Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The seminal text
This is the single most important book on shamanism written by the man who knows the most. Michael Harner is an anthropologist working in this area for 50 years. A slim book with a concise exposition of "core shamanism" the basic common methods developed by peoples throughout the world. The techniques work and the basic journeying method to lower and upper worlds can be...
Published on 20 July 2006 by Tim R

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kind of middling.
I found the book old fashioned to be honest and quite rambling in it's style. Think it was originally published in the 1980's and that is a long time ago.
Published 19 months ago by Mrs. Maria Austin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The seminal text, 20 July 2006
By 
Tim R (Whitechapel. London) - See all my reviews
This is the single most important book on shamanism written by the man who knows the most. Michael Harner is an anthropologist working in this area for 50 years. A slim book with a concise exposition of "core shamanism" the basic common methods developed by peoples throughout the world. The techniques work and the basic journeying method to lower and upper worlds can be learned in a weekend workshop. If you want one book on shamanism - this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 92 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beginners core shamanism; a good introduction, 10 Nov. 2003
By 
This review is from: The Way of the Shaman (Paperback)
The original and, along with Castaneda's books, to be thanked for the resurgence of interest in shamanism. This has only recently been added to my bookshelf, and to be honest, I found it to be a bit dated.
An excellent "beginners guide", although you can't beat experiential practice, for core shamanic process. The global similarities between differing cultural practices have been laid bare by Harner et al. and form the basis of this "new" shamanism.
If you are unable to find a teacher to teach you, then this is THE best way to explore the processes of journeying and seeing. It would be sensible, however, to tread carefully and follow to the letter what Harner writes. There is good reason why he is considered an authority, and his advice is to be respected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Email message from Michael HArner - unauthorise book, 14 Sept. 2009
By 
Tahir (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To My Friends, Students, and Colleagues,

I wish to alert you to the fact that a new edition of my book has just gone on sale by my publisher (HarperCollins) without my awareness or permission. The title of this new edition is The Way of the Shaman: The Definitive Handbook, please do not be misled into buying it. This unauthorized book is simply a smaller-size version of the 1990 HarperCollins edition of The Way of the Shaman (which has no subtitle) with a new (unapproved) subtitle and new cover (see cover image, right) that contains errors and an outdated Appendix A. As Obama said about the Wall Street crisis, perhaps this is what happens without adult supervision. In any case, I had nothing to do with this misleading publication and am in the process of seeing what can be done to halt further distribution.

This OR (ordinary reality) stuff is really weird! Back to NOR.

All the best,

Michael Harner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible and Inspiring, 19 Aug. 2010
This review is from: The Way of the Shaman (Paperback)
I first read this book a couple of years ago. I am not quite sure why I bought it but I had a sudden desire to learn more about Shamanism.

The beauty of the book is that it is immediately accessible for someone with no-prior knowledge of Shamanism (although an open mind helps). It follows a logical path, each step and chapter explains new topics clearly and with a perfect amount of information for a beginner; enough so that you are learning but not too much that you could get confused.

I have just finished reading the book again, and remembered how much I had enjoyed it the first time. I didn't want it to end and it has inspired me to take further steps in to shamanic practices.

I thoroughly recommend this to anyone who has an interest in Shamanism and wants to learn the basics principles.

I would advise to buy a cd or mp3 of shamanic drumming to go alongside the book so that you are able to make full use of the techniques described as you read the book. If you were as captivated by me as the book you will read it in a couple of days and want to start making steps immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely top class!, 14 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Way of the Shaman (Paperback)
A comprehensive, compelling insight into Shamenism and it's ways, teachings and the lessons to be learned from their simple and yet strangely structured lives. Beautifully written, Harner shows true empathy for the subject and makes every situation and occasion seem as though happening before your very eyes. This is a book for those either following-up a previous interest yet simple enough to follow for the uninitiated. A riveting read from start to end. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and Helpful, 26 Sept. 2010
By 
Earth Angel (East Anglia UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Way of the Shaman (Paperback)
I liked the calm down to earth approach to a practice that can seem scary and dramatic to a novice.
Michael explains several methods of experiencing aspects of reality which one might otherwise never consciously encounter,and shows how these other dimensions might be beneficial.
He is clear and forthright about the dangers of such techniques and how to avoid them.
It gave me the confidence to try a journey with a drumming tape.. it was very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shamanism in a modern world, 16 Jan. 2003
By 
F. Vd Smissen "Francien" (Maastricht, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Way of the Shaman (Paperback)
I thought I would write a review of this book basicly because the methods described in this book work. Harner explains how he has adapted South American Indian shamanic methods for just about anyone to use. If your interested in this subject then buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely top class!, 14 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Way of the Shaman (Paperback)
A comprehensive, compelling insight into Shamenism and it's ways, teachings and the lessons to be learned from their simple and yet strangely structured lives. Beautifully written, Harner shows true empathy for the subject and makes every situation and occasion seem as though happening before your very eyes. This is a book for those either following-up a previous interest yet simple enough to follow for the uninitiated. A riveting read from start to end. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 26 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way of the Shaman (Paperback)
I didn't know anything at all about the Shaman I just found a comment or two about it online, by mistake, and decided to get a book to see what it was about and read it in my own time. I found this book gives a great insight in to the practice and reasoning behind it all. I found it very interesting and would recommend it - probably more for the beginner though. I have not read any others about the subject so cannot compare it in that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The definitive guide, 19 Feb. 2008
This review is from: The Way of the Shaman (Paperback)
This subject can appear mysterious and 'dark' to the layperson. I found this book straightforward and clear in information concerning the rituals and their meanings. A really good book for the beginner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Way of the Shaman
The Way of the Shaman by Michael Harner (Paperback - 1 April 1992)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews