Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
In this book, the author show's you how to repair numerous household items, find cheap accesories and make the barest room look simply excellent. The steps here make a shabby house look so so chic.
Published on 17 Mar 2001

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book
This book is informative and beautifully illustrated. It has useful information, and hints and tips, but I found I was more drawn to the picures rather than the text. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes perusing through magazines while drinking their coffee, as I think it is more suited being browsed rather than used as a 'bible' to Shabby Chic.
Published on 12 April 2003 by K L McCardal


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Mar 2001
By A Customer
In this book, the author show's you how to repair numerous household items, find cheap accesories and make the barest room look simply excellent. The steps here make a shabby house look so so chic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book with lots of great pictures, 26 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book by Rachel Ashwell, which is about how to treasure hunt and what to do with your finds. It's full of great images, and gorgeous interiors, which have given me lots of ideas for my own home. Be aware, though, that the drawback is Ashwell herself, who simply cannot keep herself out of her books. Every one of them reads like an 'Aren't I marvellous?' vanity project, but you just have to ignore this and concentrate on extracting useful information. Many of the interiors shown would be impossible to achieve without an army of cleaners, restorers and decorators doing all the tough work (for more hands-on books, try Jocasta Innes, who knows how to get her hands dirty), but the Shabby Chic look itself is so delightful that I will keep on buying Ashwell books unti they run out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, 12 April 2003
By 
K L McCardal (Milton Keynes, Bucks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This book is informative and beautifully illustrated. It has useful information, and hints and tips, but I found I was more drawn to the picures rather than the text. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes perusing through magazines while drinking their coffee, as I think it is more suited being browsed rather than used as a 'bible' to Shabby Chic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shabby chic, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachel Ashwell's Shabby Chic Treasure Hunting and Decorating Guide (Paperback)
Lovely book with great photos but would really have liked more instruction on how to achieve the look but a lovely book and worth buying for reference
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars decorating, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book, love anything to do with shabby chic , and would recommend this author to any one who likes shabby chic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is a thin line between shabby and trashy., 1 Dec 2002
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I personally do not like anything called shabby or chic. I had to read this book in self-defense. My wife is always trying to sneak this stuff in the house. Just today I spotted a white lace ceramic plate protruding from the plant ledge.
I suggest that if you must do this to do it correctly. This book is very helpful in not only what to combine, but also where to find it. Pay close attention to the resources in chapter 8. Rachel does not skimp on the color pictures and several views of the same thing.
If you attempt this with out a guide you will end up with shabby trash. Imagine a leopard sofa next to a red wall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 Oct 2014
This review is from: Rachel Ashwell's Shabby Chic Treasure Hunting and Decorating Guide (Paperback)
Very nice books & very well priced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rachel Ashwell's Shabby Chic Treasure Hunting and Decorating Guide
Rachel Ashwell's Shabby Chic Treasure Hunting and Decorating Guide by Rachel Ashwell (Paperback - 15 July 2013)
£14.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews