Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Repeats, repeats, repeats
I have now read all four books in the Star Carrier series, this one being the 4th. Great read, good characterisation and written with good pace.

Only 4 stars though. Why? Well, I suspect that if you take out all the repeat narrative that the four books would condense to three. Ian Douglas seems to think that his readers have a memory retention span of of just...
Published 22 months ago by Abedo

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just a short story
This is a short story, padded out with background material and a dreadful amount of repetition. By the time I had read through the padding I had lost my immersion.

Though set in the far future, it's loaded with today's stereotypes, anti just about everyone outside the USA, and topped off with a dash of US patriotism for good measure. It really should have had a...
Published 18 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Good story unsure about the style, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Story line is good but the author has the habit of repeating things he seems to feel we have forgotten or not understood. This happens in each new book of the series (just about understandable) but sometimes gain in the same book. Quite annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK but more of the same, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Space: Star Carrier: Book Four (Mass Market Paperback)
I think I hope that there won't be any more.
The series was OK, if a bit repetitive. I liked some of the ideas, especially the attempt to describe alien culture and way of thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too many rehashes and conceptual descriptions detract from the story, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I started off enjoying this series, but with each new book, there were too many rehashes and descriptive texts of concepts etc, defeating the continuity of the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be even better, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Too much repetition
If you haven't read the previous novels too bad.
Don't bore me with the same details.
Otherwise could have been great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Struggling to get into it, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the previous books in the series but this one I'm struggling to get into story doe not seem right, compared ton the previous ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a suitable way to pick the story back up, 24 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
book 4 in the series, and a suitable pick up of the story 20 years on from the first 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same but some new twists too, 27 May 2013
By 
Dr. James OCallaghan (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Space: Star Carrier: Book Four (Mass Market Paperback)
The last three of these were good action, nice pacing and interesting ideas. This carries on in that direction; in fact there's a bit more action but character development is somewhat reduced as a result. The larger story arc is pushed forward but not as much as I'd like. If I was going to give one criticism, it does feel like some of the plot is being a bit recycled. Although it could be viewed as a natural progression but the new character introduced seems like a bit of a clone of a previous one (sorry for being cryptic I'm trying not to give any of the story away)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read, looking forward to the next one on the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another action pack book in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Continued, and to be continued, 20 May 2013
By 
Teemacs (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Space: Star Carrier: Book Four (Mass Market Paperback)
How long will Mr. Douglas keep this series going? Until humanity reaches the God-like singularity state? Clearly there's more to come.

This continues the tale of the previous three "Star Carrier" books, with both of the main characters of the previous books elevated to higher positions, and now again with a threat from the races defeated (not terribly convincingly) in the third book. Again, good ol' humanity manages to come up with ideas that beat the technologically much superior aliens, even as the uneasy Confederation governing Earth (or most of it) falls apart.

One thing Mr. Douglas does do well is come up with interesting aliens, with very different physiologies and ways of thinking and envisaging things. This time, the confrontation between earthlings and aliens is more convincingly handled.

In general, hardly great literature, but a fun read, and I look forward to further instalments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deep Space: Star Carrier: Book Four
Deep Space: Star Carrier: Book Four by Ian Douglas (Mass Market Paperback - 30 April 2013)
Used & New from: £2.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews