Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a book that gets you writing
Yes it's hokey and american, but this is a true gem of a book. It commands, challenges and inspires you to write. Yes it's three act stuff, and probably most suitable to Hollywood formula stuff, but...it actually gets you writing.
This book sets you exercises to write. Who ever read Robert McKee and tried to hone their writing skills while reading it? More likely...
Published on 7 May 2004

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't rave about it
Not entirely sure why everyone seems to be raving about this book. It's not a bad book but there are *much* better screenwriting books than this kicking around out there e.g. Save The Cat, or How Not To Write A Screenplay, or the quite excellent Teach Yourself Screenwriting and Pocket Essential Writing A Screenplay and so on.

Maybe it's me but I've just stuck...
Published on 25 Aug. 2007 by rowantree


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a book that gets you writing, 7 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Write Movie in 21 Days: The Inner Movie Method (Paperback)
Yes it's hokey and american, but this is a true gem of a book. It commands, challenges and inspires you to write. Yes it's three act stuff, and probably most suitable to Hollywood formula stuff, but...it actually gets you writing.
This book sets you exercises to write. Who ever read Robert McKee and tried to hone their writing skills while reading it? More likely they put that book down for a stiff gin and a bracing walk to avoid getting a DVT.
It's not perfect, but it's as perfect as you are going to get. It will stop you reading and start you writing, and that's more than half the battle.
You may buy others first, but please buy this eventually, and realise its condensed, inspiring magic.
This book lays bare the truth of many writers: we all dream of writing a work of genius, yet in dreaming, never write a word.
This book tells you to keep dreaming, and keep writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly Simple, 20 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Write Movie in 21 Days: The Inner Movie Method (Paperback)
I have had this book for a number of years now. I work as an editor and script writer and find Viki King's description of the emotional journey of the hero, and that of the writer closely aligned with how you hope your audience to feel as they watch your movie. There's very few reference books that deal with that essential relationship. Obviously she works with a classic single hero story form which is great for first timers and easy to adapt for more experienced writers. Above all she gets one writing - a crucial issue for even the most experienced and celebrated writers I've worked with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful programme to help you get your story out, 14 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Write Movie in 21 Days: The Inner Movie Method (Paperback)
A short and sweet book designed to help the writer listen to his or her heart when writing a story. I think this is supposed to mean 'follow your intuition and don't think too much and get the bloody thing down on paper -- and you will reach a sort of truthfulness in your work, and there will be a finished product in a format worth showing to others.'
It has provided me with a formula to follow in order to accomplish a proper story with a beginning, middle and end -- a lot more difficult than it seems when you're starting out. In particular, it has helped me manage my writing time in a more useful way. Oh, and it sets daily goals that are manageable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't rave about it, 25 Aug. 2007
By 
rowantree (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Write Movie in 21 Days: The Inner Movie Method (Paperback)
Not entirely sure why everyone seems to be raving about this book. It's not a bad book but there are *much* better screenwriting books than this kicking around out there e.g. Save The Cat, or How Not To Write A Screenplay, or the quite excellent Teach Yourself Screenwriting and Pocket Essential Writing A Screenplay and so on.

Maybe it's me but I've just stuck my copy in a charity bag...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wicked reference for your movie, 28 Mar. 2005
By 
Ms. N. M. Smith "bellapussycat1" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Write Movie in 21 Days: The Inner Movie Method (Paperback)
This is an excellent book to give you pointers on writing your movie. It is remarkebly easy to read and understand and is just the right size to take anywhere with you with great ease.
This book helps to solve the small as well as the large problems you may have with simplicity. It helps you with the visualisation of your movie, even when you don't have too much to go on.
The suggested layouts are quite conventional though but this is easily solved with a little visualisation and imagination on the writers part and actually helps you to know what it is that you want out of your script and its layout. There are some great pointers for each stage of your movie and some basic tips to get you through the day and any fears that you might have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bunk, 28 Aug. 2014
By 
R. A. Wilson "rossie101" (Soton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Write Movie in 21 Days: The Inner Movie Method (Paperback)
Absolute rubbish, books like this do much more harm that good to aspiring screenwriters. Would you buy, paint like a pro in 21 days? Download the scriptnotes podcast instead or if you must buy a book buy Syd Field or Robert McKee, read and then ignore it all. Read screenplays, watch movies, that's how to learn to write. I wasted years on these books only to realise 95% of it is all bunk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really did write a screenplay in 21 days!, 31 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Write Movie in 21 Days: The Inner Movie Method (Paperback)
Does what it says on the tin. I managed to get out a screenplay in 21 Days following this book.
It still needs polishing but it got my idea onto paper. Highly recommended - and it was recommended to me by someone who wrote a screenplay in 21 Days using this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a little book of simple ideas and easy steps., 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Write Movie in 21 Days: The Inner Movie Method (Paperback)
just what it says it is. short concise book of advice for people who need building blocks to constructing a story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars you wont write a script in 21days, 16 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Write Movie in 21 Days: The Inner Movie Method (Paperback)
hollywood screenwriters take 6months + to write a script so dont think you can do it in 21days, the merit of this book is that it may get you to start screenwriting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good little book, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Write Movie in 21 Days: The Inner Movie Method (Paperback)
This book that is worth going through and doing all the exercises. It's a bit formulaic but it is important to understand the basic formulas should you wish to drift away from them. It's clear, it's persuasive and it gets you writing and teaches you much about the story timing of screenwriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Write Movie in 21 Days: The Inner Movie Method
How to Write Movie in 21 Days: The Inner Movie Method by Viki King (Paperback - 29 Mar. 2001)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews