Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars31
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 10 February 2012
I found this book equally enjoyable to 'In Pursuit of Eliza Cynster', yet very different. What I like about these romances is that so much time is taken over the hero and heroines relationship. The action never takes centre stage to the couple getting to know each other - which basically is what I'm in for. I also especially enjoyed the Scottish setting in this one. There might be a little too much explanation and speculation, which sometimes get boring. As someone else said, Laurens should 'show' rather than 'tell' more.
Oh, and sorry for being crude, but has anyone else wondered why these girls don't get pregnant?! I know it's not realism, but still!

Anyway, overall, a satisfying and sexy romance!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 8 October 2014
I do find Stephanie's ability to place her heroines in jeopardy inventive and amusing. The fact that she managed to stretch this one over 3 books has to place it high on the list of most well done heroine perils. It has her usual mix of story and romance, though I would say less of the romance in this one - which is no bad thing. The same basic romantic interludes again and again can wear thin.

However I was somewhat confused reading this book because it features dear great aunt Clara. As I, like many others I suspect, have been reading these books as numbered in the Cynster family chart when she first appeared I thought, hang on, she died some books back. Which is in fact the case. In the list book number 10 "The Perfect Lover", Simon Cynster and Portia Ashford's story, it quite clearly states that Simon has inherited his estate from Clara almost immediately you start reading the book yet Angelica and Dominic's story is number 18, eight books later yet clearly taking place before "The Perfect Lover". So I actually went back through the books and put together a timeline based on the dates the books take place to give the correct reading order.

Prequel - The Promise in a Kiss - December 1776
1) Devil's Bride - August 1818
2) A Rake's Vow - October 1819
3) Scandal's Bride - December 1819
4) A Rogue's Proposal - March 1820
5) A Secret Love - April 1820
6) All About Love - June 1820
7) All About Passion - August 1820
8) On a Wild Night - February 1825
9) On a Wicked Dawn - May 1825
10) Temptation and Surrender - October 1825
11) Viscount Breckenridge to the Rescue - February 1829
12) In Pursuit of Eliza Cynster - April 1829
13) The Capture of the Earl of Glencrae - June 1829
14) The Truth About Love - June 1831
15) What Price Love? - August 1831
16) The Taste of Innocence - February 1833
17) The Ideal Bride - June 1835
18) The Perfect Lover - July 1835
CBA1) Where the Heart Leads - November 1835
19) And Then She Fell - April 1837
20) The Taming of Ryder Cavanaugh - May 1837

While I can appreciate that Stephanie has a large group of characters to keep track of, not correcting the read list to take account of the changes brought about by more recent offerings doesn't help her fans. This is a simple change to make and I hope someone (author/editor) will pick this up and make the necessary alteration.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 February 2012
This book is the conclusion of the latest trilogy in the "Bar Cynster" series, a story in three volumes set in 1829 which features three sisters, Heather, Eliza and Angelica Cynster. It is essential to read these three books in the correct sequence, which is

1) "Viscount Breckenridge To The Rescue" (Heather)
2) "In Pursuit Of Eliza Cynster," and
3) This book, "The capture of the Earl of Glencrae" (Angelica.)

The main story arc linking these three books finishes in this one, but two more novels, linked to this trilogy by a special necklace, are due to be published in 2013. During "Viscount Breckenridge to the rescue" her aunt Catriona gives Heather Cynster a necklace, known as "the Lady's Jewel." We were told that this necklace will help each lady who wears it find her "hero" e.g. the love of her life, and that it will pass in sequence from Heather Cynster to her sisters Eliza and then Angelica, and then to their cousins Henrietta and Mary. During this trilogy each of the sisters in turn wears the jewel during her own book. In the epilogue of this novel Angelica passes it to Henrietta. Henrietta and her sister Mary will have their turn wearing this necklace in the following novels due to come out next year (2013):

4) "And Then She Fell: Number 4 in series (Cynster Sisters)" and
5) "The Taming of Ryder Cavanaugh: Number 5 in series (Cynster Sisters)."

Spoiler alert - it is challenging to describe these books without including "spoilers" which give away too much plot detail. I think I have avoided any significant spoilers for "The capture of the Earl of Glencrae" in this review, but it is exceptionally difficult to say anything substantial about the plot of this final book in the trilogy without at least hinting at a couple of major spoilers for the previous books, particularly the second one. So if you have not yet read the first two novels in this trilogy I would advise you to stop reading here and follow the links above to the first two books instead.

Heather, Eliza, and Angelica Cynster, the heroines of the three books of this trilogy are the daughters of Lord Martin and Lady Celia Cynster, who are the uncle and aunt of "That Devil Cynster," (Sylvester, 6th Duke of St Ives and hero of "Devil's Bride (Bar Cynster)). Our heroines are therefore the younger sisters of Rupert Cynster (a.k.a. Gabriel, from A Secret Love (Bar Cynster)) and Alasdair (a.k.a. Lucifer, from All About Love (Bar Cynster)).

The trilogy began at an unidentified castle in the highlands of Scotland, where a mortal enemy of the Cynster family plots revenge against them. She blames them for something which began a generation before and which she has allowed to totally warp her life. This being the final book in the trilogy we finally discover in this volume who the lady is, what is the supposed injury which causes her to hate the Cynsters, and just how sick in the head she is. And believe me, the villainess of this trilogy is very sick, with the result that one scene in this book depicting the lengths to which the characters have to go to fool her really pushes the envelope for the genre.

She has found a way to blackmail her son, an honorable man who has no wish to harm the Cynsters, into taking part in her schemes by threatening to beggar not just him but every member of his clan, people he is responsible for. She has stolen from his safe a valuable item without which he and all his people will lose their land and homes, and as the price for its' return she demands that her son kidnaps one of the daughters of Lord Martin and Lady Celia Cynster, and brings her to Scotland, destroying the girl's reputation in the process, so that she can have her revenge.

Her son, who in the first two books was known to the reader and to the Cynster family by an alias or mostly just as "The Laird," has been trying to find a way to get his mother to hand back the item without actually harming one of the Cynster girls. In the first two books he employed kidnappers, under very strict instructions that the young ladies were not to be hurt in any way, to snatch first Heather and then Eliza Cynster. But in both cases his plans went wrong, and both girls found in the persons of the heroes of their respective books their own "heroes" e.g. the men they want to spend their lives with.

At the start of the second book, after Heather's kidnapping, Eliza and Angelica were under close guard: particularly against any Scottish noblemen. Scrope, the villain who "the laird" employed, had to pull off a daring and brilliant trick to snatch Eliza.

But towards the end of that book both Eliza and her hero, Jeremy Carling, saw "the Laird" fall off a cliff. They are convinced that he could not possibly have survived that fall.

So at the start of this third book in the trilogy, because the Cynsters know that "the Laird" is dead, they are allowing the third sister, 21 year old Angelica, to attend balls and functions without being guarded within an inch of her life. Angelica has always believed that she will know her future husband the moment she sets eyes on him. At a soiree hosted by Lady Cavendish, she sees a very handsome man with a proud and distinguished air, and is instantly convinced that he is the man she wants. She inquires after his identity and a mutual friend tells her that he is Dominic, Viscount Debenham, and speaks highly of him.

An English Viscount whose identity is rapidly confirmed, is reputed to be a man of high integrity and who is very much alive, cannot possibly have any connection to a dead Scottish laird who kidnaps young ladies, so Angelica brazenly arranges to have herself introduced to Viscount Debenham. Which turns out to be the start of a remarkable adventure ...

If like many readers you have difficulty suspending disbelief for the sake of enjoying a book when something unlikely or out of character for the period happens, you should probably leave this entire trilogy alone. Certainly I had huge difficulty believing that any real-life woman would make some of the decisions which Angelica makes during this book. I had similar difficulty believing that she or her family would be able to forgive some of the things they do forgive.

Even after nearly doubling in size over seventy years due to the creation of new peerages during the reigns of George III and Gearge IV, the historical House of Lords only had about 300 members in 1829. Consequently I found it unlikely that an active member of that house, e.g. Devil Cynster, would not already have known or very rapidly been able to discover certain absolutely basic information about a fellow-member of the House of Lords, of which the Cynster family remain unaware for days in this book, even when actively searching for information about the individual concerned. Or that it would have been left for an elderly aunt to suggest after days of fruitless investigation that they look him up in a newfangled book called Burke's Peerage.

Well-brought up young ladies of the ton, as high society was called in the early nineteenth century, did not generally behave the way the heroines of this series and most of Stephanie Laurens' other recent books do. In particular they rarely abandoned their virginity before marriage as readily as these heroines do, not least because an unmarried young lady who enthusiastically jumped into the hero's bed would have no reliable means of avoiding pregnancy.

Finally, like her sister in the previous volume, Angelica disguises herself as a young man at one point in the story. Which presents the author with an instant dilemma: the choice between making the disguise effective or providing an opportunity to draw the attention of the hero, because you can't have both.

If you are trying to disguise an attractive woman as a young man, and want the disguise to actually fool anyone, you have to go for relatively loose garments, particularly around the bust, hips, and thighs. An attractive woman has curves at the hips which we men are biologically programmed to notice, and in tight trousers those curves will draw the attention of any straight man with normal eyesight.

The problem for a romance writer if the heroine is disguised as a man, is that the author usually wants the hero to notice those curves but for the the disguise to work on everyone else. In the previous book the author managed a reasonable compromise by having the hero notice Eliza Cynster's "subtle curves" but added that this was despite the fact that those curves were largely concealed under the skirts of her jacket. But in this volume the impact of her sister Angelica in male attire on the hero of the book is about as subtle as a sledgehammer - he thinks she looks like, quote "An angel from one of his more salacious dreams."

If her shape wearing these clothes has that effect on the hero, the disguise isn't going to be very effective in fooling many other people, is it?

But having said all that I liked the main characters in this book, the ongoing romantic tension building between them, and the fact that much of the story is told with a great deal of dry wit and humour which was more than a little amusing.

Overall: so many aspects of this book are ridiculously implausible that it should have been a complete turkey, but somehow it wasn't and I actually found myself enjoying the book rather a lot. If you like the other recent Stephanie Laurens novels, you will probably enjoy this.

The Bar Cynster books are usually described as Regency novels and they did begin while the future George IV ws regent for his father, but most of these books are "Regency" in the looser sense of the word (describing the reigns of the third and fourth Georges and William IV) and this one is set in the last year when "Prinny" was King in his own right as George IV. This book is numbered 18 in the table and family tree which appear at the front of the book, but if you count the prequel, (The Promise in a Kiss (Bar Cynster)) and the "Barnaby Adair" adventure "Where the heart leads" this is actually the twentieth Cynster novel.

For reference, the Cynster series to date consists of

1) Devil's Bride (Bar Cynster) (Devil and Honoria)
2) A Rake's Vow: Cynster Family Series, Book 2 (Cynster Novels) (Vane and Patience)
3) Scandal's Bride (Richard/Scandal and Catriona)
4) A Rogue's proposal (Harry/Demon and Felicity)
5) A Secret Love (Rupert/Gabriel and Alathea)
6) All about Love (Alistair/Lucifer and Phyllida)
7) All About Passion (Lord Chillingworth gets Rachel for Leah)
8) On a wild night (Amanda Cynster and Martin)
9) On a wicked dawn (Amelia Cynster and Luc)
10) The Perfect Lover (Simon Cynster and Porchia)
11) The Ideal Bride (Martin and Caro)
12) The Truth about love (Gerrard and Jacqueline)
13) What price love? (Dillon and Priscilla)
14) The Touch of Innocence (Charlie and Sarah)
15) Temptation and Surrender (Jonas Tallent and Emily)
16) Viscount Breckenridge to the Rescue (of Heather Cynster)
17) In pursuit of Eliza Cynster (Eliza)
18) This book, "The Capture of the Earl of Glencrae" (Angelica)
19) And then she fell (Henrietta) forthcoming in 2013, and
20) The taming of Ryder Cavanaugh (by Mary Cynster), also forthcoming in 2013.

As mentioned above there is also a prequel "The Promise in a Kiss" which tells the story of the romance between Devil Cynster's father and mother, and the Barbaby Adair story, "Where the heart leads," a detective story which also features the romance between Barnaby, and Porchia Cynster's sister Penelope Ashford.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 24 February 2012
This is the final book detailing the kidnappping of the three Cynster sisters, Heather, Eliza and Angelica. In this volume, the reasons why and who is behind their problems is revealed. After explaining why, Angelica agrees to help her so called kidnapper, known to the Cynsters as The Laird.

He explains that he is being blackmailed and the price to be paid is the disgrace of any one of the sisters. It all goes back to Cecila Cynster when she made her comeout many years before. Of course there is a twist, The Laird then discovers that not only his mother, but the head of a fueding clan is out to distroy him and his people for their own ends.

Naturally the male Cynsters eventually find them, just as things come to a head with two deaths and of course three marriages.

With the necklace passed on to Henrietta, there are still a couple of stories to come.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 9 February 2012
I love Stephanie Laurens!

Yet again has she produced a story that makes you smile, laugh and roll your eyes in frustration. :) I did not intend to purchase this book. It just happened. But I am very glad I did.

The characters are lovely. Angelica is a wonderfully open and manupulative character, and although she sometimes acts very young despite the claims that she is so mature, she is self-confident and assertive enough to deal with a character the reader knows a little about but has already gathered to be a protective, stubborn and inteligent man.

It is not only the perfect ending to the trilogy (I hope the Cynster family will continue to recieve stories, especially Henrietta and Mary, who are mentioned but not really present in this trilogy) but it also fits in very well with the other Cynister books. I truly enjoyed it, and had to read it in one go.

My only concern was the slightly random explenation of the ending and the rather abrupt solution to all of the problems. I'm considering these points cliffhangers for now, and hope to find the reason for them in the next stroies.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
Angelica Cynster has seen both of her sister find their future mates and Angelica is certain she will know hers on sight. But the danger to the Cynster Sister is not over and before she knows it she is taken by Dominic Guisachan, the 8th Earl of Glencrae. Once Dominic has a chance to explain to Angelica the reason for the taken of her older sisters, Angelica agrees to help him to save his clan.
"The Capture of the Earl of Glencrae" by Stephanie Laurens is the last book in the "Cynster Sister" series and I for one was very happy. I thought that Angelica's reactions to everything that was happening to her seem a bit unreal. She didn't seem to worried that she had been kidnapped and that seem off to me. Overall, I am glad to have this series done and was able to move on to a different writer for a while.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 12 February 2012
I'd rate this as the best book out of the recent trilogy, and a return to form after the disappointment of In Pusuit of Eliza Cyster.
Still not a patch on the original Cynster novels though!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 26 February 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed this book as I do with all the books Stephanie Laurens has written O will have no hesitation in ordering her next one when it is released in Septemner..
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
I read the two books prior to this and purchased this book as I wanted to know the outcome of the story also it was the first book for my Kindle.
It has been months now and I still have not finished it.
Maybe they have all the same theme but I have found this quite boring and have had no real interest in them as characters.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 21 March 2012
The Capture Of The Earl Of Glencrae, which is the final component in this particular trilogy was for me effectively the only one of the Trio worth its cost in terms of reading value. Laurens set out with too little plot ideas in her head and then chose for herself far too big a piece of canvas to work her story on in this Trilogy. By dragging out the plot base of abduction by a Scottish Nobleman for the purpose of appeasing his psychotic mother and thus regaining his own property from this old harridan Laurens foolishly figured that she could get three books out of a plot base suitable for only one. The first book in the trilogy was disappointing to read since it went nowhere at all. The second book was disastrous and I for one threw it aside in disgust after the first fifty pages. Only this third and final work in the trilogy held my attention and read reasonably well. Perhaps Lauren's international success as an author has now surpassed her abilities as a writer. When an author writes weak books in an effort to reach goals made by others they often tend to lose their audience in droves. It is far better to write a lesser number of better and more readable books that will hold market share in terms of sales and be commensurate with target audience satisfaction than to churn out heaps of badly thought out books that will most certainly lose committed readers fast. A publisher who has no problem in attaching the same foreshortened critique statement to each and every book the writer writes is unhelpful as well. Globally, today's readers are more astute and more discerning than their parents and grandparents and thus demand more work from an author, particularly a much published successful author than may have been the case in former periods of publishing history, worldwide.
This book contains most, if not all, of the necessary plot for the reader thus making the previous two books in the trilogy unnecessary.
Melbourne, Australia
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
A Match for Marcus Cynster (Cynster 2)
A Match for Marcus Cynster (Cynster 2) by Stephanie Laurens (Paperback - 26 May 2015)

A Secret Love: Number 5 in series (Bar Cynster)
A Secret Love: Number 5 in series (Bar Cynster) by Stephanie Laurens (Paperback - 5 April 2007)

In Pursuit Of Eliza Cynster: Number 2 in series (Cynster Sisters)
In Pursuit Of Eliza Cynster: Number 2 in series (Cynster Sisters) by Stephanie Laurens (Paperback - 27 Sept. 2011)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.