Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as described, praiseworthy
The list of authors reads like 'who is who' in science. Each describes in informal contemplative way some fundamental concepts in his/her field and them problems they pose. It is not a textbook, but the reader gets a superb outline of the challenges facing science and philosophy. Some basic familiarity with science would be useful. A truly thought provoking book.
Published 12 months ago by Jacob Brauner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Snacks and nibbles
The book contains 150 short (1-4 pages usually) responses to "what is your favourite deep, elegant, or beautiful explanation?"

It's a convenient format to dip into and there are some interesting contributions.

However, given the book's bold title, I expected more. I was hoping for something like the mathematical "Proofs from the book", which focuses...
Published 5 months ago by P. Windridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as described, praiseworthy, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Explains Everything: Deep, Beautiful, and Elegant Theories of How the World Works (Paperback)
The list of authors reads like 'who is who' in science. Each describes in informal contemplative way some fundamental concepts in his/her field and them problems they pose. It is not a textbook, but the reader gets a superb outline of the challenges facing science and philosophy. Some basic familiarity with science would be useful. A truly thought provoking book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How and why "deep, beautiful, and elegant theories of how the world works" can nourish and enlighten our lives, 1 Feb 2013
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This Explains Everything: Deep, Beautiful, and Elegant Theories of How the World Works (Paperback)
Many of those who purchase and then begin to read this book will learn, for the first time, about Edge.org, a website offering an abundance of resources. John Brockman is the Editor of This Will Make You Smarter (2012) and This Explains Everything (2013). He is also the Editor and Publisher of Edge. As he explains, its purpose is to "arrive at the edge of the world's knowledge, seek out the most complex and sophisticated minds, put them in a room together, and have them ask each other the questions they are asking themselves."

He goes on to suggest, "Edge is a Conversation: Edge is different from the Algonquin Roundtable or Bloomsbury Group, but it offers the same quality of intellectual adventure. Closer resemblances are the early seventeenth-century Invisible College, a precursor to the Royal Society. Its members consisted of scientists such as Robert Boyle, John Wallis, and Robert Hooke. The Society's common theme was to acquire knowledge through experimental investigation. Another inspiration is The Lunar Society of Birmingham, an informal club of the leading cultural figures of the new industrial age -- James Watt, Erasmus Darwin, Josiah Wedgewood, Joseph Priestly, and Benjamin Franklin."

Last year, those involved with Edge were asked to respond to a question also proposed by Steven Pinker: 'What scientific concept would improve everyone's cognitive toolkit?" Here's The Edge Question 2012: "WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE DEEP, ELEGANT, OR BEAUTIFUL EXPLANATION?"

There were more than 200 online responses that were then reviewed before Brockman produced an edited selection. "In the spirit of Edge, the contributions presented here [in This Explains Everything] embrace scientific thinking in the broadest sense: as the most reliable way of gaining knowledge about anything -- including such fields of inquiry as philosophy, mathematics, economics, history, language, and human behavior." Brockman then adds, "The common thread is that a simple and nonobvious idea is proposed as the explanation for a diverse and complicated set of phenomena."

Here in Dallas near the downtown area, there is a Farmer's Market at which a few merchants offer slices of fresh fruit as samples. In that spirit, I now offer a few brief excerpts from contributions to The Edge Question 2012:

o Matt Ridley after realizing that DNA is a code: "Never has a mystery seemed more baffling in the morning and an explanation more obvious in the afternoon." (Page 4)

o Richard Dawkins: "Natural selection is an averaging computer, detecting redundancies - repeat patterns - in successive worlds (successive through millions of generations) in which the species has survived (averaged over all members of the sexually reproducing species." (8)

o Aubrey de Grey: "Reflective equilibrium gets my vote for the most elegant and beautiful explanation, because of its immense breadth of applicability and also its lack of dependence on other controversial positions. Most important, it rises above the question of cognitivism, the debate over whether there is anything such as objective morality." (15+16)

o Joel Gold: "The dark matter of the mind, the unconscious, has the greatest psychic gravity. Ignore the dark matter of the universe and anomalies appear. Ignore the dark matter of the mind and our irrationality is inexplicable." (23)

o Paul Steinhardt: "More recently, colleagues and I have found evidence that quasi crystals may have been among the first minerals to have formed in the solar system...Perhaps there is a lesson to be learned: While elegance and simplicity are often useful criteria for judging theories, they can sometimes mislead us into thinking we are right when we are actually infinitely wrong." (33)

0 Keith Devlin: "And why is self-organization so beautiful to my aesthetic self? Because if complex adaptive systems don't require a blueprint, they don't require a Blueprint Maker. If they require lightning bolts, they don't require some hurtling lightning bolts." (98)

o Howard Gardner on the importance of individuals: "In a planet occupied now by nearly 7 billion inhabitants, I am amazed by the difference one human being can make. Think of classical music without Mozart or Stravinsky; of painting without Caravaggio, Picasso, or Pollock; of drama without Shakespeare or Beckett." (137)

o Christine Finn: "I admire this explanation of cultural relativity [`dirt is a matter of place'], by the anthropologist Mary Douglas, for its clean lines and tidiness. I like its beautiful simplicity, the way it illuminates dark corners of misreading, how it highlights the counterconventional. Poking about in the dirt is exciting, and irreverent. It's about taking what is out if bounds and making it relevant. Douglas's explanation of `dirt' makes us question the very boundaries we're pushing." (168)

o Lisa Randall: "The beauty of science - in the long run -is its lack of subjectivity. So answering the question `What is your favorite, deep, or beautiful explanation' can be disturbing to a scientist, since the only objective words in the question are `what,' `is,' `or,' and in an ideal world) `explanation." (212)

o Michael I. Norton: "Randomized experiments are by no means a perfect tool for explanation. Some important questions simply do not lend themselves to randomized experiments, and the method in the wrong hands can cause harm...But their increasingly widespread application speaks to their flexibility in informing us how things work and why they work that way." (333)

These are but a few of hundreds of observations that caught my eye. I realize that no brief commentary such as mine can possibly do full justice to the scope of material that is provided in this volume but I hope that I have at least suggested why I think so highly of it. I also highly recommend the aforementioned This Will Make You Smarter and, especially, checking out the ever-increasing wealth of resources at Edge.org. Thank you, John Brockman, for the thought leadership you and your Edge colleagues continue to provide. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bite-sized brilliance, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Explains Everything: Deep, Beautiful, and Elegant Theories of How the World Works (Paperback)
Reading the thoughts of some of the best minds on the planet is an education and a pleasure. The essays are short so you can dip in and out when an author or subject takes your fancy. As I didn't read mine in any particular order I kept a pencil with it to tick off the essays as I read them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Endlessly entertaining and informative, 2 July 2013
This review is from: This Explains Everything: Deep, Beautiful, and Elegant Theories of How the World Works (Paperback)
You can just dip in any time for another 2/3-page item on some remarkable insight into how the world works.

Just finished it, feel smarter already, and am now going to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Snacks and nibbles, 8 July 2014
By 
P. Windridge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Explains Everything: Deep, Beautiful, and Elegant Theories of How the World Works (Paperback)
The book contains 150 short (1-4 pages usually) responses to "what is your favourite deep, elegant, or beautiful explanation?"

It's a convenient format to dip into and there are some interesting contributions.

However, given the book's bold title, I expected more. I was hoping for something like the mathematical "Proofs from the book", which focuses on elegant short proofs which end with a bang, leave you astounded, jaw dropped, perhaps slowly shaking your head (or wanting to drown the proof's "perpetrator", as legend does for the Pythagorean disciple who proved there are irrational numbers).

Too many contributions focused on "deep" theories, and took themselves too seriously. Many of the others were more reminiscent of "Rockstars on god" entries.

Also, quantum mechanics, evolution, etc etc aren't such new ideas. Sure, they're not "understood" and are very active areas of research, but most contributions aren't focused on the cutting edge within these subjects. The blurb gives the impression they are.

Anyway overall my hopes for the book were naive. Time (and money) better spent elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brockman's new essay collection; This Explains Everything: Deep, Beautiful, and Elegant Theories of How the World Works, 4 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Explains Everything: Deep, Beautiful, and Elegant Theories of How the World Works (Paperback)
This is a series of very short (mostly two pages or less) essays, by famous people, mostly scientists. It's the fifth one of Brockman's ("Edge") collections I've read, and it's as impressive as the previous ones. Too many of the essays took Natural Selection as the best, most elegant theory, but from many different directions. Go on. you'll enjoy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quarks and All, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Explains Everything: Deep, Beautiful, and Elegant Theories of How the World Works (Paperback)
This is a book about the state of science today. As is the nature of these things, some of the theories are more deep, more elegant and more beautiful than others. The stand out entries, however, really do jolt the system with wonder and the book as a whole is like a shot in the arm of reason and objectivity. It is a workout for the intelligence and a primer for current thinking. It's also fun showing people the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Explains Everything: Deep, Beautiful, and Elegant Theories of How the World Works (Paperback)
Such a brilliant book, re-reading it and love every second. If you've ever wondered what factual/interesting book to read on physics, psychology, philosophy, neurobiology or almost any other intriguing subject - look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars no it doesnt, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Explains Everything: Deep, Beautiful, and Elegant Theories of How the World Works (Paperback)
this is supposed to be about beautiful and elegant theories. If you beleive the writers of this book, there are not many about. The theory of evolution gets mentioned again and again and thats about it. Even E=mc2 (yes i know that should be in superscript), relativity, Newtons Laws of Motion dont get a look in, although I think the laws of thermodynamics and the Higgs Boson do. The contributions by non-scientists are just pathetic. The writing veers from boring to incomprehensible. Nothing beautifull or elegant here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazonian Rip Off, 12 Jun 2013
This review is from: This Explains Everything: Deep, Beautiful, and Elegant Theories of How the World Works (Paperback)
I would like to read this book. The price on Amazon.com is $12. The price on Amazon.co.uk is £12. The exchange rate (today) is $12 = £7.71.

This website will not let me ignore the star rating control. But, I have no idea how good the book is; I refuse to pander to profiteering by big corporations, but I've had to choose a star rating. I'm assuming that, as I want to read it, it's a good book ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Explains Everything: Deep, Beautiful, and Elegant Theories of How the World Works
£6.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews