Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My new favourite author., 10 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great characters, tension, dilemma...and a lamb called "Dinner" - who could ask for more?
The first page starts with the hero, Bram, dispersing a flock of sheep who are blocking the road - by setting off dynamite...and the pace picks up from there. Bram gets caught in the explosion but luckily finds something soft to land on - Susannah!
This book is everything that historical romance is meant to be; humourous, sensuous, entertaining and enthralling.
I loved when the pristine tea shop is taken over by the men and turned into an tavern - The Rutting Bull, and then later when the conflict is resolved and a compromise is reached and it is renamed "The Bull and Blossom."
I have already downloaded the next book and am eager to start reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot wait to read the next in the series!, 11 April 2012
By 
P. J. Davey (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely one of the best historical romances I have read in a very long time! Every character had relatable and lovable qualities, especialy the male and female protagonists, and each conversation written was realistic as well as highly amusing! Would suggest this novel to anyone in need of a book they cannot put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tessa dare is a brilliant find, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first book in the spindle cove series, but for some reason I read book two first and I'm kind of glad I did. I thoroughly enjoyed a week to be wicked and wondered if miss dare could pull of another book with bram and susanna, which of course she did. I didn't have as many laugh out loud moments as I did with book two, but it was still a really good book.

I'm going to try another book of miss dares in her other series and if this proves to be good too, miss dare will probably become an auto buy for me. She brings characters alive and you really feel that the h and h really fall in love.

Great great read. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy, seductive and witty romance, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another cracker from Ms Dare. I love that the heroines in her novels are always the equal of the men despite the strictures of regency society. This is a great read. Highly recommended if you want great escapist entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really 4.5 stars, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another fantastic book from this author. The only reason why I haven't given 5 stars is because compared to her other books this wasn't quite as good in regards to main characters, however I think that this book sets the scene for the rest of the spindle cove books. Outshines other romance books but not one of Tessa Dare's best. Still very good and would reccommend getting it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Tessa Dare!, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Night to Surrender (Spindle Cove) (Mass Market Paperback)
4/5 STARS!

I'v read 'a Week to be Wicked' ( which is the 2sc book in the series) before i got my hands on this one. I'm not sure which one is better because they were both amazing.

A night to surrender had me hooked and laughing from the very first page.

The characters were very realistic, well developed and they all had a different personality. Susanna ( main character) was a lovely, hunted by the past young lady. Bram ( 2sc main character) was a super tough and wounded by the past man. The 2 of they combined together make a beautiful and spectacular couple.

They were moments where you just COULD NOT put the book down. Many romantic, passionate/hot, and epic scenes that just kept you turning the pages.

Although they were many things i liked, i still found something missing.

Overall, A night to surrender is a wonderfully written book by a wonderful author. Definitely worth a try. Simply FANTASTIC. I'm sure to buy more books and the next book in the series by Tessa Dare.

*****
"' And before she could even catch her breath, he pressed his lips to hers. A kiss. His lips touching hers. It was warm and firm, and then... it was over. Her first real kiss in all her five-and-twenty years, and it was finished in a heartbeat. Just a memory now, save for the faint bite of whiskey on her lips. And the heat. She still tasted his scorching, masculine heat. Belatedly, she closed her eyes'.
*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book! Definitely a keeper!, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Night to Surrender (Spindle Cove) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first book in the Spindle Cove series by Tessa Dare, and also the first book I've read by her.

Spindle Cove is a place run by Miss Susanna Finch, where young ladies can go to let off some steam, and not worry about their lives. The people there all have their own reasons being there, and Susanna takes care of them all, with the help of her friend Miss Kate Taylor, who is the female protagonist in book 3 (someone I'm dying to read about after the synopsis). Anyway, this is about book 1, with Susanna and Bram.

The story begins with Lieutenant Colonel Victor 'Bram' Bramwell returning from war with fellow comrades, his cousin Colin Sandhurst, Lord Payne and the dark and quiet Corporal Samuel Thorne. They have orders to gather a militia at Spindle Cove. But when a herd of sheep block their path, they debate how to get past. Perhaps they could scare them...

Susanna, meanwhile, is trying to convince Mrs Highwood to permit her three daughters, Diana, Minerva and Charlotte, to stay at Spindle Cove. But a loud bang interrupts them. Susanna goes to investigate, and this is where she is pushed out of harm's way by Bram, but he lands on top of her. He can't help but kiss her, and from then on, there is a mutual attraction. But this is tested when Susanna learns of Bram's plans for her respectful ladies haven. However, Bram is adamant that no-one, not even the beautiful Susanna, will stand in his way.

Bram meets her father, who he already knows. He tells Bram due to his part in the Peninsula War, he's been awarded the title of the Earl of Rycliff. Bram isn't eager for the title, and carries on gathering the few men there are in the village to make his militia. Susanna isn't happy at his interference, but the longer they spend together, the closer she and Bram get. Can they put aside their opinions and be together?

Overall, the book was fantastic. Bram is a character you really fall for. He's been wounded in the war, and now has a limp, yet it's touching when you see Susanna going out of her way to help him, even if he makes it difficult for her, because of his pride. Bram learns of Susanna's own scars, and why she's been single all of this time. Both were dynamic, engaging characters, and a joy to read about.

Not sure why he's never called Victor and always called Bram. Perhaps he doesn't like his name, but it's something I did wonder throughout the story, but never learned the reason why.

On now with book 2, with Colin and Minerva.

4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice but>>>>>>>>>>>>>, 6 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Night to Surrender (Spindle Cove) (Mass Market Paperback)
i gave this one 4 star just because i liked the guy the girl not so much too controlling for my liking and not at all endearing but guy was super yummy so 4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Night to Surrender (Spindle Cove)
A Night to Surrender (Spindle Cove) by Tessa Dare (Mass Market Paperback - 24 Aug 2011)
£6.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews