Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and entertaining.
I read this in two days. I never do that! ;-) Lots of examples from traditional businesses that have got me thinking. If you're a solo-preneur, you're going to need to spend some time thinking about how to apply the real world examples to your business but it will be totally worth it. If you're on charge of social media in a more corporate environment, give a copy to your...
Published 15 months ago by E Edwards

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good if you're selling to consumers
If you're selling a commodity to a younger demographic, this is the book for you.

It offers a great explanation of how to effectively use Facebook, Twitter (although I disagreed with a couple of points made), Pinterest and Instagram ... but nothing on LinkedIn (described as an 'emerging network'?? Hardly.)

Still much better than most of the books out...
Published 13 months ago by Debs Lee


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and entertaining., 29 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this in two days. I never do that! ;-) Lots of examples from traditional businesses that have got me thinking. If you're a solo-preneur, you're going to need to spend some time thinking about how to apply the real world examples to your business but it will be totally worth it. If you're on charge of social media in a more corporate environment, give a copy to your bosses! (And read it yourself too of course!)

An easy read with lots of examples. Highly recommended reading.

Thanks Gary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This 'How-To' Guide Is A Must Read!, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This 'how-to' guide is a must read for any business that wants to promote itself online. Gary Vaynerchuk gets it. And as this is the 3rd book in a hugely series, you can also be sure that he translates what he knows into a highly readable book.

In Gary's own words, "I hoped that if I wrote a short, useful book... that broke today's most popular and exciting platforms down to their essential building blocks of text, image, tone, and link capabilities, it would make the exploding social media scene seem a bit less daunting to any marketer or business owner trying to keep up with it." Gary has achieved exactly that.

There is a huge temptation on social media to continually work from the inside-out, tweaking what you do according to your analytics. The reason this book packs such a big punch [sorry for the pun] is that it looks at each platform from the outside-in, never losing sight of the fact that successful marketing leads to sales.

And it does this in a highly informative, entertaining way. Gary Vaynerhook gives you six simple rules of outstanding content:

1. It's native.
2. It doesn't interrupt.
3. It doesn't make demands - often.
4. It leverages pop culture.
5. It's micro.
6. It's consistent and self-aware.

He then channels his huge wealth of experience into critiquing actual posts on different platforms to show what works to create sales, and what doesn't work and why. So that you can go back to each platform, and do things better and sell more.

I read this book on the kindle version, but I have found it so useful that I have ordered the paperback for easier reference. To sum up: buy this book, read it, do the hard work and reap the rewards of increased sales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first two books were "WHY" - JJJRH tells you "HOW", 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've loved Gary's work for years now and Crush It got me to take social media seriously when, in 2008, it was considered something new and a bit whacky in the UK.

Thank You Economy on the other hand gave long term and strategic advice which didn't just apply to social media but to business and life generally.

JJJRH tells you in simple detail how to use the various platforms that are popular now, in 2013. Each chapter can be read in it's own right and you will get something from each and every page - even if, like me, you consider that you know quite a bit about SM.

The first two books gave you lots of "why" you should be using social media. JJJRH is the manual to tell you how. And from someone who lives it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars required reading for any business, 9 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Immensely practical, to the point. For those who are starting to use social media and those who have been using it for a while, you'll find brilliant case studies which will show you how to and how not to use the various platforms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good if you're selling to consumers, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're selling a commodity to a younger demographic, this is the book for you.

It offers a great explanation of how to effectively use Facebook, Twitter (although I disagreed with a couple of points made), Pinterest and Instagram ... but nothing on LinkedIn (described as an 'emerging network'?? Hardly.)

Still much better than most of the books out there on social media, but looking forward to the next one that will hopefully cover selling services in a business-to-business environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gary Vaynerchuk - Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook | Review, 22 Dec. 2013
By 
This review is from: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World (Hardcover)
I was lucky enough to win tickets to the launch event for this, Vaynerchuk's third foray in to authorship as an authority on social media. As well as including a Q & A with the author himself, attendees were also given a free copy of this book, and I love free books.

Here, we have something a little different to Vaynerchuk's previous work - in JJJRH, he scrutinises the micro-content pushed out by dozens of major brands. Sometimes, it works - Oreo's Superbowl tweet is a good example of this. Other times, it doesn't - you just have to look at the sad state of some of the content pushed out by half-arsed marketing managers who refuse to dedicate serious time and effort to social media.

You'll learn a few things about what works and where (context, as always, is key), and you'll also feel inspired by some of the great work being done by other community managers. Start jabbing straight away, so your audience is primed and ready for a right hook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars B2C Great, B2b not so good., 20 Jun. 2014
By 
DAVID (Kinloss, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World (Hardcover)
In fairness this book has some good general advice and the approach has value regardless of what business you are in.

Howver, the review by KindleLover has it spot on. For those of us selling B2B much of the advice is limited in its use. I was dismayed that LinkedIn was dismissed at the end of 2013 as an emerging network. It's already almost as big as Twitter and has a much higher net worth and relevance for many businesses. There's no real advice there or detailed analysis of the context.

Similarly most of the examples are consumer focused. It's not that the advice isn't good, it's just that the value of the practical examples are lost.

Worth a read but doesn't quite deliver the blueprint for dealing with the proliferation of social networks and dealing with their unique aspects it promises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this in one sitting on a flight to the US last Monday and took lots of notes, already recommended to colleagues at work. First part is the set up on the subject of social media marketing and the second half takes each social platform and gives advice on good and bad posts.

Already referred to my notes a couple of times this week - well worth the price of a kindle download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book that delivers a right hook by showing you the importance of jabbing, 18 April 2014
This review is from: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World (Hardcover)
I am a fan of Gary Vaynerchuk and his no nonsense plain speaking style, he writes like he speaks in his famous presentations (with the four letter words edited out of course) about a subject he is so passionate about the effective use of social media. Unlike his previous books which focus on relationship building (thank you economy) here he gives loads and loads of practical examples illustrating what is good and what is bad for different B2C social media and the reasons why. This book is also of real quality in terms of illustration and text with a nice to read layout. One for every persons coffee table even if they are not professional marketers.

We may not always agree with everything he says but he does present coherent arguments. It would be nice if he teamed up with some marketeers in the not for profit sector I am sure he would have a lot to offer in helping to stimulate change in behaviour through the use of social media as well as getting people to buy stuff.

I hope he does more especially need a quality book on analytics and what to look for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Knockout Blow - Don't Get Left Behind..., 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World (Hardcover)
The world is shifting, and shifting quickly.

Kids in schools are starting to learn using Ipads - they will be brought up with all this technology at their finger tips.

The older generation are learning more 'social' tech. Hell, my nan not only has Facebook but also a Ipad Air, and uses it a lot.

You now struggle to get a teen away from their link to the internet.

As the internet, technology and social media become more important in peoples life you have to realize that, as a business, you need to attract them where their attention is. Their attention is online. On Facebook, Twitter and other massive social sites.

JJJRH shows you how to grab their attention, keep their attention and then take action <- Important stuff right there.

So if you want to improve your social presence (which trust me, you do) then you NEED to pick up Gary's latest book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World
£16.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews