Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daily Bread
This book of daily devotions contains unpublished and published works including selections from The Sermon On The Mount and The Power Of Constructive Thinking. There are poems, prayers, scriptural passages and their exegesis. The theme is personal transformation and the practice of the presence of God. The main theme is that there exists a power that can liberate the...
Published on 17 Nov. 2007 by Peter Uys

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars What a Swindle
My licence ran out when I bought a new iPad and was unable to download it, so I was unable to finish reading it. this also happened to two other of my kindle books. What a swindle.
Published 17 months ago by Kenneth Baker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daily Bread, 17 Nov. 2007
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Around the Year with Emmet Fox: Book of Daily Readings (Paperback)
This book of daily devotions contains unpublished and published works including selections from The Sermon On The Mount and The Power Of Constructive Thinking. There are poems, prayers, scriptural passages and their exegesis. The theme is personal transformation and the practice of the presence of God. The main theme is that there exists a power that can liberate the captive and transform one's life for the better. This power of being is the Kingdom of God within (Luke 17:21), the power indwelling in consciousness. It is the invitation of Psalm 55:22 - Cast your burden upon the Lord.

The text begins with an explanation of Isaiah 9:6, the attributes of God as Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father and Prince of Peace. God is Spirit and we must worship Him in spirit and truth. The seven main aspects of God's nature are revealed as Life, Truth, Love, Intelligence, Soul, Spirit and Principle. Compound attributes consist of 2 or more of these, for example Beauty is made up of Life and Truth whilst Wisdom is a compound of Love and Intelligence.

Much information is given on the concept of scientific prayer, which is the practice of the presence. When confronting a problem for example, it is wise to think about God instead of the difficulty. The book is highly inspirational and uplifting and an antidote to spiritual exhaustion caused by wrestling with religious dogma and doctrines. I also recommend Alter Your Life by this author and The Hidden Power Of The Bible by Ernest Holmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Mr Fox, 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the Year with Emmet Fox: Book of Daily Readings (Paperback)
If you're having trouble wondering why, no matter how hard you try, life doesn't go your way, then you need to read this. Mr Fox's very enlightening daily readings set me up for the day while helping me understand my living problem. Essential reading for those on a spiritual path. This book helped me see the bible as a spiritual guide not the religious weapon hijacked by the church. I enjoy it everyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for daily guidance., 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read. this book every morning it only takes a couple of minutes and it sets my mind up in a positive way for whatever the day may bring. An excellent way to stay in touch with your spirit first thing in the morning before you face the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What a Swindle, 9 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My licence ran out when I bought a new iPad and was unable to download it, so I was unable to finish reading it. this also happened to two other of my kindle books. What a swindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Part of my spiritual 5 a day.., 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the Year with Emmet Fox: Book of Daily Readings (Paperback)
I read this daily in the morning - it just sets me off on the right track fro the day - the words of this man really resonate with me currently and I hope they do with you too :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daily meditation resource, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the Year with Emmet Fox: Book of Daily Readings (Paperback)
A reading once a day, not necessarily in date order, promotes a sense of well being and of being in the right place for me right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daily readings., 27 Mar. 2013
By 
J. M. Fowler (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This little book follows much of what he has written in 'The Sermon on the Mount'. A very good guide to daily living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the Year with Emmet Fox: Book of Daily Readings (Paperback)
I love this book as it offers Short bursts of wisdom. It is easy to read and it is very uplifting and inspiring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's one of the best daily readings, that I have read and I have read many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Around the Year with Emmet Fox: Book of Daily Readings
Around the Year with Emmet Fox: Book of Daily Readings by Emmet Fox (Paperback - 18 Jun. 1992)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews