Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars38
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2014
This book has been incredibly interesting and insightful. Understanding GSP's philosophy on dealing with the immense pressures of competition that he has to live with really has been helpful to me, especially his writing on dealing with fear and using it to your advantage. I think the philosophy of martial artists is especially practical and useful as it has to work for them, and they are facing real dangers when stepping into a fight.

I really believe that GSP's philosophy can be applied to much more than fighting.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
This is not your typical fighters autobiography.....then again GSP is not your typical fighter. It isn't packed full of backstage-rumble rumours and hard luck stories. It is, however, packed with an insight into what makes GSP tick. It is a book about preparation, psychology, philosophy and attitude. Intelligently written this had me gripped from the start
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
Not just a book about fighting. Far from it.

If you interested in the things that got GSP where he is today, (goal setting, vision, strategic thinking etc..) this is a great book. If you just want a blow by blow account of each fight you won't like this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
Well what can I say ..

A good insight to a very interesting man, not just a book for mma fans but also for people with a mind for philosophical views .. He is a true champion and its great to hear more about this legend .. As he does most of his talking in the ring .. This gives you a slight insight into the real Georges
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
- An enjoyable read, recommended to all GSP fans. Those who would have preferred an autobiography won't be too disappointed.

- I didn't plan on purchasing this book. Like many others, i was hoping to one day own and read the full-fledge autobiography of GSP. The idea of reading a book pertaining to GSP's philosophy on subjects like training and combat were not that appealing to me, especially after having read establish classics in these areas like Miyamoto Musashi's "The Book of Five Rings", Sun Tzu's "The Art of War", Lao Tzu's "Tao Te Ching" and having delved into the plethora of strength and conditioning, physical rehabilitation content, etc available from world renowned experts on these topics.

- Still, it was a pleasant surprise when i received this as a gift. I still learnt a lot about GSP. The book offers unique insight into GSP's upbringing, life and past. It includes accounts from those closest to him, including his mother, John Danaher, Kristof Midoux, Firas Zahabi and Rodolphe Beaulieu whilst pleasantly blending in aspects of GSP's philosophy. The book is of high quality and is aesthetically pleasing.

- To those looking for an alternative or visual companion to book - i recommend watching "Takedown: The DNA of GSP" (2014). Sam Sheridan's "The Fighter's Mind" is an excellent book providing insight to the mind of the fighter if you haven't read that already.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Compelling read, couldn't put it down once i started. Demonstrates a psychology, philosophy and attitude that i if feel is a real winner for everyday life even outside the octagon. Put away those self help books and buy this instead if you have something you wish to achieve !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
Very impressed with this book. Good insights into what makes Georges St Pierre a champion and generally impressed with Georges' depth of character. Liked the format of the book too where each chapter has comments from a single person in Georges' life. Very good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
Good story from GSP, as much self-help guide as anything else, but with lots of inteersting/telling facts on how to be successful. GSP also comes across well and engagingly, you can see why he has so many fans!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
I am a fan of GSP and a competitive BJJ player so I had high hopes for this book. I was not disappointed and I think this is by far the best book I have read on training, learning and mindset.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
Georges is a deep guy and we get to go inside the mind of a super athlete and one of the greatest UFC fighters of all time,very honest and Frank a great read for any fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse