Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent reading
I have read the book before many years ago. I also have seen the television series when it was first on UK television.\the series was excellent. I found the book to be as good as I recalled. An excellent read.
Published 8 months ago by ronald kimbley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Utter Hokum, strngely enjoying
The US Army at war and peace, seen through the lens of two rival officers' careers. They are polarized caricatures and that sets the book's overall tone of simplistic, naive idealism. Despite that, and it is grating at times, it rocks along and is an enoyable, if lightweight read. It falls at the last fence, with a really weak treatment of the start of the Vietnam War...
Published 7 months ago by M Leigh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Utter Hokum, strngely enjoying, 24 Dec 2013
By 
M Leigh "Helen's Dad" (York UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once an Eagle (Kindle Edition)
The US Army at war and peace, seen through the lens of two rival officers' careers. They are polarized caricatures and that sets the book's overall tone of simplistic, naive idealism. Despite that, and it is grating at times, it rocks along and is an enoyable, if lightweight read. It falls at the last fence, with a really weak treatment of the start of the Vietnam War. The essay question: to what extent is the ruthless, scheming careerist Courtney Massengale based on MacArthur?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent reading, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once an Eagle (Kindle Edition)
I have read the book before many years ago. I also have seen the television series when it was first on UK television.\the series was excellent. I found the book to be as good as I recalled. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One you may have missed. Highly recommended, 13 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Patrick M. Vincent "hannibal48512" (wiltshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once an Eagle (Kindle Edition)
A fabulous and thought provoking war story following the lives of a couple of, very different ,rival commanders as they climb the ranks of the US Army. This is a book about character, moral strength and leadership told through an insider view of America's major Twentieth Century conflicts. Lots of quotable gems that carry genuine weight. A standout book that you will remember long after others are forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An acknowledged masterpiece, 7 Aug 2013
By 
London Rat (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Once an Eagle (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant tale of two characters; one repellant and one inspiring. Two officers 20th century military careers in the US Army from Flanders to Vietnam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A model for leadership and life, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once an Eagle (Kindle Edition)
The formula of this book is one of honest endeavour and loyalty, backed by ability versus show and gloss and salesmanship based on arrogance, vanity and an over-rated sense of self-worth.

One sees this all the time in industry and particularly in consultancy where really good and able people are passed over by tricky dishonest types.

What makes this book really good is the way that they main character perseveres out of duty, honesty and loyalty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Once an Eagle (P.S.)
Once an Eagle (P.S.) by Anton Myrer (Paperback - 11 April 2013)
12.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews