Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simple way to a graceful, painfree body
Feldenkrais was one of the century's great geniuses. Originally recognized for his nuclear physics research and for his introduction of Judo to Europe in the 30s, he developed the gentle Feldenkrais Method during the second World War in respose to his own knee problems. In Awareness Through Movement, Feldenkrais gives you a wonderful introduction to the group part of...
Published on 2 Feb 1999

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awareness through Movement
Fantastic reasoning in everything Fedenkrais writes. A great pity that this is dated.and that the illustrations are so poor and weak. Otherwise wonderful.
Published 18 months ago by John M.Savage


Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simple way to a graceful, painfree body, 2 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Awareness through Movement: Easy-to-Do Health Exercises to Improve Your Posture, Vision, Imagination, and Personal Awareness (Paperback)
Feldenkrais was one of the century's great geniuses. Originally recognized for his nuclear physics research and for his introduction of Judo to Europe in the 30s, he developed the gentle Feldenkrais Method during the second World War in respose to his own knee problems. In Awareness Through Movement, Feldenkrais gives you a wonderful introduction to the group part of his method--Awareness Through Movement. The processes are gentle, painless and easy. The best way to use the exercises in this book is to get yourself a cassette player and to then read the instructions aloud into the cassette. Then rewind the cassette, lie down on your back, hit play and be amazed as that magnificent voice on the cassette recording shows your body how to improve more quickly than you've ever believed possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feldenkrais, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awareness through Movement: Easy-to-Do Health Exercises to Improve Your Posture, Vision, Imagination, and Personal Awareness (Paperback)
I thought this book was difficult to follow without going to Feldenkrais classes. But it is interesting as this is his is I believe his first book on the method.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Think again, 17 May 2009
By 
K. P. Herrell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have attended work shops and this book is an original by the man him self. It explains the ethos behind them. Some thing I feel we could all adopt. Plus simple exercises to get you started. Well worth exploring if you are either a pilate's or a yoga fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awareness through Movement, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awareness through Movement: Easy-to-Do Health Exercises to Improve Your Posture, Vision, Imagination, and Personal Awareness (Paperback)
Fantastic reasoning in everything Fedenkrais writes. A great pity that this is dated.and that the illustrations are so poor and weak. Otherwise wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for its age, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awareness through Movement: Easy-to-Do Health Exercises to Improve Your Posture, Vision, Imagination, and Personal Awareness (Paperback)
There are more state of the art modern adaptations to these exercises, it was interesting to see what would appear to be the forunner and staple to the new approach. But there again how many ways are there to skin a cat?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awareness through movement, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awareness through Movement: Easy-to-Do Health Exercises to Improve Your Posture, Vision, Imagination, and Personal Awareness (Paperback)
I like this book but would have preferred to have more and better illustrations of the exercises. Otherwise very good and useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awareness through movement, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awareness through Movement: Easy-to-Do Health Exercises to Improve Your Posture, Vision, Imagination, and Personal Awareness (Paperback)
I have found this book really interesting and helpful. It has helped me to slow down and be more aware of the way I move around , but I have also found that I now feel motivated to exercise again which is great too. Have recommended to family who also love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 3 Dec 2001
By A Customer
Many people read this book because Moshe Feldenkrais was a great thinker, others because his techniques can really improve the way you experience your body.I read it because I love to take lessons just from the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews