Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you just smile
A warm and tender memoir of a woman whose story is touching and, in many places heart-rending, without being overly sugary and mawkish.

The book takes us from 1950s black and white kitchen sink grimness - Liz Taylor lookalike Pauline, left in the lurch by a US serviceman, bullied into giving up the baby boy she can't afford to raise - to today - the wealthy,...
Published on 4 Mar 2010 by Supertzar

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Did you know?
First off. Did you know that Sammy was very rich and everything he turns his hand to is mega-succesful?

Did you know that Sammy has his own plane? Personalised Ferrari? Expensive house? Beautiful wife?

Did you know that everyone Sammy has ever been involved with in a group scenario is a dick and Sammy is great?

If the answer to the above...
Published on 22 Aug 2011 by Johny


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Did you know?, 22 Aug 2011
This review is from: Red: My Uncensored Life in Rock (Hardcover)
First off. Did you know that Sammy was very rich and everything he turns his hand to is mega-succesful?

Did you know that Sammy has his own plane? Personalised Ferrari? Expensive house? Beautiful wife?

Did you know that everyone Sammy has ever been involved with in a group scenario is a dick and Sammy is great?

If the answer to the above is NO and you still want to, then read on

Having followed Sammy's career from Montrose days I was really looking forward to reading this but have to say, the content was so shallow and boastful I barely got to the end.
If your looking for insight into the writing of the many rock anthems Sammy has been involved with then think again. Montrose's debut album is universally regarded as a classic. His involvement with Montrose takes up about a dozen (large font) pages.....considerably less than his ramblings about his (mega-succesful!) Cantina.
His involvement with Van Hagar amounts to little more than "We were the biggest band on the planet and I made millions but Eddie VH / Alex VH / the Manager were dicks" ......and so it goes on

The final page is Sammy telling you he doesnt see himself as anything special or better than you...... obviously, thats if you too, have got the planes and mansions and Ferraris and millions and beautiful wives he's spent most of the book 'impressing' you with...

If you dont mind any of the above then im sure you will enjoy Sammy's Twitterings but I would suggest spending yer hard-earned on 2 far far superior autobiogs - 'Life' By Keef and 'Does the noise...' by Steven Tyler. By the way - 2 rock stars far more famous and far more humble than Sammy

Now tell me again Sammy...how much money do you have????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Read, 27 Mar 2011
By 
Suenos6 (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a guitar player, I've always admired Eddie Van Halen's playing, but have suspected for a long time that he may not be the easiest of people to get along with. I therefore purchased this book to get the low-down and I wasn't surprised to hear that, according to Mr Hagar, he was a complete nightmare to work with. I'm certain that EVH would have a different view but I'm inclined to believe this book as being the closest we will get to the truth.

However, there is no doubt that Mr Hagar has a huge opinion of himself and spends a fair bit of the book telling you how great and successful he is. OK, so he is a rock and roll front man, so he isn't exactly going to be the shy and retiring type, but hearing just how considerably richer than you he is, does get a little boring after a while. To be fair though, maybe it is because I'm a modest Englishman who finds self promotion quite vulgar.

Also, again, to be fair, it does appear to be a very honest account and I guess for that he should be applauded. I never followed him before Van Halen so I didn't get as much out of the pre-Van Halen stuff, but it was still interesting to read how he got to the point when he joined the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you just smile, 4 Mar 2010
By 
Supertzar - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
A warm and tender memoir of a woman whose story is touching and, in many places heart-rending, without being overly sugary and mawkish.

The book takes us from 1950s black and white kitchen sink grimness - Liz Taylor lookalike Pauline, left in the lurch by a US serviceman, bullied into giving up the baby boy she can't afford to raise - to today - the wealthy, glamorous survivor, reunited with her son and looking forward to spending her dotage as the new Christine Hamilton.

Along the way, she meets an uppity ship's waiter union rep whose proposal - in a train loo - she mystifyingly accepts. John devotes his time and energy to harmonious industrial relations in that sweet natured way of his; ending up blacklisted by three shipping lines, it is Pauline who is left to cope when there's little money coming in. Her hairdressing pay allows him to go to University, the springboard to a political career that was only slightly less embarrassing than watching your mother lapdance.

Pauline couldn't care less about John's political life, judging Margaret Thatcher more by her (smart) appearance than her politics. She stands by her man through thick and thin and is naturally hurt when this loyalty is rewarded by shamelessly sordid infidelity. The book doesn't provide much insight into her reasoning, other than it allows Pauline to 'get away with murder now'. She even gets - notoriously at taxpayers' expense - a new downstairs loo out of the affair, and you can't really argue with that.

Anyone looking for a more tender and human side to John Prescott will need to look elsewhere - the public image of a seething and sulky bully is entirely accurate, it seems. When he's not stuffing his face, he's throwing it all up, screaming because he can't find the remote control, giving Pauline the silent treatment or exploding if she dares interrupt him. 'A bit of a bully' - Pauline's phrase - is putting it mildly. Reading this made me realise that maybe John did achieve something in his political career after all - he gave this gracious and likeable woman a well deserved bit of peace and quiet. I hope this book - touching, warm, funny and uplifting as it is - gets thrown at him regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sammy the entertainer!, 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red: My Uncensored Life in Rock (Hardcover)
Funny, and easy to read.
He did a very nice job by not to often stabbing the "Van Halen" brothers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, 3 Sep 2011
By 
I like the style and easy reading of a very human story. It sounded truthful and real. What a lady !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Enough!, 23 July 2011
By 
Denis (Dublin, Co. Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red: My Uncensored Life in Rock (Hardcover)
I'm a big fan of Sam mainly through the VH years. Some of his recent solo stuff is patchy, but Chickenfoot was a big return to form.

This is a good overview for anyone who doesn't know much about Sammy; for me, there wasn't a lot of new stuff in it, other than the first few chapters covering his early/tough upbringing. For fans, I suspect many will be frustrated with the shortage of detail - eg: Jesse Harms has been a key person on Sam's solo albums over the years, but they obviously fell out over something - not really covered at all here. I don't think there's anywhere near enough detail on his albums (VH or the more recent solo stuff) either. Ed Leffler was obviously a very positive influence on VH and Sam, although I reckon some serious mistakes were made in how VH were managed and promoted in the late 80's - no real thoughts on any of that here. The disaster-zone that was Ray Daniels is well covered. I was also puzzled about his lack of confidence in going solo after VH - he probably really wanted to quit after the Balance tour, and in many respects he should have.

Overall though, one of the better biog's I have read by a Rock Star (admittedly not a big achievement). If you're new to Sam though, I would probably get the "Long Road to Cabo" DVD first (a sort of biography itself) or the "Hallelujah" killer live album if you don't really know his solo music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pauline, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book portrays the life of a working class girl who through meeting the man she loved rose from hairdresser to ministers wife. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red: My Uncensored Life in Rock (Hardcover)
Great stories, well written, Sammy sure knows an anecdote when he lives one. His early life is poignant and quite heart-breaking, but it does make you understand his drive to succeed all the more. This is much better than DLR's book, a fact which will please sammy no end, no doubt. By the time it's over you'll be rooting for the red rocker like Rocky! If you like Rock Biographies, you'll love this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars King Midas, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a story. You know that saying, "what do you get for the guy that has everything"? Well, Sammy Hagar is that guy. This is one rock star with more Smarts than Billy's circus, and a big heart. Somehow, virtually everything he touched turned to gold, and he always came up smelling of roses. It's not luck though. It was hard work belief, and all from a guy who is exactly what he appears to be , a working class hero. No fakery here, no prima donnas (unless you count the dysfunctional Van Halen boys) hop on, it's a helluva ride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well worth the wait, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brings out the hidden cracks of the squeaky clean halen brothers ,a really good read gonna pass it on to my brother he will enjoy it too. my hat off to you Sammy any more in the pipe line?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa335c834)

This product

Red: My Uncensored Life in Rock
Red: My Uncensored Life in Rock by Sammy Hagar (Hardcover - 1 Mar 2011)
14.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews