Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delightful nuggets
It is great to get all the Lord Peter short stories in one book. It saves money, and for Lord Peter fans, provides a whole host of tales of his exploits. Each story fleshes out a bit more information as to his history. These are not so much whodunnits, but stories of curious situations, which are unraveled. You read them to enjoy a good yarn rather than to test your...
Published on 18 Nov 2008 by Hilary

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The complete collection!
My daughter has asked me for this for her birthday but I've had a quick scan and found it a good read! The paper is a poorer quality than I had expected though. It'll soon show signs of acidic breakdown I'm afraid so won't be in her library all that many years before she needs to repurchase!!!
Published on 4 Jan 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delightful nuggets, 18 Nov 2008
By 
Hilary (Tucson, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
It is great to get all the Lord Peter short stories in one book. It saves money, and for Lord Peter fans, provides a whole host of tales of his exploits. Each story fleshes out a bit more information as to his history. These are not so much whodunnits, but stories of curious situations, which are unraveled. You read them to enjoy a good yarn rather than to test your personal detective skills. Some are murders, some are thefts, and some are just mysteries; but all have something strange about them. Most are Lord Peter and Bunter stories, but the last two (from the book Striding Folly) involve Harriet Vane - one immediately following the birth of her first child, and one a few years later, set at Tallboys. So, if you love Lord Peter, these books will fill in a few of the lowlights to accompany the great dramas of the major novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 88 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A period piece but still great fun, 18 Sep 2006
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was written in the days when detective fiction was about great and often eccentric characters and when intellectual and mind-boggling puzzles were the order, rather than lots of blood and gore - a bit like Agatha Christie. If you like that, then you'll love this collection of all the short stories featuring Sayers' eccentric aristocratic detective (way before boring old Linley!) Lord Peter Wimsey. Sayers herself was a serious intellectual, having translated Dante and worked on early christianity, but while there are the occasional touches of her erudition here, these are basically little gems of detection which feature real characters in a wonderfully glamorous 1930-40s setting. Possibly old-fashioned, but still hugely entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect light reading, 13 Oct 2009
By 
Retroguy (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No, these are not on a par with the full-length mysteries but that doesn't mean they are sub-standard. On the contrary, they have just the right mixture of macabre humour, skilful detecting and insouciant conversation. Perfect for the commuter or for light holiday reading. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why can't Scotland Yard do it the Wimsey way?, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought the historical romances of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle were the paragon of political incorrectness, until I met Lord Peter Wimsey. A motorist who knocks back the odd shot of spirits for the road, a father who smacks his young son for scrumping peaches, a quite likeable member of the British aristocracy, with decided views on right and wrong, Lord Peter would have the current political and legal establishment gibbering with rage. And that's not to mention Elf 'n' Safety, which Wimsey seems never to have heard of. This latter is not surprising, since the stories were written mainly in the 1920s and 30s. Their author, Dorothy L Sayers, was a bit politically incorrect herself, for the period in which she lived. Jilted by a suitor, this clergyman's daughter revenged herself on society by taking a lover from the labouring classes (gasp!), becoming pregnant by him (gasp again!), and then marrying - wait for it - someone else! On top of all that, she actually had a career as an advertising copywriter - yes, a woman in the advertising business in the Twenties! So, actually, compared with his creator, Lord Peter is quite a normal bloke, I suppose. He still has a lot to teach Scotland yard, of course, but then, don't all amateur detectives? Or would the Yard disagree?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A collection, 4 Aug 2012
By 
David Birtwistle "MacBirt" (Toronto, ON. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book. After purchasing it I realized that somewhere in my collection, still in boxes, that I have a paperback edition. However, it is still full of Wimsey, and fills in many gaps between the better known stories.
However, the title can be misleading as this is not a collection of all the Wimsey stories, unless one differentiates between stories and novels. Still, I am reading it again and thoroughly enjoying it.

David
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The complete collection!, 4 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My daughter has asked me for this for her birthday but I've had a quick scan and found it a good read! The paper is a poorer quality than I had expected though. It'll soon show signs of acidic breakdown I'm afraid so won't be in her library all that many years before she needs to repurchase!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As always excellent., 22 Sep 2010
I am an avid fan of Dorothy L Sayers, and in particular love her Lord Peter Wimsey stories, so I thoroughly enjoyed reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice collection of quirky stories about Lord Peter., 28 Aug 2010
By 
B. C. Taylor (Wiltshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I very much enjoyed these stories about Lord Peter. They are not all about murders so more varied than full whodunits tend to be - which I liked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as complete as all that, 18 Oct 2009
A series of short stories, NOT the Lord Peter novels. I did enjoy these and spotted several ideas reused by other writers in later material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elegantly written, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord Peter (Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries) (Paperback)
First read Sayers in my 20's when studying, liking the stories even better now, I appreciate the depth and nuances of her characters and her ability to whisk the story along without seeming to. My recommendation ? Read this collection and Christie pales !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lord Peter (Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries)
Lord Peter (Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries) by Dorothy L Sayers (Paperback - 9 July 2013)
£10.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews