Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unsinkable a memoir
I am a great fan of Debbie Reynolds so I was eager to purchase the book when it came out. I could not put the book down once I started it. There are a lot of highs and lows in her life and she was not afraid to let everyone know, and she did rise above it all like a true great lady she is. If you love anything about Hollywood then this is the book for you, you do not...
Published 20 months ago by Mrs. S. Hall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Debbie Reynolds
Wasn't what I expected, thought there would be more about her personal life, was way to short wouldn't recommend it.
Published 7 months ago by motherdon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unsinkable a memoir, 21 April 2013
By 
Mrs. S. Hall (England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unsinkable: A Memoir (Hardcover)
I am a great fan of Debbie Reynolds so I was eager to purchase the book when it came out. I could not put the book down once I started it. There are a lot of highs and lows in her life and she was not afraid to let everyone know, and she did rise above it all like a true great lady she is. If you love anything about Hollywood then this is the book for you, you do not even have to be a Debbie Reynolds fan. The book is well written, interesting and certainly worth every penny of the purchase price. Debbie has had an exciting life so far and long may she continue to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the 1st, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was even better than the first book,the first one was about Hollywood,
and film marriages,but this one lets you know,the way she was conned,
out of her money.
And bounced right back great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars musicals, 6 Jun 2013
By 
JanP "Molly May" (Wiltshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book very much. Being about the same age as Debbie Reynolds, I used to go and see all the musicals which took me to a different world, as I lived in London during the war and after, when things were a bit bleak, so musicals were an escape from everyday life. I wish they made them to-day.
Her life has been full of ups and downs, but she comes across as very resilient and very feisty, she is very forgiving about things that have happened and comes across as a nice lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Star as well as human!, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unsinkable: A Memoir (Paperback)
A totally honest and extraordinary account of her life by a remarkable person.
Managing to be a major Star as well as a compassionate human being at the same time is some feat.
Even when her last husband, who had treated her pretty shamefully, went missing, she still cared deeply
about what had happened to him.
I am full of praise for her talent as well as her personal qualities.
No one is more worthy of the Lifetime Screen Achievement Award than Debbie Reynolds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unsinkable: A Memoir (Paperback)
super read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Debbie Reynolds, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wasn't what I expected, thought there would be more about her personal life, was way to short wouldn't recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Debbie, you disappointed Me, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unsinkable: A Memoir (Hardcover)
I didn't like this book. It appears to be a rehash of her previous autobiography with little new to say except to write and write about her envisaged museum for her Hollywood memorabilia. Her obsession with the museum was, to say the least, boring. I do admire her tenacity and her great love for her children. Totally delighted that her old adversary, Elizabeth Taylor and she became friends again. Even to the extent that Elizabeth left her some jewels in her Will. I hadn't realised she had appeared in "Will & Grace" as Grace's mother. All in all, it looks like she wrote this book it to make money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hollywood!!!!, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unsinkable: A Memoir (Hardcover)
Great book. Funny sad inspirational.................... I loved this book ! Looking forward to Ava Gardner Now hope it lives up to my expectations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed each page, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never a big fan of Debbie but hey what a life !!! I was surprised and will watch with renewed insight her great talent ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a true hollywood legend, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unsinkable: A Memoir (Hardcover)
a wondeful book from areally terrific lady she is an inspiration and at 81 years old is still starring in movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unsinkable: A Memoir
Unsinkable: A Memoir by Dorian Hannaway (Paperback - 25 Nov 2013)
£9.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews