Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and entertaining.
I read this in two days. I never do that! ;-) Lots of examples from traditional businesses that have got me thinking. If you're a solo-preneur, you're going to need to spend some time thinking about how to apply the real world examples to your business but it will be totally worth it. If you're on charge of social media in a more corporate environment, give a copy to your...
Published 16 months ago by E Edwards

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good if you're selling to consumers
If you're selling a commodity to a younger demographic, this is the book for you.

It offers a great explanation of how to effectively use Facebook, Twitter (although I disagreed with a couple of points made), Pinterest and Instagram ... but nothing on LinkedIn (described as an 'emerging network'?? Hardly.)

Still much better than most of the books out...
Published 14 months ago by Debs Lee


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and entertaining., 29 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this in two days. I never do that! ;-) Lots of examples from traditional businesses that have got me thinking. If you're a solo-preneur, you're going to need to spend some time thinking about how to apply the real world examples to your business but it will be totally worth it. If you're on charge of social media in a more corporate environment, give a copy to your bosses! (And read it yourself too of course!)

An easy read with lots of examples. Highly recommended reading.

Thanks Gary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting social media marketing book written in a very fun way!, 15 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World (Hardcover)
This book illusrates a lot of social media marketing tips in a very fun way. It shows the readers how to pique the interests of the user in various social media, how to engage the conversation with them and how to get their intended message clearly delivered. It's a very interesting book to read. For futher advanced skills in other online marketing channel, such as SEO, Integrated Search Marketing Solution & Organic Search: Search Engine Optimization, Social Media, and Email Marketing: Winning Formula for SERP Dominance is a good SEO book for cross-referece when building your website. It teaches you how to implement on-page, off-page and server-side optimization to boost up the SEO comptency of your website. For example , it teaches the readers about how to implement tactical link building to become the center of an authoritative hub and deploy facet navigation and page segmentation. It also shows the readers how to avoide duplicate conten, the tactics to deoply 301 redirect, and the SEO practics of exception handling and the adoption of custom 404 error page to increase visitor retention rate, and how to increase content / code ratio as well as the programming technques to boost the web performance.

In addition, Cognitive Search Marketing & Paid Search: Theory, Experiment, Practice and Tactics: A PPC Paradigm Powered by Persuasion and Cognition is a perfect read to polish your online marketing skills on paid search. This book provides new perspectives on applying communication theory on today's online marketing campaign and paid search. The book offers online business solutions, from demand generation all the way down to conversion. Based on various communications theories, it demonstrates abundant persuasive ad copy writing tips along with examples that you can refer to immediately. It also shows its readers how to write effective PPC ads by applying cognitive science and which has never been addressed on the books I have ever read. It covers a deep ground in landing page optimization based on UX and bidding management with strategic planning and highly valuable tactics. This book also demonstrates a complete walk-through in a PPC campaign with case study, from keyword generation, ad copy writing, bidding management, down to conversion tracking. One of the best part of this book is its demonstration on MRI placement targeting and it just blew my mind. The book also interfaces PPC campaign with experiment design to leverage the overall efficiency on a company's marketing plan in a macro-level and which has never been addressed in any books I ran into before. The book also illustrates critical campaign metrics to watch for, how to interpret these metrics and respective actions to take to improve your campaign. Landing page optimization tactics to increase the CTR and conversion rate are emphasized while conversion attribution model and its application is well-addressed. In addition, it shows you many effective bidding techniques to optimize your profit while lowing your CPA. Furthermore, this book extends the value of PPC techniques by applying the PPC tactics into a job search process with examples that readers can use immediately after they read the book.

A multi-channel web marketing campaign can always enhance the level of the penestration of intended message and induce the target conversion as the result. Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first two books were "WHY" - JJJRH tells you "HOW", 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've loved Gary's work for years now and Crush It got me to take social media seriously when, in 2008, it was considered something new and a bit whacky in the UK.

Thank You Economy on the other hand gave long term and strategic advice which didn't just apply to social media but to business and life generally.

JJJRH tells you in simple detail how to use the various platforms that are popular now, in 2013. Each chapter can be read in it's own right and you will get something from each and every page - even if, like me, you consider that you know quite a bit about SM.

The first two books gave you lots of "why" you should be using social media. JJJRH is the manual to tell you how. And from someone who lives it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This 'How-To' Guide Is A Must Read!, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This 'how-to' guide is a must read for any business that wants to promote itself online. Gary Vaynerchuk gets it. And as this is the 3rd book in a hugely series, you can also be sure that he translates what he knows into a highly readable book.

In Gary's own words, "I hoped that if I wrote a short, useful book... that broke today's most popular and exciting platforms down to their essential building blocks of text, image, tone, and link capabilities, it would make the exploding social media scene seem a bit less daunting to any marketer or business owner trying to keep up with it." Gary has achieved exactly that.

There is a huge temptation on social media to continually work from the inside-out, tweaking what you do according to your analytics. The reason this book packs such a big punch [sorry for the pun] is that it looks at each platform from the outside-in, never losing sight of the fact that successful marketing leads to sales.

And it does this in a highly informative, entertaining way. Gary Vaynerhook gives you six simple rules of outstanding content:

1. It's native.
2. It doesn't interrupt.
3. It doesn't make demands - often.
4. It leverages pop culture.
5. It's micro.
6. It's consistent and self-aware.

He then channels his huge wealth of experience into critiquing actual posts on different platforms to show what works to create sales, and what doesn't work and why. So that you can go back to each platform, and do things better and sell more.

I read this book on the kindle version, but I have found it so useful that I have ordered the paperback for easier reference. To sum up: buy this book, read it, do the hard work and reap the rewards of increased sales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars required reading for any business, 9 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Immensely practical, to the point. For those who are starting to use social media and those who have been using it for a while, you'll find brilliant case studies which will show you how to and how not to use the various platforms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good if you're selling to consumers, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're selling a commodity to a younger demographic, this is the book for you.

It offers a great explanation of how to effectively use Facebook, Twitter (although I disagreed with a couple of points made), Pinterest and Instagram ... but nothing on LinkedIn (described as an 'emerging network'?? Hardly.)

Still much better than most of the books out there on social media, but looking forward to the next one that will hopefully cover selling services in a business-to-business environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gary Vaynerchuk - Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook | Review, 22 Dec. 2013
By 
This review is from: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World (Hardcover)
I was lucky enough to win tickets to the launch event for this, Vaynerchuk's third foray in to authorship as an authority on social media. As well as including a Q & A with the author himself, attendees were also given a free copy of this book, and I love free books.

Here, we have something a little different to Vaynerchuk's previous work - in JJJRH, he scrutinises the micro-content pushed out by dozens of major brands. Sometimes, it works - Oreo's Superbowl tweet is a good example of this. Other times, it doesn't - you just have to look at the sad state of some of the content pushed out by half-arsed marketing managers who refuse to dedicate serious time and effort to social media.

You'll learn a few things about what works and where (context, as always, is key), and you'll also feel inspired by some of the great work being done by other community managers. Start jabbing straight away, so your audience is primed and ready for a right hook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars engaging and insightful, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No nonsense, useful and entertaining. There wasn't the usual format of teams of inane twaddle before getting to the point. I'd highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars B2C Great, B2b not so good., 20 Jun. 2014
By 
DAVID (Kinloss, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World (Hardcover)
In fairness this book has some good general advice and the approach has value regardless of what business you are in.

Howver, the review by KindleLover has it spot on. For those of us selling B2B much of the advice is limited in its use. I was dismayed that LinkedIn was dismissed at the end of 2013 as an emerging network. It's already almost as big as Twitter and has a much higher net worth and relevance for many businesses. There's no real advice there or detailed analysis of the context.

Similarly most of the examples are consumer focused. It's not that the advice isn't good, it's just that the value of the practical examples are lost.

Worth a read but doesn't quite deliver the blueprint for dealing with the proliferation of social networks and dealing with their unique aspects it promises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jab first second and third then a righ hook, 6 Dec. 2013
By 
S. Wyman "Steve Wyman" (everywhere and anywhere an airline flies to :-)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always Gray Deliverers on the promise.

With in 10 pags i was smacking my self on the head.. Not with a right hook but the flat of my hand. Great insghts and such obvious things how did i not already though of them. Well that why I read Garys books!!

Crush it
Thank You
Jab Jab Jab Right hook

And MBA for almost no money

Thanks Gary a great addition to my librayr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews