' goes back to the beginning of Narnian time and a little earlier in our world's time to tell how Narnia was created in the first place, and it is probably best read about fifth or sixth in the sequence, but at any rate before `The Last Battle' which tells how Narnia ends and is more frightening than the rest. The best loved of all the stories is probably `The Voyage of the Dawn Treader', partly because it is the longest and richest story in the series and is supremely well written. It is very easy to read but full of interweaving plots, and thrills on land and sea, and full of hard realities like how people behave while thirsty on short water rations and no land in sight. It is the jewel of the set, and fits perfectly in the middle. Reading about prince Caspian will help set the jewel in your mind.

`Prince Caspian' is also an interesting story because it explains so much of the magic of Narnia, and gives those who wish to see an insight into politics, history (ours and Narnia's), battles, and human psychology. It is particularly revealing to see what a prince's education involves: some literature, some mathematics, some social graces, some skills in entertainment and music, some politics. Some people do not like this story because it is about a war, but it really is about what leads up to war, what happens after, and how the individuals involved all react and cope. The actual fighting is a small part of the whole, unlike a modern action film which is heavy on the fighting and light on the people. Having said that, the storyline is one of the simplest in the set as we stay almost all the time with the four children together, who quickly resume their adult roles once in Narnia. When things threaten to overwhelm the brave few, Aslan is at hand but to their surprise he is not always easy to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remembered pleasure, 12 Dec 2003
By A Customer
We discovered the Narnia books on tape 12 years ago when living in France and we drove hundreds of miles around Europe, two small children listening intently in the back seat, all of us captivated by the magic. Michael Hordern does full justice to the beautiful English prose, the complex characters, the extraordinary world where good struggles with evil -- the creation of a remarkable British writer. The music, composed specially for the series, complements it perfectly. Our tapes self destructed years ago and we are ordering the CDs now, looking forward to recapturing our remembered pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic story read by a classic voice, 18 Oct 2002
By 
If you never buy your children any other books or tapes, buy them Narnia! In fact, not just children, adults too. Life-changing stuff! If every child had Narnia when growing up then the world would be a better place.
The Michael Hordern versions have now been around for some time but if you like the idea of bedtime stories then this is a superb adaptation with a simple musical setting that adds more feeling to the story rather than detracting/distracting. Rather like having your father/grandfather read to you when you were young.
You're never too old to grow young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Return to Narnia, 28 Nov 2007
By 
Timbertwig (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
"Prince Caspian" is chronologically the fourth book in the Narnia series but the second written by CS Lewis. It sees the return of the four Pevensie children - Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy - who first entered the enchanted land of Narnia in "The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe".

In this second instalment, the four children aid Prince Caspian who must fight his Uncle Miraz for his rightful place as king, and restore Narnia as the land of the free where talking animals and magical creatures can once again live in harmony with humans.

"Prince Caspian" follows the classic theme of the weak overcoming the strong for justice and freedom. In this sense, the book has a predictable plot and suffers the "sequel syndrome" of not being as fresh or enchanting as the original. What it does have are memorable characters including Doctor Cornelius, Caspian's mysterious mentor; Trufflehunter the loyal badger; Trumpkin the agnostic but brave dwarf and Repeecheep the valiant mouse (though he does not truly shine and earn his reputation as one of the most loved characters from the entire series until the next book, "The Voyage of the Dawntreader"). There are also scenes that although seem minor when you read them, will stay with you long after you've read the last chapter, including when Caspian learns the truth about Miraz from Cornelius and when Caspian is reunited his old nanny.

This book is subtitled as "The Return to Narnia" and I think that perhaps this should have been used as the main title. The book for me serves only as an introduction to Prince Caspian who does not develop into a fully rounded character until the next title in the series. In this book, the focus is still very much on the Pevensie children and "their" return. It deals with their faith, relationships and struggles far more strongly than Caspian's. For instance it is Peter and not Caspian who must face Miraz in the ultimate battle.

But that aside, "Prince Caspian" is an enjoyable read and sets the scene very nicely for "The Voyage of the Dawntreader".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return to Narnia, 25 Feb 2009
Second to be written of the core Narina books (1951) and third in 'reading order'. I've never done this before in an Amazon review, but rather than write something of my own I realise that I can't do any better than the text I found on Wikipedia, which is a brilliant comparative study of Prince Caspian and the Bible, so in the hopes of more widely disseminating it, here it is:

"The two major themes of the story are courage and chivalry and, as Lewis himself said in a letter to an American girl, "the restoration of the true religion after a corruption" (Collected Letters, III, p. 1245). Aslan is portrayed by Lewis as a Christ figure. Aslan's father (the "Emperor-Over-Sea") is God the Father. Some believe the story is a parallel to Moses and the freeing of the Israelites. A more likely parallel can be drawn between the Israelites' war with the Philistines, with Miraz's duel with Peter being similar to David and Goliath. In I Samuel 28:3-25, Saul, desperate to receive an answer from God, has a witch to summon the spirit of Samuel, similar to Nikabrik summoning the White Witch in an act of desperation. Though Samuel is in no way a parallel to the White Witch, it is the concept of turning to evil in extreme situations instead of trusting in God, or in this case the power of Aslan. In 2 Samuel 2:1-5:5, the Israelites refuse to wait on the Lord causing them a grave defeat in battle. This is similar to how the Narnians do not wait for Aslan, and thus suffer a defeat at the Telmarine castle. The Telmarines are descended from pirates, and Philistines invaded Canaan as "People of the Sea." Edmund and Lucy assist Prince Caspian in his attempt to get to Aslan's country (over the sea) in Lewis' The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. The new Narnia can be seen as a parallel to the modern world, with a dislike of religion. "Who believes in Aslan nowadays?" asks Trumpkin when he first meets Caspian. Those who "hold on", like the badgers, are praised: this links with Lewis's views on religious faith. Faith is another of the major themes of the book."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prince Caspian, 7 April 2008
By 
Second book printed, fourth book chronologically.

I began re-reading the Narnia series after coming across a beautiful boxed set of all seven novels. Mainly this was out of nostalgia, as these were favourites when I was young, and I was interested to see how they held up as adults. I found them all to be written very clearly with provocative descriptive prose, and narrative that often draws the reader immediately into the story.

As the first real sequel to "The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe", this manages to draw out the story and history of Narnia so that Lewis' creation reaches its full potential. The character of Caspian is readable although a little stiff at times, and the dialogue does falter occasionally where elsewhere in the books it is very smooth. The description of the voyage and the encounters of the crew are imaginative and still feel very original, and the transformation of Eustace still brings a bit of a chill, even in hindsight!

Great for youngsters and very readable for grown-ups.

8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A return to Narnia, 6 April 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Imagine if you once saved a magical other world... only to return later and find that centuries had passed, and everything had changed.

Well, since the movie adaptation of "Prince Caspian" is about to come out, it seems appropriate to revisit C.S. Lewis's classic novel, the sequel to his even more classic "The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe." While it has some drippily allegorical moments near the end, Lewis does a pretty good job with what must have been a difficult sequel.

When his aunt gives birth to a baby boy, young Prince Caspian finds himself on the run from his usurping uncle Miraz -- and in the hands of Narnia's secret army of dwarves, centaurs, talking animals and nature spirits. Soon Caspian has an army backing his claim to the throne, but in a moment of desperation, he is forced to blow the magic horn of the legendary Queen Susan -- and subsequently pulls the Pevensies back into Narnia.

But while only a year has passed on Earth, centuries have passed in Narnia, and the kids find that it's no longer the place they left -- they and Aslan are distant memories, and their castle lies in ruins. And as they are led by a very skeptical dwarf to help Caspian, Lucy keeps glimpsing Aslan along the way -- a sign that things are about to change drastically in Narnia, both for the human and magical inhabitants...

The Chronicles of Narnia were probably the first books to feature what is now standard in the fantasy genre -- an ordinary person gets dragged into another world. Just take a look at successful, unique authors like Diana Wynne Jones and Garth Nix to get an example of how Lewis' stories have influenced the entire genre.

If you don't like allegory (religious or otherwise), then steer clear of "Prince Caspian," especially the second half. While Lewis's beliefs are presented in a more complicated and subtle manner in his other fictional works, here the parallels to basic Christian beliefs are very obvious. Reportedly even Tolkien, one of Lewis's best pals, found the allegory annoying.

But if you can get past the slightly ham-handed treatment, it's a lovely little read. Lewis interweaves mythical elements -- dwarves, nymphs, talking animals, witches -- with the chatty, slightly precious style of traditional British storytelling. But this one is a bit darker and more action-packed than "The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe," with some unexpected twists in the middle of it all. The scene with a strange witch and a werewolf is downright chilling, in fact.

But Lewis' plotting does sag near the end, during a drippy scene where Aslan wanders around fixing life for Narnian subjects. Fortunately after that, he gets back to a mystery that hangs over the whole book -- just where did all these humans come from, if they were such a rarity in the previous adventure?

Peter seems a bit more jaded than before and Edmund a bit more mature, but sadly the girls don't get enough to do this time around. But Caspian is a likable and believable prepubescent king-in-waiting, and surrounded by a bunch of unique Narnians -- a gentle yet fierce badger, a hostile dwarf, a fiery mouse, and the delightfully skeptical Trumpkin, who doesn't believe in lions.

Despite a few rough spots, "Prince Caspian" is a slightly darker, more intricate story, and its finale marks a turning point in the Chronicles of Narnia. Definitely give it a read before you see the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prince Caspian - unabridged audiobook, 2 Aug 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I mistakenly purchased an abridged audiobook of "Prince Caspian" to complete my set of Narnia but lost it almost as quickly surprisingly.
I rarely buy any audiobooks abridged or dramatised versions unless I can avoid them and I buy hardbacks, partly because they are often cheaper (obviously too heavy for the paperback brigade) but also because they feel like books.
I was not disappointed with this version; high quality recording, pleasingly read without too many efforts at strange voices. The CDs went to my grandchildren for future use and to make the set complete.

P.S. To Graspee: Thank you for this prudent advice. I will remove them "post-haste" and try to be more diligent and law-abiding in future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its excellent, 21 Mar 2001
By A Customer
Its is absolutely excellent, even though the chronicles of narnia are classed kids books I think they are suitable for all ages as they are absoultely fantasticIn Prince Caspian the characters Peter,Susan,Edmund and Lucy are called back into narnia when Civil war breaks out when the talking beasts come out of hidding and other Narnians join the side of Prince Caspian with the help from the children fight against the evil King Midas (caspians uncle) to win narnia back. The charecters are great and you really get hooked in to the book you just cann't put it down!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An exciting tale with some lovely magical moments, 5 Aug 2008
I have been reading the Narnia books to my son, now aged eight, and "Prince Caspian" was a book we both enjoyed very much. For my son, the return of the four children, the exciting story and the humour of some of the new characters, particularly Reepicheep, the courageous mouse, were the high points. I do have to say, however, that there were some aspects of the storyline (particularly those related or explained by one of the characters) that he didn't quite comprehend on first reading, so we had to go through those again! It was also disappointing for him that Peter and Susan would not be returning to Narnia as they were too "grown up".

As usual, I found the writing splendid, with some beautifully evocative passages where you can sense the magic of Narnia, such as the description of the woodland spirits emerging in Lucy's presence, or the description of the long-forgotten Cair Paravel.

My one criticism is that some passages seemed slightly contrived, as if to "tie up loose ends" - such as Aslan's explanation of how the Telmarines came to be in Narnia. And, nothing to do with the book, but I think it's a shame that the film is violent enough to warrant a 12 certificate - so we won't be going to see it just yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prince Caspian (Chronicles of Narnia)
Prince Caspian (Chronicles of Narnia) by C.S. Lewis (Paperback - 1 Sep 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews