Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well i was waiting so long
well i have been waiting so long for this book and im not to sure what to think! (i hate to kinda be sat on the fence sorry)
i loved the photography in the book, but i was just left felling that i hadnt seen anything new (if you follow nikki on twitter, myspace etc you will have seen most of the photos on there!) i just wish there was more of it. i liked his writting...
Published on 14 April 2011 by the knut

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is this guy still tripping?
This was one of the worst reads in the last few years. seems like a celebrity just wants to put in lyrics, talk trash, swear and tell everyone show great he is and he knows the meaning of life. One good point - I liked the first chapter on his photography. Motley Crue may be excellent but take away the individuals from the band and they just don't hack it. Sorry, for me...
Published on 2 May 2012 by Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well i was waiting so long, 14 April 2011
well i have been waiting so long for this book and im not to sure what to think! (i hate to kinda be sat on the fence sorry)
i loved the photography in the book, but i was just left felling that i hadnt seen anything new (if you follow nikki on twitter, myspace etc you will have seen most of the photos on there!) i just wish there was more of it. i liked his writting in the book alot of it made me think, as its not to different to how my mind works (i dont know if i should admit that haha!). all in all the book was an easy read, and i enjoyed it! i was left wanting to give him a big hug when you get to the parts about his relationship but also like i should be reading that part almost like a voyer. i would recommend this book i enjoyed it and as i have said i enjoyed the photography although i do wish there was more info on the models and what made him make these images etc! i look foward to the next book but you need to push the boundries more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, visually compelling accompaniment to 'This Is Gonna Hurt' Sixx:AM album., 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following Mötley Crüe's biography - 'The Dirt', Mötley Crüe reformed and headed out on the road, although they did not produce much in the way of new music. Instead, Motley Crue's main songwriter, Nikki Sixx, began pursuing other creative interests including revisiting diaries written whilst in the height of his Heroin addition in the 80's, released as the Heroin Diaries in 2007. The material in the diaries inspired Sixx, along with guitarist DJ Ashba, and producer/vocalist James Michael to record an accompaning soundtrack album under the name of Sixx:AM.
Both projects were hugely successful, and when the promotional cycle ended for the book and album, Sixx:AM began looking into the idea of a new album.
The lyrical theme of the album was about finding beauty in things which society may not ordinarily deem attractive or beautiful - explored in the song 'Lies of the Beautiful People' from 'This Is Gonna Hurt' album. This concept inspired Sixx to use his new found passion for photography to create a collection of photographs and musings on this subject - which became the companion book to 'This Is Gonna Hurt'.
Although the Heroin Diaries was an extremely revealing book, detailing the huge impact addiction had on his life, This Is Gonna Hurt can be viewed as more of a creative project, looking at the way society behaves and acts.
The photography itself is very unusual - for previews of some of the type of photography see the cover for the single 'Lies Of The Beautiful People'.
The theme continues visually throughout the book, with Sixx adding thoughts and ideas in a similar journalistic manner as with the Heroin Diaries.
Unlike the Heroin Diaries, this book is inspired by the theme running through the accompanying album, rather than the other way around.
Overall this is an interesting and worthy successor to The Heroin Diaries, although very different. Those that have kept up with Sixx since Mötley Crüe reformed in the early 2000's will probably be aware of what to expect. Those looking to get into Sixx's published output for the first time may be better directed to the Heroin Diaries as a place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Nikki, we want more, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For a rock star, he makes an amazing author! I really enjoyed this book and his first one, as someone who has an addiction-not hard drugs like Nikki or his band mates-but prescription pain killers for a damaged spine and the chronic pain that comes with it. Wanting that relief and the high from the tablets kicking in, as much as its medicinal, it can be recreational too, I joke with my friends of being on one helluva Merry Go Round during the hit and I know when it's worn off too, everything in life gets on my last nerve. After reading this inspirational, amusing, informative book I'm concentrating more on the medicinal side of my use of the painkillers. After everything Nikki's been through, he should still be asking himself "why am I still here?" The answer my friend is, to write about your life to stop other addicts taking things too far, prevention rather than a cure, that's why you're still here! There is life after an addiction, you've proved that more than once, find a purpose that gives something back unless it finds you by accident.
This book is for all Motley Crue fans, addicts of all kinds and survivors of a f***ed up childhood ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychotherapy Sixx style!, 22 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok - first off, this review is based on the Kindle edition of the latest book from the tortured pen of Mr. Nikki Sixx. As the book includes a ton of images from the dirty lens of Sixx himself, you immediately lose some of the impact that is obviously present in the printed version, instead they are relegated to nothing more than business card sized black & white images. However, this is the price you pay for digital versions of books. None the less, the images are still clear and you're not struggling to see what the hell is going on in each shot.

Anyway, this is being touted as a 'rock n' roll self help book', so don't expect lurid tales of sex, drugs & rock n' roll (if you want that, pick up Sixx's other NY Times bestselling book 'The Heroin Diaries' or the Crüe's band autobiography, the most awesome 'The Dirt'), although there is some dirt rubbed into the cracks in this book. To be honest, it was different to what I was expecting, but given time to think about it, Sixx is perfectly positioned to speak about self-help after being in a self proclaimed mental minefield for 20 years. There are nuggets of good information here, but you take out of it whatever you want - he has just put on paper what has tried to do to better himself over recent years. All this interweaved by the aforementioned photography and personal tales of enlightenment.

Sixx does not preach. What he does do is tell you to basically grab life by the throat, live life by your own rules and be inspired. By anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars David Thompson Review, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Gonna Hurt: Music, Photography and Life Through the Distorted Lens of Nikki Sixx (Paperback)
Very inspirational for all readers (myself included) in one way or another and I recommend you read this if you haven't already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Celebrity Books, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Gonna Hurt: Music, Photography and Life Through the Distorted Lens of Nikki Sixx (Paperback)
I like Rock Music very much. Nikki Sixx is multi talented. I read his first book Heroin Diaries and I also wanted to get this book for a while. He is smart, nice, kindhearted men. I think. There are lots of amazing pics in this book. These pictures were photographed by him. The story is very interesting. I recommend everybody. Not only for Rock fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good and very honest look at Nikki sixx . I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This didn't hurt, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Gonna Hurt: Music, Photography and Life Through the Distorted Lens of Nikki Sixx (Paperback)
I tought this would be more about photographs, that's why I bought it at the first place.
Still, it is a great and iteresting book.
The most interesting part is where Nikki explains how his ideas became to life in his photos.

Photos are good, but not as great as I expected them to be based what I read from somewhere else.

My recommendations anyway, goes more to photograph enthusiasts than a Mötley fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i choose this rating, because i like the book, but I am not contented that the book cover has scratches and part of the back is pressed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book worth reading., 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
my daughters book and she loved it.she found it very interesting as she is a fan of his group. good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews