Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
Sixteen-year-old Steve is on trial for murder. But he's having trouble understanding why. "What did I do? I walked into a drugstore to look for some mints, and then I walked out. What was wrong with that? I didn't kill Mr. Nesbitt" (p. 140). Nothing is wrong with that, of course--unless the purpose of that casual trip was to give the "all clear" for a robbery that ended...
Published on 21 Dec 2006 by TeensReadToo

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guilty? OR Innocent?
A 16-years-old black boy called steve harmon is on trail for felony murder.The story is set in the 1990's in a courtroom in New York.Steve is accussed for beeing the lookout in a drugstore robbery where the owner was killed and something was stolen.It does not become clear how far steve was involved in the robbery and if he really only played the role of a "lookout".The...
Published on 2 Jun 2005 by boby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guilty? OR Innocent?, 2 Jun 2005
By 
boby (hagen/germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monster (Paperback)
A 16-years-old black boy called steve harmon is on trail for felony murder.The story is set in the 1990's in a courtroom in New York.Steve is accussed for beeing the lookout in a drugstore robbery where the owner was killed and something was stolen.It does not become clear how far steve was involved in the robbery and if he really only played the role of a "lookout".The whole story is written as a script from steve's point of view.To get more information about steve's feelings.
I found the book very well,because the book was written realistically and the topic is also up-to-day.Force is everyday life for the young people.I think Walter Dean Myers want show the reader the force of young people,more exactly of black people.
written by volkan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 21 Dec 2006
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Monster (Paperback)
Sixteen-year-old Steve is on trial for murder. But he's having trouble understanding why. "What did I do? I walked into a drugstore to look for some mints, and then I walked out. What was wrong with that? I didn't kill Mr. Nesbitt" (p. 140). Nothing is wrong with that, of course--unless the purpose of that casual trip was to give the "all clear" for a robbery that ended in the murder of the store's owner. Then, something is very wrong.

By structuring the book as a movie script being written by the character as he spends his days in prison, faces his jury, prepares with his lawyer, confronts his mother and father, and, most importantly, examines his own life, Myers presents Steve as a talented young man who may have made a single poor choice. However, Myers retains conflict necessary for

building a compelling storyline by having Steve refuse to acknowledge his part in Mr. Nesbitt's death. The result is that the reader wants to sympathize with the teen, but cannot help but wonder, if Steve truly does not understand why what he did was wrong, what is going to keep him from going astray in the future? Maybe, as the prosecutor stated, Steve really is a monster.

Overall, MONSTER sends an excellent message to young adults: You, and only you, are responsible for the choices you make, and the consequences for those choices may ultimately affect not only the rest of your life, but the lives of the people around you--and maybe those you do not even know. Therefore, think about what you are doing, consider the

consequences of your actions, and choose wisely.

Boston Globe--Horn Book Awards, Honor Book,1999

Los Angeles Times Book Prize, Young Adult Fiction, Finalist 1999

Coretta Scott King Awards, Honor Book, 2000

Edgar Allan Poe Awards, Nominee, Best Young Adult Novel, 2000

Michael L. Printz Award, Winner, 2000

Kentucky Bluegrass Award, Grades 9-12, Winner, 2002

Reviewed by: Mechele R. Dillard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Weird style, but good., 3 Dec 2007
This review is from: Monster (Paperback)
Walter Dean Myers Monster" Is about an afro-american youngster, who is put into jail for a murder he hasn't commited. The book describes his feelings and experiences he has in the time of trial and how he sees the other prisoners. The change he makes through the book is described by his actions and feelings.
The book isn't easy to read, because it has many style changes, from diary entries to film scripts and dialogues. This is sometimes confusing, but you can understand it most of the time.
The intention of the book is, that Steve has to decide, whether what he has done and to take over the responsibility for this. I think, the author wants to criticize the american judical system with this book and the story of Steve, because he is caught in the system, although he just acted as a lookout and didn't commit the murder. This shows, that you can be caught with some false proofs and that you can easily get into jail in the place of another person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Who Am I ?, 2 Jun 2005
By 
Desi (Hagen, Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monster (Paperback)
The book "Monster" written by Walter Dean Myers is about a 16 - year old black boy. This boy is called Steve Harmon and he is on trial for felony murder. Steve was at the wrong time at the wrong place. He is part of a robbery in a drugstore. But: did he really wanna take part? We don't learn if Steve is guilty or not. We have to think about it. Steve isn't sure about his identity, therefor he shows his trial in two parts: diary and filmscript. When he writes his diary he shows feelings but when he writes the filmscript he is objective.
In the beginning it is hard to read because of the filmscript and the diary entries but then it is pretty easy. During the whole story we learn a lot about the American court system. It is a good experience to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I've ever read!! Exciting, thrilling!, 12 May 1999
By A Customer
If you want a book to read, this is the book for you! It is about a 16yr old boy that is telling his story of trial and imprisonment for murder in the form of a movie script. Very suspensful. I could not put the book down. I read it in 1 day. The author makes you feel as though you are actually there or even a witness to the crime. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... to my children (fathers side of family) I would recommend this book for young people, 26 Aug 2014
By 
Bella Swann (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monster (Paperback)
I bought this book as the author Walter Dean Myers (recently deceased) is the great-uncle to my children (fathers side of family) I would recommend this book for young people. Very good story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monster, 3 Dec 2007
This review is from: Monster (Paperback)
Monster

The novel Monster written by Walter Dean Myers is about a sixteen years old black boy named Steve Harmon who lives in Harlem and is on trial for murder.
Steves loves filmmaking and that's why he turns his trial which lasts eleven days long in the youth detention centre in Manhattan into a screenplay.
The days in the courtroom and in the prison pester him till the judge delivers the judgement for Steve and the other persons who are involved in the crime and Steve's verdict is incomprehensible for everybody.
This novel is very exciting, extraordinary and well written. It's written in a way that's very easy to understand and to comprehend.I advise everybody to read this works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monster
Monster by W. Myers (Paperback - May 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews