Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Romance
I love the books set in Old England. Enjoy to get a glimps in how they use to live a few hundred years ago.
Published 12 months ago by kinders12

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Feeling exploited!
Very disappointing collection - original stories by favourite authors were entertaining if somewhat short.Unfortunately they totalled only 151 pages (37750 words approx) of the book. The rest was taken up with 54 pages of extracts from these authors already published books (not their upcomomg ones so I've already read the whole books!) and 54 pages of extracts from other...
Published 24 months ago by Pauline D


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Feeling exploited!, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very disappointing collection - original stories by favourite authors were entertaining if somewhat short.Unfortunately they totalled only 151 pages (37750 words approx) of the book. The rest was taken up with 54 pages of extracts from these authors already published books (not their upcomomg ones so I've already read the whole books!) and 54 pages of extracts from other authors/works (3 of the 4 being modern novels not historical ones). The extracts therefore totalled 108 pages ie 40% of the book.
While this is not an expensive book to buy, it is an unsatisfactory read because the 3 main stories are brief so consequently don't develop character, plot or relationships in the way a reader would expect from these writers - it feels like the publishers are exploiting the popularity of these writers to make sales of what appears to be a cynical marketing tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it, 4 Oct 2012
I got this for the Loretta Chase story - not bad, but nothing special. The Stephanie Laurens and Gaelen Foley stories were pretty much as expected, very lightweight but tolerable. What I REALLY object to is that about half of the book is made up of previews from the authors' and others forthcoming books. I don't mind a few pages, but effectively half of what you're paying for is the publisher's advertising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, 30 Aug 2013
By 
Ms R. Andrews - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't normally buy short stories or anthologies, and after this I won't bother again, Having checked the print length, this seemed worth the price - but the print length fails to mention that it includes as much "sneak preview of the next book" as actual stories. I object strongly to this practise - it's bad enough in a full length novel, but when the content I wanted is overwhelmed by the previews I feel totally cheated.
Definitely not worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, 20 Mar 2013
By 
C. Kitchener "bookworm" (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was looking forward to it, as authors usually good, and S Laurens is a favourite of mine, but found stories too short and unsatisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor editing and content, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of spelling mistakes , the third book of this anthology is very poor. What a pity for those of us who admire the excellent Stepnanie Laurens to find one of her books attached to one so poor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The three stories were okay but I did not like the inclusion of snippets for other stories - I ..., 8 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal Bridesmaids (Mass Market Paperback)
The three stories were okay but I did not like the inclusion of snippets for other stories - I felt this spoiled the whole thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Romance, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the books set in Old England. Enjoy to get a glimps in how they use to live a few hundred years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Royal Bridesmaids
Royal Bridesmaids by Stephanie Laurens (Mass Market Paperback - 6 Jun 2013)
£3.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews