Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars31
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2008
It is great to get all the Lord Peter short stories in one book. It saves money, and for Lord Peter fans, provides a whole host of tales of his exploits. Each story fleshes out a bit more information as to his history. These are not so much whodunnits, but stories of curious situations, which are unraveled. You read them to enjoy a good yarn rather than to test your personal detective skills. Some are murders, some are thefts, and some are just mysteries; but all have something strange about them. Most are Lord Peter and Bunter stories, but the last two (from the book Striding Folly) involve Harriet Vane - one immediately following the birth of her first child, and one a few years later, set at Tallboys. So, if you love Lord Peter, these books will fill in a few of the lowlights to accompany the great dramas of the major novels.
0Comment|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 September 2006
This was written in the days when detective fiction was about great and often eccentric characters and when intellectual and mind-boggling puzzles were the order, rather than lots of blood and gore - a bit like Agatha Christie. If you like that, then you'll love this collection of all the short stories featuring Sayers' eccentric aristocratic detective (way before boring old Linley!) Lord Peter Wimsey. Sayers herself was a serious intellectual, having translated Dante and worked on early christianity, but while there are the occasional touches of her erudition here, these are basically little gems of detection which feature real characters in a wonderfully glamorous 1930-40s setting. Possibly old-fashioned, but still hugely entertaining.
0Comment|87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2009
No, these are not on a par with the full-length mysteries but that doesn't mean they are sub-standard. On the contrary, they have just the right mixture of macabre humour, skilful detecting and insouciant conversation. Perfect for the commuter or for light holiday reading. Enjoy.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
I thought the historical romances of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle were the paragon of political incorrectness, until I met Lord Peter Wimsey. A motorist who knocks back the odd shot of spirits for the road, a father who smacks his young son for scrumping peaches, a quite likeable member of the British aristocracy, with decided views on right and wrong, Lord Peter would have the current political and legal establishment gibbering with rage. And that's not to mention Elf 'n' Safety, which Wimsey seems never to have heard of. This latter is not surprising, since the stories were written mainly in the 1920s and 30s. Their author, Dorothy L Sayers, was a bit politically incorrect herself, for the period in which she lived. Jilted by a suitor, this clergyman's daughter revenged herself on society by taking a lover from the labouring classes (gasp!), becoming pregnant by him (gasp again!), and then marrying - wait for it - someone else! On top of all that, she actually had a career as an advertising copywriter - yes, a woman in the advertising business in the Twenties! So, actually, compared with his creator, Lord Peter is quite a normal bloke, I suppose. He still has a lot to teach Scotland yard, of course, but then, don't all amateur detectives? Or would the Yard disagree?
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
This is a great book. After purchasing it I realized that somewhere in my collection, still in boxes, that I have a paperback edition. However, it is still full of Wimsey, and fills in many gaps between the better known stories.
However, the title can be misleading as this is not a collection of all the Wimsey stories, unless one differentiates between stories and novels. Still, I am reading it again and thoroughly enjoying it.

David
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2010
I very much enjoyed these stories about Lord Peter. They are not all about murders so more varied than full whodunits tend to be - which I liked.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2010
I am an avid fan of Dorothy L Sayers, and in particular love her Lord Peter Wimsey stories, so I thoroughly enjoyed reading this.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2009
A series of short stories, NOT the Lord Peter novels. I did enjoy these and spotted several ideas reused by other writers in later material.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2012
My daughter has asked me for this for her birthday but I've had a quick scan and found it a good read! The paper is a poorer quality than I had expected though. It'll soon show signs of acidic breakdown I'm afraid so won't be in her library all that many years before she needs to repurchase!!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
First read Sayers in my 20's when studying, liking the stories even better now, I appreciate the depth and nuances of her characters and her ability to whisk the story along without seeming to. My recommendation ? Read this collection and Christie pales !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse