Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!
The irony is that I'm so excited about finally finding a method that is both realistic and effective, now I can't sleep myself! My 9 week old, however, is happily asleep in his swaddle and with the white noise of the sea piping from my iPod in his crib... Unlike many parenting books and online sources, this book is positive, encouraging, humorous and NOT CONDESCENDING. It...
Published 12 months ago by Ms. C. Mcintosh

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful tips as long as you don't apply it religiously
Really helpful and measured compared to the usual "baby routine" books - I can take or leave some of the more dogmatic stuff but these tips have definitely helped me to have a more calm and easily settled bub.
Published 16 months ago by catz_b@hotmail.com


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, 15 Aug 2013
By 
Ms. C. Mcintosh (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Happiest Baby Guide to Great Sleep: Simple Solutions for Kids from Birth to 5 Years (Paperback)
The irony is that I'm so excited about finally finding a method that is both realistic and effective, now I can't sleep myself! My 9 week old, however, is happily asleep in his swaddle and with the white noise of the sea piping from my iPod in his crib... Unlike many parenting books and online sources, this book is positive, encouraging, humorous and NOT CONDESCENDING. It doesn't treat new parents, who are already vulnerable and sensitive, like idiots who have foolishly created bad habits that it will be hell to break out of in the future - no blame games or fear tactics here. Instead, Harvey understands how natural, intuitive and enjoyable it is to rock, cuddle and feed your baby, and that doing these things wont bring on doomsday! It explains how sleep works, which is both interesting and important in understanding the sleep cycles and possible sleep problems of both babies and adults, reminds us how every baby is different and has their own unique personality, and FINALLY answers questions such as how to teach them to self soothe. Lots of books tell you to do this but don't explain how to realistically achieve it, for example how to gently wake your wee one for a few seconds after they fall asleep after a feed. Importantly, the book also has advice on weaning these sleep aids, again which many others don't, and is therefore reassuring. After reading so many confidence knocking and conflicting pieces of advice, finally I feel understood and trusted as a parent and encouraged to persevere, and that I finally have some answers to the enigma of babyhood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars so simple and it works, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have been applying the tips on my one month old, and she has gone from a howler to a happy smiley baby almost overnight, the two top tips are swaddling and playing white noise in the night - always knew this but didn't take it up seriously enough before reading the book and learning the merits of the 5 S's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing book. Well worth the money to understand why your new baby won't stop crying and is fraught with the world. The incessant crying night after night. The 4th trimester is 'real' and if you've come out of the other side this book is wonderful at explaining why it happens. And that your baby doesn't hate you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful tips as long as you don't apply it religiously, 14 April 2013
By 
catz_b@hotmail.com (Nijmegen, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really helpful and measured compared to the usual "baby routine" books - I can take or leave some of the more dogmatic stuff but these tips have definitely helped me to have a more calm and easily settled bub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sleep, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gives great practical advice that is useful both at a personal family level and for professional child carers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read especially for 'fussy' babies!, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this book! Great for 'fussy babies' or 'spirited' babies as the book describes! I was losing the plot having to fight my then one month old to sleep every night, after reading this book as fast as I could, that night my baby was asleep in about 15 minutes rather than 2 - 3 hours!! Recommend the 5 S's , I thought this was rubbish when I read it but tried it and baby fell to sleep really easily, now my baby is 3 and a half months old and we have no problems with his sleep. I am now reading the 3 months onwards chapter and trying the methods provided and he will now go into his cot awake and will fall asleep alone! Very pleased with this book and it is also humorous to read , making you want to keep reading and not fall asleep! I recommend this to all my pregnant friends especially those that are new mums, as lets face it babies do not come with manuals!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars would buy again, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, help to new parents. Helps you feel confident and better understand your new baby. It is full of useful ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for mums and dads with new babies, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happiest Baby Guide to Great Sleep: Simple Solutions for Kids from Birth to 5 Years (Paperback)
I wish I'd bought this book sooner. My son is 6 months old now and while this book is fantastic I feel the advice in it would work better if I'd started implementing it when he was born. Highly recommended for new parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The copy was a fake, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happiest Baby Guide to Great Sleep: Simple Solutions for Kids from Birth to 5 Years (Paperback)
The author is fab and his book. However, as soon as I received the book, I could tell it was a fake. Flimsy poor quality paper and text too small and not line up correctly inside. So my gripe is with the publisher/seller of the book, not the author. Any_books did not even respond to my message to them....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Happiest Baby Guide to Great Sleep: Simple Solutions for Kids from Birth to 5 Years
7.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews