Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Period piece
A fascinating period who dunnit which is impossible to fathom because of in incredible twist in the tail. I loved this unique troubled detective battling with the post traumatic stress of WWI as he comes into contact with former soldiers and civilians scarred for life by this terrible conflict.
Published on 14 Dec 2007 by G. J. Weeks

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual detective novel (3.5 stars)
The first Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery featuring a detective recently returned from the battlefields of WW1 and suffering from Post Traumatic Stress, not that this was recognised in those days.

Written by an American pair of authors (mother and son I think) it is surprising how well they capture England in the period just after the first World War. The...
Published on 21 April 2009 by Nick Brett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Period piece, 14 Dec 2007
By 
G. J. Weeks (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fascinating period who dunnit which is impossible to fathom because of in incredible twist in the tail. I loved this unique troubled detective battling with the post traumatic stress of WWI as he comes into contact with former soldiers and civilians scarred for life by this terrible conflict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Many of us have our own Hamish, 10 Nov 2007
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Test of Wills (Hardcover)
This is the firs in a series of Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries. It does not take us long to know the man and the burden he carries. It is this side of him and the descriptions of the world after the Great War that adds a unique value to the writing and our lives also.

A week ago headstrong Colonel Harris was unceremoniously dispatched. All signs point to the dispatcher being a war hero with friends in high places. Who ever takes the case needs to be expendable. Rutledge's superior Bowls suspected Rutledge's secret and decided he would make the perfect scapegoat.

It is interesting as the story unfolds we see mysteries within mysteries, maybe a few red herrings and many unwell people that can usually be detected by Rutledge but not always. As there is a race with time Rutledge's trying to regain his uncanny detective skills we also but figure out who did the deed and who. To some the answer will be obvious to others it will feel that he pulled a clue out of the closet at the last moment. In any case you will be intrigued to the conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual detective novel (3.5 stars), 21 April 2009
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The first Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery featuring a detective recently returned from the battlefields of WW1 and suffering from Post Traumatic Stress, not that this was recognised in those days.

Written by an American pair of authors (mother and son I think) it is surprising how well they capture England in the period just after the first World War. The formality and pace of life is well defined as is a complex lead character that you don't necessarily 'like' but you admire his approach as he deals with the murder he is assigned to, and his own demons. The murder is that of a respected ex-officer and the prime suspect is a hero of the war, a potentially embarrassing outcome in the post war period. As Rutledge gently peels away the life and relationships in a small English village the outcome is hard to guess and is satisfying when it comes.
The pace may be too slow for some, but this is thoughtful and engaging stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Test of Wills, 6 Oct 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first in the Inspector Ian Rutledge mystery series. When the highly respected Colonel Harris is shot at point blank range, the local Warwickshire force turn to Scotland Yard for help. Superintendent Bowles sends Rutledge - damaged by his time in the trenches, to investigate. The most likely suspect for killing Harris is local war hero, Captain Mark Wilton, a man who is personal friends with the Prince of Wales and has been decorated with the Victoria Cross. However, as Wilton was shortly to be marrying Lettice Wood, a young ward of Harris, and the two men were seen having a violent argument both the night before and the morning of the murder, he seems the obvious choice. Fearing fallout over the possible arrest, Bowles hopes that the case will end Rutledge's career before it has a chance to restart.

Rutledge is an interesting character; a man who suffered claustophobia and shell shock and who is plagued by the voices of a dead comrade. Now he realises that he must unearth the murderer among the good folks of Upper Streetham, who have their fair share of secrets to hide. Everyone is determined to believe Wilton innocent and to hide the truth from the man from London, but Rutledge knows he must suceed, both to solve the crime and save himself. Good start to a long running series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have not read this book yet but if of the same quality as 'A Long Shadow' it should be fine. Delivered in the time and in the condition stated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD READ, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i FOUND THIS INTERESTING READING AS A FAIRLY STRAIGHTFORWARD DETECTIVE TALE
BUT WITH UNUSUAL CHARACTERS AND A THOUGHT PROVOKING PLOT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Inspector has returned from the war and is now battling to keep his job as he faces the consequences of his time in combat. Will his experiences make him a better or worse detective? He'll certainly do a more thorough job than the local officers have.
I enjoyed this and liked the historical setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Period detective drama with a twist, 1 Aug 2013
By 
M. J. Atha (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Set shortly after WW1 this whodunnit harks back to the days of Miss Marple & Poirot, our hero is a battle-scarred Scotland Yard detective called in to investigate a high-profile death in Cornwall. Apart from a few glaring idiosyncrasies, the American authors capture the period well, but the pace was rather too slow for my liking, and not really my genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Mystery, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyable and gripping read, I shall definitely try more Charles Todd books in due course, I just had to keep turning the pages.An excellent and unexpected ending too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ibliked the old fashioned atmosphere, 19 Jun 2013
An interesting post war atmosphere with a very likeable inspector of Scotland Yard. I have later read more of the same series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Test of Wills (Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries)
A Test of Wills (Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries) by Charles Todd (Paperback - 16 Aug 2011)
8.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews