Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern 'interpretation' - and all the better for it., 13 Oct. 2008
By 
J. Goddard "Jim Goddard" (Shipley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Manual for Living (Little Books of Wisdom) (Paperback)
The thoughts of Epictetus need no recommendation. The original 'Encheridion', on which this is based, is rightly one of the most influential advice manuals ever written. This modern reworking takes some liberties with the language, but in a good cause. Sharon Lebell's approach to the text does an excellent job of making the relevance of the ideas to modern life even more glaringly apparent. If you feel confused and overwhelmed by the pressures of the contemporary world then start looking for your answers here. Living 1,900 years ago, Epictetus understood more about the art of living than the vast majority of people now alive. Here lies wisdom. Open wide and be refreshed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reaffirmation of my philosophy, 19 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Manual for Living (Little Books of Wisdom) (Paperback)
I received an edition for my birthday, and I just read it twice (only 81 pages), and it did give me an attitude adjustment...it is a philosophy of living, and I already kind of practice some its philosophies naturally somewhat anyway, but it assisted in allowing what I already practice, and enhanced my approach to other areas. It really inspired me though...so check it out! EPICTETUS was a ROMAN slave, and then became a teacher of his Philosophies from 45 A.D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wealth of time-proof wisdom in your pocket, 17 Feb. 2011
This review is from: A Manual for Living (Little Books of Wisdom) (Paperback)
A gem of a book that offers a wealth of thought and knowledge, condensed into a tiny book that fits in your back pocket. I have found this little book more useful and comforting than most of the volumes that grace the shelves in the philosophy section. I don't have the brilliant mind of a scholar, so this clear and 'to the point' translation is a revelation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't live life without it!, 17 Feb. 2004
By 
Inderpal Virdee (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Manual for Living (Little Books of Wisdom) (Paperback)
Simple, easy to understand and practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should be given this book, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Manual for Living (Little Books of Wisdom) (Paperback)
A really well written and useful handbook... highly recommended as a starting point and a pocket reference for anyone interested in using stoicism as a pathway to a happier, healthier life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wise Words in A Handy Size!, 15 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Manual for Living (Little Books of Wisdom) (Paperback)
Good sense and wise words written thousands of years ago but still relevant and wise now! Carry it around to dip into from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Manual For Living, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Manual for Living (Little Books of Wisdom) (Paperback)
A very useful little book of philosophy for today's busy individual facing the challenges of modern day life. Worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars code for life, 4 Sept. 2013
By 
J. J. Bruce - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Manual for Living (Little Books of Wisdom) (Paperback)
excellent book useful as thought for the day and practice for everyday living. I would recommend it to anyone for guidance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Manual for Living (Little Books of Wisdom) (Paperback)
A concise book which illustrates this particular phiosophy well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Manual for Living (Little Books of Wisdom) (Paperback)
Enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Manual for Living (Little Books of Wisdom)
A Manual for Living (Little Books of Wisdom) by Epictetus (Paperback - 24 July 1995)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews