Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More great stuff!
First of another long (I hope...) series. Well written as usual, Lisa Marie certainly has a way with words and imagery. The technical knowledge is awesome and the whole venture into the powers of the mind intriguing to say the least. Well researched as usual. Lisa Marie's heroes are always strong yet vulnerable and her heroines fragile yet feisty and indomitable, the sex...
Published on 8 Nov. 2012 by T. Tomasetti

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars same old formula..................
Could Ms Rice please for once have her hero be able to control themselves let their lady love climax first the first time they are intimate with their ladies!?!?........it is a bit boring when the same thing happens everytime in all her books, well at least the ones I have read and believe me I have read quite a few, where the hero is so much into the heroin that he...
Published 20 months ago by Jojo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars same old formula.................., 13 May 2013
By 
Jojo "Addicted to books" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Could Ms Rice please for once have her hero be able to control themselves let their lady love climax first the first time they are intimate with their ladies!?!?........it is a bit boring when the same thing happens everytime in all her books, well at least the ones I have read and believe me I have read quite a few, where the hero is so much into the heroin that he can't control himself and comes and then has to find a way to pleasure the heroin, please..........!

She used to be an automatic buy for me but it is just too predictable these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Ops book 1, 24 Nov. 2012
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Heart of Danger: A Ghost Ops Novel (Ghost Ops Novels) (Paperback)
Heart of Danger is the first book in Lisa Marie Rice's new Ghost Ops series and is a great introduction to the characters and the world they're living in. The Ghosts were an elite military group who carried out dangerous and secret missions but their last job went horribly wrong after they were betrayed by their commander. Only Mac, Jon and Nick survived the mission and after being set up to look like terrorists they are on the top of the government's most wanted list. The three of them are determined to prove their innocence and find out exactly how they were set up but in the meantime they have created an underground Haven for themselves and others who are in danger. The Haven is a top secret lair hidden within a mountain and Mac and the others will protect its inhabitants with their lives, they have built a small but thriving community where they can be self sufficient and remain under their enemies radar.

Dr Catherine Young works for a pharmaceutical company that is trying to find a cure for dementia and she works closely with patients who are taking part in a new drug trial. Thanks to her gift (or curse as she sees it) and her ability to feel people's emotions by touching them Catherine quickly realises that all is not what it seems with one of her patients. She risks everything when patient 9 asks her to track down Mac and his men and go to them for help. Mac is shocked at how easily Catherine finds the Haven, she should never have been able to get that close to their compound and he immediately suspects that she has been sent by their enemies to spy on them. The more he finds out about her the more he comes to believe her story and the Ghosts realise that everything they believed about the mission that went wrong was a lie and their former colleague is in great danger. Can Catherine help them to rescue patient 9 before he is killed by their enemies?

I'm going to admit that it was the cover that first brought my attention to Heart of Danger (well who wouldn't be drawn to it?!) but it was the blurb that convinced me I needed to read the book. I love this kind of series where you have a group of undercover military / ex-military alpha heroes who are trying to uncover who betrayed them. I can never resist an alpha hero but one of the things I love most is the sense of community that develops as you get to know the characters better throughout the series. The Haven is a great community, most of the inhabitants are civilians who found themselves in trouble by being brave enough to stand up against various forms of corruption. As a group they are wary of letting anyone new into the group but once they accept someone they become part of the family. Everyone brings their own unique skill set to the group and I'm looking forward to learning more about the inhabitant's stories in future books.

To get back to our main characters I have to say how much I loved Mac, he is smart, strong and incredibly protective of the community and those he cares about. He doesn't have to think twice before risking his own life to keep others safe and although he didn't want to be the group's leader he has stepped up to the role because they needed him to. When he falls for Catherine he falls hard and I love watching a growly alpha type who gets turned into a mushy teddy bear by his woman. I admired him for wanting to protect Catherine and keep her safely at Haven while he went to rescue patient 9 but I admired him even more for respecting that she was intelligent enough to be an asset to him and his team and to realise that they wouldn't be able to complete the rescue without her. It goes against all his instincts to take Catherine into a danger zone but he does it because he knows it is the only option. Catherine is a worthy heroine for Mac. She has always been isolated by her gift, even her family thought she was a freak and she has never really had any friends or close relationships. Her career means everything to her but she doesn't think twice about risking it all to help patient 9. She is compassionate, warm and loving and deserves to have someone who doesn't make her feel like a freak, someone who loves her for who and what she is and that is what she finds with Mac. I loved the way their relationship developed and you can expect to go on a sexy journey with them because their chemistry is combustible.

Overall Heart of Danger is a great start to the series and the story has everything you could wish for from this kind of romantic suspense - a group of swoonworthy alpha males (I can't wait for Jon and Nick's stories!) with access to all the guns and explosives they could possibly need, an action packed storyline, great romance with fab sexy times, interesting side characters that you want to learn more about and an evil villain who will turn your stomach with his horrible deeds. I can't wait to get my hands on I Dream of Danger and see what happens to the Ghosts next and I'd highly recommend this book to any fan of romantic suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More great stuff!, 8 Nov. 2012
By 
T. Tomasetti - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First of another long (I hope...) series. Well written as usual, Lisa Marie certainly has a way with words and imagery. The technical knowledge is awesome and the whole venture into the powers of the mind intriguing to say the least. Well researched as usual. Lisa Marie's heroes are always strong yet vulnerable and her heroines fragile yet feisty and indomitable, the sex hot yet tender - what all women dream of. To read one of her novels is a bit like coming home - you know what you're getting and she always delivers. I'm really looking forward to the follow ups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful on the inside, 29 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mac is on the run from the government. He and his Ghost Ops team were framed and now he is a wanted man. Dr Catherine Young is a research scientist with extra sensory powers who's mysterious patient sent her to Mac. Fantastic plot - the book is set not too far in the future when all cars are electric and iPad has reached it's 8th generation. Love the protagonists. Mac is wary of Catherine - understandably so because she knows his real name which had been erased from records when he joined Ghost Ops. However, she eventually wins his trust and that of the people in his hidden community. The book is fast paced, exciting but Rice develop's Mac and Catherine's relationship really nicely. She also writes great endings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gloriously over the top, 18 Nov. 2012
By 
Kate Phillips "Kate" (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Heart of Danger: A Ghost Ops Novel (Ghost Ops Novels) (Paperback)
This is the first Lisa Marie Rice novel I have read. I had heard a lot about her books before this, I was told that she has a love of scarred heroes and over the top drama, two things I happen to be a fan off. So it is fair to say that my expectations of this book were pretty high.

For the most part Heart of Danger did not disappoint. I enjoyed it's over the top-ness and finished it in a day. The story was interesting, the characters likeable and the romance equal parts hot and sweet.

I only had a few issues. There were a few parts that dragged for me and the romance moved a little too quickly but apart from that I quite enjoyed this entertaining and quite cheesy story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally absorbing, 10 Nov. 2012
By 
K. Anderson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I totally loved this book. Suspense, plenty of eeep moments and romance. Couldn't put it down. Can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great escapism from humdrum life!, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant to escape reality with!! really enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heart of Danger: A Ghost Ops Novel (Ghost Ops Novels)
Heart of Danger: A Ghost Ops Novel (Ghost Ops Novels) by Lisa Marie Rice (Paperback - 14 Aug. 2014)
£7.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews