Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A voyage of discovery
To start this review it is worth noting when this book was first published - 1975.
At this time the young, adventurous, scientific minded Mckenna brothers recalled their voyage of discovery. Through the use of hallucinogens they experienced thoughtful insights into shamanism, schizophrenia, the holographic nature of nature, and finally and maybe most memorably - they...
Published on 26 Nov. 2005 by pj_borlace

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Leave this one in the graveyard of ill-concieved ideas
There are better McKenna books, at best this is an interesting perspective on how confusing psychedelics can be for an immature (albeit powerful) mind.
Published 1 month ago by Tomé


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A voyage of discovery, 26 Nov. 2005
This review is from: The Invisible Landscape: Mind, Hallucinogens, and the i Ching (Paperback)
To start this review it is worth noting when this book was first published - 1975.
At this time the young, adventurous, scientific minded Mckenna brothers recalled their voyage of discovery. Through the use of hallucinogens they experienced thoughtful insights into shamanism, schizophrenia, the holographic nature of nature, and finally and maybe most memorably - they formulated a mathematical principle using the I-Ching that maps the history of 'Novelty'.
A great read, that will lead the reader on a voyage of their own.
Further study: The Timewave theory has since been scrutinised by expert mathematians:
Matthew Watkins found errors in the theory:
[...]
John Sheliak worked with Watkins objection and found that the theory could be corrected, and indeed it became even more accurate!
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars recommended reading before 2012, 7 Feb. 2003
This review is from: The Invisible Landscape: Mind, Hallucinogens, and the i Ching (Paperback)
this book comprises 3 parts: an investigation into shamanism, schizophrenia and the holographic principles of memory; scientific psychedelic experimentation in the Amazon of such theories; and finally relating ancient Chinese principles (the I Ching) to novelty throughout the universe.
An amazing book filled with mind-blowing theories and frequent genius insights... the authors are incredibly intelligent whether you take their inspirational thoughts at face value or not.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wild trip shows the I Ching encodes reality changes., 1 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Invisible Landscape: Mind, Hallucinogens, and the i Ching (Paperback)
Terence McKenna and his brother relate their experience with a South American psychoactive plant, and the mind-blowing (mind-blown?) insights that they gained from it. The I Ching's 'King Wen sequence' of the 64 hexagrams is interpreted as a digital code, and in fractal geometry-like fashion, concatenated onto itself to create a wave function for the entirety of the universe, with its peaks and minima related to rises and falls in the rate of 'novelty' in reality as different dimensional realities interpenetrate in the McKennas' version of 'the end of the world as we know it.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purely mind blowing..., 29 Mar. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Invisible Landscape: Mind, Hallucinogens, and the i Ching (Paperback)
I remember feeling like the universe was handing me an amazing gift as I was reading this book. A must read for anyone interested in mind expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Leave this one in the graveyard of ill-concieved ideas, 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Invisible Landscape: Mind, Hallucinogens, and the i Ching (Paperback)
There are better McKenna books, at best this is an interesting perspective on how confusing psychedelics can be for an immature (albeit powerful) mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Invisible Landscape: Mind, Hallucinogens, and the i Ching (Paperback)
I wished we had someone like Terence around today, what a great thinker he was. This is a brilliant book, well written and covers the subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do we really know more about Nature, life and ..., 28 Mar. 2015
By 
Raymond (01-Gex, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Invisible Landscape: Mind, Hallucinogens, and the i Ching (Paperback)
Do we really know more about Nature, life and ourselves than most plants and flowers? These books about DMT and ayahuesca teach us otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2012 - How was it for you?, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Invisible Landscape: Mind, Hallucinogens, and the i Ching (Paperback)
Oh I love me a bit of TMcK. He's the hyper-gnome sitting in a DMT higher dimension, giggling at us all. Just don't *believe* a word of it! It's all a good fun read, but he was perhaps not the most accurate of scientists (unlike his brother, who since McKenna's death has been more forthcoming with the *truth* about Terence and 2012).You can even get an audiobook version where he reads it most engagingly. But I wouldn't trust the Yi Jing/Timewave stuff any further than you could throw the book after eating 20 grams of dried Cubensis (which, in my limited experience, would not be too far).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 5 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: The Invisible Landscape: Mind, Hallucinogens, and the i Ching (Paperback)
A most enjoyable and enlightening read. The author must have had courage to move into the spaces he describes. I recommend this book.Mind Bomb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Happy 2013 !, 12 Jun. 2009
By 
R. Schulz (Tamworth, Staffs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Invisible Landscape: Mind, Hallucinogens, and the i Ching (Paperback)
I bought the book whilst researching the I Ching. It consists of two disparate elements: A short account of shamanism followed by speculation of mind and drug interaction, and then a manipulation of the I Ching hexagrams to derive the "Time Wave".
The mind / drug section serves to create an air of scientific validity for the later I Ching manipulations. The lay reader is overwhelmed by "scientific" terminology, but whether a chemist would accept the speculations is doubtful.
The particular mathematical manipulations of the hexagrams are entirely spurious and have no connection with the I Ching itself. If there are no limits, any sequence of numbers can be played with to derive some sort of pattern. The McKennas could have used a book of random numbers to arrive at similar results. As a consequence all their neat diagrams and text are a pointless fantasy leading to their expected apocalypse.
It is in the same style as Eric von Daniken's books, and should be put on the bad science-fiction shelves.
The McKennas should have read "Straight and Crooked Thinking" by Robert Thouless before they put pen to paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Invisible Landscape: Mind, Hallucinogens, and the i Ching
The Invisible Landscape: Mind, Hallucinogens, and the i Ching by Dennis J. McKenna (Paperback - 21 Jun. 1994)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews