Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'When I the word 'run' sayeth, thou must run'!
A novelty tie-in book needs to achieve a number of things to be any good: quite apart from being funny, witty and unusual, it needs to tread the fine line between not being too silly, thus risking losing sight of the appeal of the source brand, or too serious, losing the ovelty factor. The Shakespeare Notebooks manages to tread this line, just. There are segments that...
Published 7 months ago by P. Kennard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars For Die-Hards only!
Thank you to Ebury Publishing for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review

I love my sci-fi and I really love my Doctor Who, ever since Christopher Ecclestone's spectacular re-boot, I've been hooked though when I was a youngster back in the 80's I remember hiding from the cybermen way back then!

So if you are an avid Whovian you may...
Published 6 months ago by hross42877


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'When I the word 'run' sayeth, thou must run'!, 11 Aug. 2014
By 
P. Kennard (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
A novelty tie-in book needs to achieve a number of things to be any good: quite apart from being funny, witty and unusual, it needs to tread the fine line between not being too silly, thus risking losing sight of the appeal of the source brand, or too serious, losing the ovelty factor. The Shakespeare Notebooks manages to tread this line, just. There are segments that sail perilously close to one or the other, sometimes in the same piece!

The principal aim of this book is to try and present various brief snippets of the Doctor's life through the prism of the World's Greatest Playwright. If you are looking for details of the pair's many meetings or a coherent story/stories, then you are looking in the wrong place. What we get are a series of short segments of 'Shakespeare's' writings, all of which show the playwright had a greater knowledge of both the Doctor and his world than hitherto imagined.

The segments included are varied and alledgedly come from a variety of sources, some more coherent than others. The sonnets are witty and well written, the rough drafts and treatments entertaining and the diary segments, just plain odd. However, it is in the play fragments that we can find some of the best, and most frustrating, material. It feels a little like these go one conceit too far: are the writers trying to purport that the Doctor invegled himself into Shakespeare's plays and thus needed to be written out in rewrites, or was he present at the actual historical events Shakespeare was dramatising and he was merely being historically accurate?
However, this minor confusion aside, the writing here is absolutely fabulous, a love letter to the works of Shakespeare by those more used to writing of Dalek battles than star-crossed lovers. Some characters seem more willing to enter into the style than others, with ccasionally odd turns of phrases giving familiar lines a new slant. It is quite clear that all involved had a strong knowledge and understanding of both of the worlds they were combining.
And knowledge and understanding are both things the reader would benefit from. Knowledge of both classic and new Who is absolutely essential to get the most from all the segments, a lack of knowledge in one or the other will seriously reduce the quantity of material you will follow. Also, if you have no knowledge or understanding of Shakespeare (shame on you!), you will struggle. That said, a DEEP knowledge is not actually required; if you know Shakespeare's writing style and the basic plots of some of his plays, you'll get through fine (but if you understand the plot of Twelfth Night, could you explain it to the Fifth Doctor?).

This is not a book to read end to end, it has been designed to be dipped into, a few sonnets read here, the 'original drafts' of a famous play perused there; reading too much at once feels a little disjointed and gets confusing. To go into specifics of any of the contents would be to spoil the wealth of gems contained within. I'll simply say that I am quite convinced that there are already some drama groups working out how to put on the 'new' versions of Macbeth, Romeo and Juliet or any of a number of the works included.

Thoroughly recommended for a light Autumn evening. See if you can get some friends together to act out scenes for unsuspecting family members, it'll make for a memorable evening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For Die-Hards only!, 24 Sept. 2014
Thank you to Ebury Publishing for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review

I love my sci-fi and I really love my Doctor Who, ever since Christopher Ecclestone's spectacular re-boot, I've been hooked though when I was a youngster back in the 80's I remember hiding from the cybermen way back then!

So if you are an avid Whovian you may have seen the episode that the Doctor and Shakespeare met up at the Globe Theatre, well this book proves that not only did they meet but the Doctor has a huge influence on his writing!

This book visits many of Shakespeares works and they are reimagined with the different Doctor's and their companions being placed in to all of Shakespeare's famous works.

It really is a bit of fun, but unless you have a great interest in both Doctor Who and Shakespeare it may fall a little flat for you as all of the Doctor references will just go right over your head.

It is a great idea, one for the die hards I think but still its a fun read with great illustrations of our man from Gallifrey.

Awarded 3 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing but Brilliance, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived in excellent condition, and is full of entertaining snippets of information!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Something for everyone's taste in humour. Fun and clever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love the concept of putting a Whovian twist on the ..., 30 Aug. 2014
After studying Shakespeare in English, I love the concept of putting a Whovian twist on the classics! It came very quickly and I love the book itself. A definite must have for Whovians who study English Lit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a delightful pastiche, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On a basis with the "Frankenstein Diaries", this entertainingly-written book claims (tongue-in-cheek) to be the Bard's notebooks relating to The Doctor. Amusingly done and well-written especially for those already familiar with the plays on which some of these parodies are based. Delightful and not overlong to the point of tedium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really interesting and really good for Dr who fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To be or not to be The Doctor, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fabulous book to add to the Doctor Who collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift idea, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Christmas gift for son - he really happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Notes for older Whovians!, 24 Sept. 2014
A word of caution, first, I don't think this will appeal to children but will to more adult Whovians. As the title implies, this is not a Doctor Who adventure in the normal sense of these books but is, instead, a collection of notes - supposedly by William Shakespeare - about his encounters with the Doctor. These notes are sometimes diary like entries and other times written as an alternative excerpt from a Shakespearean play. I wouldn't advise trying to read them all in one go, but more like a series of short stories - take them one at a time and dip in again when the mood takes you. The authors certainly know the Doctor reincarnations and his companions well, using this knowledge to great effect in the different 'notes'. Whovians will welcome this, very different, collection of Doctor Who materials, especially if they like Shakespeare, too!

I was given an e-copy of this by the publishers via NetGalley in exchange for this, an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Shakespeare Notebooks
Doctor Who: The Shakespeare Notebooks by Matthew Sweet (Hardcover - 15 July 2014)
Used & New from: £7.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews